We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Wine Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buonamico Tenuta

Buonamico Tenuta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Wine Tour”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We found this wine tour through Tuscan Sunshine Tours and it was amazing! We had the place to ourselves and were taken through all their wines and their cellar. The cellar and the process was amazing to see - it just is so different how each place has their own way! The barrels had such an aroma that I wanted to just take it home. We were then treated to lunch and OMG what a view! For us it was the perfect way to have lunch-very romantic and the food was light and rustic just perfect!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenio f, Proprietario at Buonamico Tenuta, responded to this review, 13 August 2015
Hi Mrs. Theresa,

Thank you so much for your review of our winery. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    24
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern winery.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We found the buonamico winery on a trip advisor forum. We were staying in Lucca centre and really wanted to get into the countryside do some wine tasting and see the vineyards. The trips at tourist information were more than double the price of going here and didn't include lunch either. Buonamico is only 30 mins from the centre and cost us €40 in a taxi which isn't too expensive considering.
The winery itself is extremely impressive. Having been renovated and massively invested in the past 5-6 years is ultra modern and has an extremely classy feel. The tour itself was short but informative and Ariana was very knowledgable and a great guide. We tried around 8 different wines and enjoyed them all. We purchased 2 bottles to bring home with us, which are surprisingly cheap starting at €6. (We've seen them in our local shop since and they are double the price). Our lunch on the terrace over looking the vineyard was stunning, and the olive oil made from the olive trees on site was beautiful. We purchased a bottle too :). All in all a perfect couple of hours can be spent here. Wherever we go from now we will always keep an eye open for buonamico wine. Thankyou.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenio f, Proprietario at Buonamico Tenuta, responded to this review, 13 August 2015
Thank you so much for your review.
We hope to see you again soon.

KInd Regards

Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruther Glen
1 review
“CHIARA”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We visited BUONAMICO winery in July 2013. We were all very impressed with the professionalism, knowledge and attentiveness that Chiara provided during our wine tour. The wines were exquisite and left us wanting more after the tasting. Lunch was phenomenal, much more than we expected.... it was so delicious. We enjoyed the Tuscany sunshine and a wonderful breeze. This enticed us to drink more wine!! it was a wonderful experience. Chiara our familia hopes that your feeling good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenio f, Proprietario at Buonamico Tenuta, responded to this review, 13 August 2015
Hi,

Thank you very much for your nice review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience here in The winery and with Chiara. we hope to see you again soon.

Grazie

Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not genuine at all!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Charge €10 per person for a short and very impersonal tour. The girl sounded like a tape recorder and it was obvious she just wanted to run thru the tour and avoided any questions... then try some wines which were ok, but not extra ordinary at all. Nice scenery, but that's all.
Go to a genuine place instead, you'll get the tour and tasting for free AND buy better wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweden9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenio f, Proprietario at Buonamico Tenuta, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Gentleman or Lady, there is no signature in the review, we regret that you didn't enjoyed our wine cellar. this is the first complaint we received, and there may also be, no one is perfect.
what I can say is that our young ladies responsible for the guided tours I think certainly polite and professional in dealing with visitors, so also in answering the questions. also the wines tasted are all, not just some. the time for each tasting is variable and we have never accelerated in the tasting, everyone can stay as long as he wants.
the cost of 10 € for the visit to the winery with wine tasting and olive oil I think is not too much to ask. also in our cellar you can taste all the wines without having to pay anything, without being able to visit the winery for which a reservation is required.
then make a bad judgment we felt it was really inappropriate, as your judgment about our wines.
thanks
Eugenio Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscania, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything As Promised, Only Better”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I can't really add to the superlatives already used by other reviews when it comes to Buonamico.

This is a first-class establishment. The wine is excellent, the surroundings are welcoming and relaxing. The staff is not only knowledgeable but enthusiastic. Our friend misunderstood the reservation date, and even though we arrived a day early and were the only (3) guests, they made us welcome, gave us the tour and served a beautiful lunch. Wow, now that's being service-oriented!

Only caution, while the Tenuta itself is very well marked with big wine barrel and sign, not all GPS do well finding it; our friend had real trouble finding the right end of SP (Strada Provinciale) 31, so do take a good look at the map and know the surrounding towns. From the actual town of Montecarlo, he had needed to take the direction "Porcari".

If you're in the area, don't miss this opportunity. We have been to 5 or 6 wineries in Tuscany and this is the Best by far!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank klondike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugenio f, Proprietario at Buonamico Tenuta, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank You, for your words about our Winery. we try to work every day at our best to make people welcome and satisfied after their stay with us. This is very important to us. You are right about the signs to get at the Winery, there are no well located and we need to solve this little problem. to get here with the gps everyone should use the indications that we have put on our web site in the home page at the bottom.
Thank You again for your nice review.

Eugenio Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buonamico Tenuta also viewed

Montecarlo, Province of Lucca
Montecarlo, Province of Lucca
 
Montecarlo, Province of Lucca
Monte San Quirico, Lucca
 

Been to Buonamico Tenuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing