We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It is a beautuful hotel in Toscana region, in the middle of wineyards. About 20 km ti historic Siena. The hotel is a complex of old houses therefore the rooms are in different sizes but some of them are facing walls, however the hotel is so nice no need to spend time in the rooms. The farden and the poolside is nice too. Breakfast gas good selection.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevinsalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comment about Borgo San Felice.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our rosy garden and the poolside, as well as the breakfast service.

Rest assured that I will forward this positive feedback to the rest of the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Borgo San Felice,

Kind regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    55
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
66
268
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Came here at our travel agent's suggestion, after having been in Rome for five days. It was the perfect respite before heading to another large city. Service was understated and gracious. The rooms and bathrooms were authentic, lovely and charming. (Most Americans enjoy travel as a means for experiencing other cultures, and we do not desire Americanization of amenities, so thank you for keeping things Italian.) We loved the pool, the alfresco dining, and use of bicycles. The breakfast buffet was simply the best...gorgeous, and plentiful choices. "BSF," as my teen boys call it, will forever be the standard by which other resorts are judged. We loved it and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Borgo San Felice.

I am delighted to read that the Borgo has definitely contributed in getting to know more about the Italian culture.
Our aim is to let our valued guests experience the beauty of our traditions, as well as our wine.
Please rest assured that I will share this positive comment with the rest of the team, who will further motivate each of us to strive hard to aim the standards of a Relais and Chateaux.
Thank you once again for putting us at the top of your mini-journey in Italy!

I look forward to welcoming you back to “BSF”,

Kind regards
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very Personable & Classy Staff who are Hungry to Achieve Amazing Service, Impeccable Rooms, Open Internet/Wifi (finally, a place that doesn't require codes!) Best Spa Ever, Incredible Michelin rated restaurant.

We are wrapping up our 16-day honeymoon in Italy and have to say that Hotel Borgo San Felice was the highlight of our trip. Stefano is the leader in service, and his staff at the two restaurants (Yes- they opened a causal one LAST WEEK!) is mature, classy AND eager to please, a rare combination! Onsite mountain Bicycles are complimentary, bocci ball, great pool-side lounging chairs and grassy area with food service, billiard table inside with nice lounge & bar area, one of the better winery tours we have seen… Fresh food at EVERY meal from an on-site garden with a WIDE selection. My wife is telling (me from the couch) to tell you "that place is a MUST, and cannot be missed" DOWNSIDES: ACTIVITIES: You are in the middle of Tuscany, and the hotel could do a better job of promoting optional activities, LUNCH/SNACK COSTS: our tab was ~900 Euros for massages & food, a little steep for 3 days, but well worth it, If I was running the place, I would wish that they would lower the prices on the lunch & snack bar. GPS UNITS: some places provide GPS units to help you meander around if you are driving yourself, and Hotel Borgo doesn't have GPS units for loan with pre-programmed locations (yet) DISTANCE TO ACTIVITIES: This could be a pro or con in someone's book---- wine tours are aplenty, horse rides are nearby, motorists are very friendly to bikers, (light honk and giving lots of room) CITY DISTANCE: the biggest city is Siena (30-40 minute drive, anytime someone in Italy says an amount of time to get somewhere, double it if you are driving yourself) TELEVISION SIZE: I still haven't found a hotel in Italy with a decent sized TV, (45"+) and this place was no exception. They were the same size as all the other 5-star hotels. (Time to go outside!) NO JACUZZI TUBS: I love Jacuzzi tubs, and while the bathroom was 5-star, (it did have heated towel racks, US-electric plug standard) this place didn't have a jacuzzi tub, but a good tub nonetheless, with a GREAT shower. STAFF TURNOVER: GOOD THIS YEAR, BUT 2015?? The average turnover in staff for all the hotels in this region who have a 7-month "season" is ***70%***, but this is a challenge at ANY hotel in Italy and makes it difficult to keep a steady rating, but Hotel Borgo San Felice is going to have an EXCELLENT season. Their 2014 team is SOLID and it shows from beginning to end. I spoke with their GM Archille Di Carlo who echoed this sentiment and he wants nothing less than to be the best, seeking out my comments knowing that we would be staying at several competitors before and after San Felice. This mentality (hungry to be the best) is evident from top to bottom. They outshined even the other hotels that we enjoyed on this trip, such as the Hotel Hassler in Rome (top of Spanish Steps) and the Hotel Bellevue Syrene (Sorrento) and have outshined the nearby Castello Di Casole (thus far).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor following your recent stay at our Borgo.

I am extremely proud to read that our gem has outshined the other Hotels you have stayed at and that our services and facilities have surpassed your expectations.
I would like to assure you that I will ECHO your comments with the rest of the team, that will further motivate each and every one of us to continue working towards maintaining and improving the high standards we set out in offering to our guests.

I hope to be able to welcoming you back in the future and in such case please do let me know, I will be more than happy to assist you with your arrangements,

Best regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a wonderful oasis in Tuscany. Everything about San Felice was excellent. Service by all the staff was excellent. The food and wine equally awesome. We booked ourselves in here for a relaxing couple days to get over jet lag , wish we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend coming to San Felice and taking in all that is has to offer, you wont be disapointed. We loved the location, its truelly an oasis, away from everything, it's a village onto itself . The nights are so peaceful and quiet. Leave your window open, and you will wake up to the birds chirping .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achille D, Direttore generale at Hotel Borgo San Felice, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending your precious time in leaving your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
Me, myself and all the team, are very proud to make part of this wonderful OASIS in the heart of the Chianti area.
I am happy to share this thoughts to the rest of the team, which give the energy to serve our valued guests with passion!

I look forward to have you once again as our guest, here in the midst of the birds’ lullaby,

Best regards,
Achille Di Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed last September and had the most amazing time. Salvio was THE best hotel manager we have ever met. We have traveled to places like Bora Bora, Paris, Florence, Prague, Burgundy...so we been fortunate to meet many talented hotel managers.

Funny story...I wanted to watch the Cleveland Browns season opener via the internet, and he was so willing to help, that he provided the Apple laptop behind the front desk. I didn't ask, but had just merely mentioned my hopes to watch the game. I had envisioned drinking wine and sitting on the patio while listening to the live piano music. Thankfully, the DirecTV connection did not work and I didn't have to watch my Browns lose the season opener, but the fact Salvio did everything to make it happen was just beyond amazing.

The grounds were just gorgeous, and the architecture takes you back to another time. The entire staff was so friendly. We wish we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: The room we had was pretty average, but the hotel is beyond amazing...sitting in the room didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was looking for a peaceful retreat and I found it. Such a beautiful hotel, the staff were so welcoming they even upgraded my room as they had a last minute cancellation. Not only is the hotel gorgeous but everywhere you look the scenery is stunning....and the food well, I didn't go home skinnier!! Pure heaven.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AriDalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I concur all the positive reviews that previous reviewers have written. My only gripe was (which was very minor) the location, you need a car to go everywhere. Since this trip was about relaxing, I was happy to spend time in the hotel's vicinity, hanging out in the lounge, doing the wine tasting, or just taking pictures. Their wines are excellent, I ended up ordered some and had them shipped to USA and received two weeks later-no problem! Reserve all the restaurants nearby for dinner even before you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DruryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.4 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
16.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo San Felice

Property: Hotel Borgo San Felice
Address: Localita San Felice, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Borgo San Felice 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Felice is a medieval hamlet with rural architecture typical for the Chianti, nestling amidst vineyards and olive groves that cover the hills sloping gently towards the picturesque city of Siena. Today San Felice is a five star hotel, part of the prestigious international chain Relais & Chateaux. Situated in the heart of Tuscany in Chianti Classico, San Felice is only ½ hour driving distance to reach the art centres as Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borgo San Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Felice Hotel
Hotel Borgo San Felice Italy/Province Of Siena, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing