We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in the beautiful Tuscan countryside!”
Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel with absolutely spectacular views, service and food. A traditional hotel with modern amenities - couldn't ask for anything better!

The Gordon Ramsey restaurant is fabulous and there is a real range for breakfast. Be sure also to check out the spa!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Georgeous097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Georgeous,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you ever find this place without a navigation system which is just confusing you even more, you will arrive at this place, just one hour south of Florence. After 13 hours of travelling from Munich, including one lunch break in Modena (at La Quercia di Rosa) and one longer shopping stop at Barberino Fashion Outlet, 30 minutes before Florence, we reached our holiday hideaway.

After our arrival we were greeted by the kind front desk staff member Stefano who showed us around and even accompanied us to the room. The room itself, a Prestige Room, was very dark upon entering and the layout made the room even smaller then it used to be. A real highlight of our room was the enormous bathroom with double basin, bath tub, separated room with toilet, bidet and a huge shower. Don't worry, you will never run out of these luxury toiletries by no other then Lorenzo Villoresi, the nose of Italy - there are plenty of them inside the bathroom.

When you forgot your wake up call, then you might be awake due to some gardener cutting the greens around the buildings. If not, it's not really bad as the breakfast is nothing impressive. I have stayed in many luxury hotels and this breakfast is alright, but there are lot more products to offer even in Tuscany. We found the female service chef a bit rude, because we wanted to order Scrambled eggs with ham and not to take the cold and foamy scrambled eggs from the buffet! She did not accommodate our request and seemed to be more hectic than helpful.

The bar is a very nice place to chill out in the evenings and all staff members were quite nice and helpful. The snacks and the wines served at the bar are also very good. A real problem was the cocktails we ordered. We wanted to have Pina Colada. Unfortunately there is no barkeeper at the bar and therefore the Pina Colada was disgusting. I complained one time and they immediately served another one, far better but with little rum only and still the wrong glass. It is absolutely not the fault of the staff but for the price of 12 euros per cocktail we expected a real highlight. In fact it was a disappointment.

Due to the fact that the staff members are not teached how to make a perfect cocktail and they do not have a shuttle service (which is more then necessary for tourists coming without a car), we can only grant 3/5 points.

All in all it is the best place to tour the Chianti, visit Montepulciano, Siena, Arrezzo or San Gimignano - everything is reachable within one hour. Nonetheless, Stefano was the highlight of our stay and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: It really depends on what room you get. We had a Prestige Room and felt like in a standard room. Non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxuryexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear travelexe.
It is a displeasure for all of us to read that unfortunately, despite our continuous efforts, we failed to meet your expectations during your stay here at Castel Monastero. I realize that sometimes it is impossible to have eyes for everything, in fact, where a detail escapes, you are our eyes, you suggest or draw attention to the detail which has escaped to our control. We are very grateful for the time you dedicated to write this review, pointing out some shortcomings, which corrected, can lead us to excellence. We are sure that when you’ll come back , we will make your holiday unforgettable, it is a promise.
Hoping to see you soon, we send a warm and affectionate hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Monager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A wonderful vist to this beautiful hotel. We were touring Italy and stayed at the Monastero en route to the Il Pellicano at Porto Ercole. I wish we had stayed longer with Enzo and his wonderful team. The level of service, food and the management of the hotel were excellent. I would also like to make special mention of Elena (I am not sure if I have spelt this correctly)an excellent therapist in the Spa. Everything was first rate. Thank you !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quackers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Quackers,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is where my husband & I began our honeymoon after marrying in Florence! We first visited in October 2012 when my husband proposed to me and we had such an enchanting experience here that we knew we definitely wanted to return. When we did return for our honeymoon, we were greeted with the same high level of hospitality that impressed us the first time. For both visits, I found the service to be excellent in every way, the front desk staff was always helpful in planning our day excursions, housekeeping always kept our room clean & tidy and the restaurant & bar staff made every meal absolutely wonderful. Alessandra, Roberto, Francesca, Valentina, Marco & Marco to name just a few of the excellent staff (I didn't mean to leave anyone out)! By the end of our week long stay, we felt like we were part of the family. Thank you Graziella & Enzo for always taking time to talk to us and for making it so very special.
We are definitely planning to return for an anniversary trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sally L,
read a review like yours, it means that we have worked well and we have reached the highest levels of hospitality. All of us are committed 24 hours a day to make the stay of our guests at Castel Monastero, as comfortable as possible and see the smile on your face. Thanks again for the wonderful words used. We hope you become one of our regular guests. Waiting to see you again with us, we send the warmest greetings, with a bear hug.
Very truly yours

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just spent five nights at the Castel Monastero and had a great time! Upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival that had a sitting area that was great for relaxing. Room also had a soaking tub which was very relaxing. Service was first class all the way around and Francesca at breakfast provides great service and is extremely friendly. Enjoyed talking with her every morning. Pool and spa are nice and the indoor salt flotation pool was very cool. We ate at both the Gordon Ramsey restaurant and La Cantina and enjoyed them both. Recommend that you rent a car so you can explore all Tuscany has to offer. We made days trips to the Vineyards, Assisi, Siena, and Florence and enjoyed them all. Great property and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewBausk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear AndrewBau,
read a review like yours, it means that we have worked well and we have reached the highest levels of hospitality. All of us are committed 24 hours a day to make the stay of our guests at Castel Monastero, as comfortable as possible and see the smile on your face. Thanks again for the wonderful words used. We hope you become one of our regular guests. Waiting to see you again with us, we send the warmest greetings, with a bear hug.
Very truly yours

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have just returned from a magical 5 nights at Castel Monastero. What a fantastic hotel! Enzo, the General Manager was amazing he seemed to be everywhere helping guests and led his great team of staff by example. The service was faultless and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an old monastery and is beautifully restored in a sympathetic way - the rooms are beautiful, spacious and, whilst being modern, are totally in keeping with the age of the property. Both the restaurants have fabulous food - one has a menu devised by Gordon Ramsey and the other is in the old wine cellars and serves typical Tuscan food. The property is in a wonderfully peaceful rural spot, surrounded by vineyards yet only about 20 minutes drive from Sienna. The grounds are beautiful and there is a huge spa with three outdoor pools, an indoor salt flotation pool and hydrotherapy pools. I had two of the most amazing massages with Elena and they also run a weightless programme. I also had a wonderful private yoga session in a pavilion in the grounds. All in all it is a fantastic place to stay and tour Tuscany. Taxis are expensive so it is best to hire them for the day or better still hire a car as there are so many beautiful old villages, vineyards and olive groves to explore in the area. I can't wait to return for another stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and have views of the courtyard and the neighbouring countryside. For anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieMcK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Jackie McK,
read a review like yours, it means that we have worked well and we have reached the highest levels of hospitality. All of us are committed 24 hours a day to make the stay of our guests at Castel Monastero, as comfortable as possible and see the smile on your face. Thanks again for the wonderful words used. Waiting to see you again with us, we send the warmest greetings, with a bear hug.
Very truly yours

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We've been in Castel Monastero in April for 4 days!! It was magical! The room was just marvelous! The restaurant was also very nice and the menu was made by Gordon Ramsey! The hotel is about 15 minutes from Sienna and the location is in the courtside with wine yards, spa, tennis court and the walks around the hotel so peaceful and beautiful!! I also recommend you a vintage tour of Tuscany with vintage cars!!! It was EXCELLENT and we had a great time! You' ll have a lifetime experience driving in beautiful Tuscany!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the separate villas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanaTsami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear VanaTsami,

it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
501 reviews
10.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
394 reviews
13.1 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
880 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range: £288 - £1,577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castel Monastero 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Province Of Siena, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing