We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay at Jamal's”
Review of Borgo La Torre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo La Torre
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montecarlo
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay at Jamal's”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

In June 2013 we've stayed for 4 nights in Borgo La Torre.
It is a very nice accommodation with very lovely wines, which they make their selfs.

It has a good restaurant with very kind staff.

It is not as personal as other agriturismo's, it looks more like a hotel in that sense.

The location is good: Lucca and Pisa, but also Firenze, are close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    40
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunny california
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Borgo La Torre. The modern and up to date room was large. The bathroom was great. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The free wifi was wonderful! The staff were friendly and helpful. There are apartments here as well as hotel room. The dining area is away from the rooms, so it was quiet. We enjoyed walking among the grape vines and olive trees. We even had a friendly dog join us the whole time. It is beautiful here.

Borgo la Torre sits just below the walled village of Montecarlo. It is located in a perfect spot for visiting Pisa, Lucca and all the other towns in the area. You don't have to pay the high tourist prices to stay 20 minutes away from these top destination spots.

The room rate included breakfast. We enjoyed the meats, cheeses, yogurts,breads, fruit and cereals. I would have loved to have seen an egg. But, there was plenty to eat.

The restautant was amazing. We enjoyed each and every meal. It was nice to enjoy the Tuscan style food with the wine from Borgo La Torre.

We hope to return some day!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Handy for Lucca and just a short walk (albeit up a steep dark hill) to Montecarlo, a nice hilltop village.
Modern rooms with clean white sheets, good towels, low large beds, modern bathrooms, pllnty of space and good air conditioning. Only real problem was no staff to fill up the toilet rolls which twice ran out (and we're not big users ahem). Why spares can't be left is beyond me as it did annoy us and fridge which sort of worked but didn't really. Often there was no-one around which meant a little waiting in a comfortable reception arrea, but staff were exceedingly helpful and all spoke a variety of languages to help.
OK breakfast, perhaps a little bit too "pre-packaged" but good choice although the coffee machine was a bit slow and didn't produce hot enough water for tea and bread was not fresh, instead they relied on cheese slices, sliced bread and "plastic" ham. But plenty of fresh fruit, so no need to go hungry and lots of nice places to sit awhile too.
A few friendly dogs keeping us company, and a little kitten who was determined to annoy the dogs - often very successfully.
The restaurant is very good although it was closed one night because of the football which was disappointing as we had already booked in. Turns out it's run as a separate business but for a high quality place, a bit annoying having to be forced to walk/drive for a meal. Good wine made on-site and certainly as good as the best places you'll find.
Great pool, large, warm, plenty of sunbeds and shaded areas and a kids playground too - the outside space is really lovely and clean.
There were events every night except the night they closed the restaurant which meant we were able to listen to weddings, music and other events - very pleasant on holiday.
At E120 a night height of summer, this is slightly pricey but the quality reflects it. just a few little niggles that separate it from being the very best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I ate at the Resturant mainly because I tried some of thier wine at my hotel Resturant the night before. So I wandered up to the hills of Lucca for Sunday lunch. The Resturant was fully booked but they offered me a table out side. The weather was nice I accepted. I was soon to find out why it was fully booked of all the places I have eaten in Italy this might be in the top 3. I think the waiter might have snipped the rosemary for my lamb from the plant behind me as I was eating the best carpaccio of my life! This might be my Trevi Fountain. I may have to return to Italy just to come here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Delightful agriturismo situated just a half km outside the gorgeous walled village of Montecarlo. The staff are very friendly and helpful - it has the feel of a family run business.

Borgo La Torre consists of a small number of hotel rooms and apartments on a working vineyard. The hotel rooms are contemporary and comfortable with beautiful bathrooms, the apartments traditional and spacious.

The food in the restaurant is delicious, and the wine divine (produced on the vineyard). There are also some good restaurants in the village. The road to/from the village is mainly unlit at night, but we found that the hotel had provided torches in the rooms.

There is free on-site parking, and a swimming pool/sunbathing area in the grounds.

We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stay here every year and have never been disappointed. The front desk staff: Federica, Lucia, Antonio, are all exceedingly hospitable and helpful. The restaurant is terrific and the cuisine of Elisabetta and Chiara superb. It is an agriturismo and their wine and olive oil are both outstanding. It is conveniently located a few minutes from the autostrada. We've stayed mostly in the apartments and they are spacious, well equipped and clean. The hotel rooms are modern and very comfortable. Our most recent stay included a catering for my sister's 60th birthday party which was very well done. Every course was superb.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have wonderful views of Montecarlo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at the Borga L Borgo, a working farm situated below the ancient village of Montecarlo for 3 days in September, and loved every minute of it. The accomodations, the location and most importantly the people.. We scheduled for a cooking class with Elisabetta and Chiara – two remarkable chefs who had just brought home first prize at the La Rotta del Vino competition. With a lot of help from our hosts we prepared gourmet dishes like faro salad, taconi, gnocchi, tortellini, and ravioli, pork loin stuffed with herbs and juniper berries and fig flan before sitting down together to enjoy the fruits of our labour along with Stringaio, their estate wine. The meal was awesome if I do say so myself and the company even better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montecarlo
1.0 mi away
Villa La Nina
Villa La Nina
#1 of 4 in Montecarlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#13 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais del Lago
Relais del Lago
#2 of 3 in Capannori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo Vecchio Olivo
Agriturismo Vecchio Olivo
#2 of 10 in Montecarlo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antica Dimora Patrizia
Antica Dimora Patrizia
#1 of 7 in Montecarlo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casolare dei Fiori
Casolare dei Fiori
#1 of 10 in Montecarlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo La Torre

Property: Borgo La Torre
Address: Via Provinciale 7, 55015 Montecarlo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Montecarlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montecarlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Borgo La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo La Torre Montecarlo, Italy - Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing