We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special Locanda”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Locanda di Tommaso - CLOSED

La Locanda di Tommaso
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A very special Locanda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Delightful Locanda, with a young professional chef/owner who cooks like a dream. Just what you hope to find when you are in Italy. We ate here twice and will certainly return. Everything we ate was lovely, the pasta, the fish, the lamb,the pork, the desserts, the home made breads, we loved if all.
This is Michelin style cooking at a substantial price discount and I would suggest that you go before the Inspectors arrive.
Thank you Tommaso and Paola for our memories of two lovely evenings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MontagueSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    39
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant missed the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The restaurant is nice right off the piazza with outdoor seating. The service was good and we enjoyed almost all the food: wine, pasta, bread, desserts. My fiancé and I ordered the Florentine steak unfortunately it was tough, chewy, fatty. It is a shame but I just cannot give a higher rating especially for the prices they charge. Prices are set for tourist. Staff was vey attentive by Italian standards. They did make a special pasta for my 1year old and they have child seats available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tuscan food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice atmosphere and great food. This is one of the nicest restaurant in Castenuovo Berardenga. Recommended highly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Badakees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“International and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Strongly recommend this restaurant for a unique experience. A young creative chef and his team produce everything in house from bread to pasta to everything. The menus are varied and creative top quality food at a very reasonable price. Easy to get to right smack in the center of town on the square.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ValerieBottazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This Restaurant was recommended to us by our hosts at the Villa Pancole where were staying. We had a wonderful meal, drank one of the best local Red Wines that I have tasted in a long while. We ate outside in the piazza, and to top it off we were entertained by the local villagers who were celebrating the end of season football presentations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Locanda di Tommaso also viewed

Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 
San Gusme, Castelnuovo Berardenga
Ponte a Bozzone, Castelnuovo Berardenga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing