We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay in Old Village Made Into Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borgo San Felice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Certificate of Excellence
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
695 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Old Village Made Into Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The best part of Borgo San Felice was its setting, an old small village converted into a hotel. Accomodating staff. Our junior suite was nice; two small rooms and a bathroom with a shower-in-the-tub combo that was a bit of a slippery scramble to get out of particularly with the floor below the tub. The décor was kind of country Italian, but a little worn. The included breakfast in the main dining room was very nice, with great atmosphere. We ate dinner there, and thought it was a little over the top "creative" Italian cuisine, and pricey. We preferred a restaurant in the next village (Bottega 30, also a Michelin one star just 3.5 km away) which the concierge didn't mention, sending us to another restaurant in the same village. (See separate reviews on both). Not an easy place to find, so be prepared for some small road driving, nice Tuscan countryside during the day; a little bit of an adventure at night. Very nice grounds, nice pool in the warm weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    55
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
63
266
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Borgo San Felice for 3 nights in mid October when we were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. We cannot say enough great things about this property. They upgraded us to a suite and a bottle of champagne with a handwritten note from the manager was waiting for us in the room. The staff was friendly and very very helpful in planning our day trips around the Tuscany region. Silivio was the BEST resource for where to eat, what to see and what to do. It is clear that the happy staff loves working at this hotel. We had an exceptional experience and plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJR390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Borgo San Felice exceeded our expectations in every way (and our expectations were pretty high!). Our room was very large, comfortable, and well appointed (jr. suite, I think). The grounds are immaculately kept, and the old buildings provide a charming setting. All of the interiors are nicely modernized, while staying in keeping with the setting. The service was absolutely impeccable. If you find yourself at Borgo San Felice, be sure to utilize the concierges - their advice was very helpful and they mapped out destinations for us, which is extremely useful when driving on Italian country roads. The food is top notch as well. We were there in the fall and were lucky enough to experience fresh porcini and truffle mushrooms. The purpose of our stay in San Felice was to have a home base from which we could explore the Chianti region. We explored areas around Gaiole to the North, and Montalcino to the South. We visited Badia a Coltibuono where we had a great private tour and a delicious lunch. We also visited Poggio Antico where we had a very information winery tour, followed by a tasting. We'd recommend both places very highly. The one nearby place that is not-to-be-missed is La Bottega del Trenta - ask the concierge to make you a reservation. This was our best meal in the area and is an incredible hidden gem (not that hidden, as they've maintained a Michelin star since ~1998, but it will feel like a hidden gem). Borgo San Felice is a wonderful place and we cannot wait to stay there again when we make our next trip to the Chianti region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited Borgo for the first time in September and enjoyed our stay. The setting is beautiful and probably the best thing about it. The staff was friendly but the rooms were small and tired. The food was acceptable but not up to par if you seek fine dining. The breakfast buffet was great. The location is hard to beat because you are within easy driving distance of most of Tuscany. We might return but might prefer to check out something a little newer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I just got back from a 3 night stay at Borgo San Felice . The property really is beautiful. The rooms are spacious, the amenities fantastic and the staff is incredibly friendly. Stefano greeted us daily each morning with a huge smile at breakfast. The hotel has an excellent breakfast spread -- and you can even order delicious omelets from the kitchen. Ines the beatiful proffesional house keeping was another staff member who stood out as incredibly nice and helpful ! This is a great place if you want to chill out and just relax. Good spa .. If you want to get away from all the noise from a city, this is the place to go. Borgo San Felice see you 2014 .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for part of our honeymoon and the Borgo San Felice could not have made it more memorable. First, they upgraded us to a suite and there was a delicious bottle of prosecco waiting for us after our tour of the spectacular property which is a medieval village surrounded by vineyards and olive groves with amazing views in every direction. Our luggage was waiting for us in the room too. The rooms are elegant and perfect for the hotel's Tuscan setting, and the bathroom was huge. All of the staff are enthusiastic and friendly from housekeeping to the lovely waitress at breakfast, but the front desk staff were particularly wonderful, especially Serena and Salvatore from whom we got great restaurant and other recommendations. In fact, every person at the front desk is exceptional, working very hard to make everything memorable and wonderful. We cannot stress what a wonderful hotel this is and we only wish we could stay longer. The breakfast buffet is also wonderful with everything and anything one would want. The Borgo San Felice is definitely a 5 star property, deserving every star and more. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a haven in Tuscany, close to Siena and all the historic hill towns of Chianti. Our wish would be to come back every year and Hooe we'll be able to do that. Thank you Borgo San Felice for making our honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Borgo San Felice is hard to find. Hidden in a remote part of Tuscany in hills northeast of Siena, the hotel is an entire restored medieval village. The houses and palace have been converted to hotel rooms, a restaurant (supervised by Michelin 2 star chef Francesco Bracali, who offers original, if somewhat strange, modern Italian cooking), a spa and a wine shop featuring the excellent wine made at the estate and in the owners’ other winery in Montalcino. The property is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. It’s a peaceful and stunningly beautiful place to stay.

Our tiny room in the main building was not. However, 5 star quality. I have seen pictures of other rooms or suites that do appear to meet a 5 star standard

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
16.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.5 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
17.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Property: Hotel Borgo San Felice
Address: Localita San Felice, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Province Of Siena, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing