We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polarizing...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto
Ranked #1 of 1 Roccastrada B&B and Inns
Buggingen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Polarizing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Due to an eBay voucher with breakfast and dinner, we stayed in this nice little hotel in the middle of nowhere for a week from Monday to Friday.

We arrived in the early afternoon at the hotel that is situated in a beautiful landscape a bit away from the street. If you don't know where to go, difficult to find...

Room and bathroom were enough space for two but both a bit run down. The bed seemed just to be the nice-looking frame and a spare bed in between. Mattresses were very weak- no chance to sleep in the middle because we always rolled to the gap between the two mattresses.

Breakfast (or whatever you might call it- poor choice, not very fresh) was served downstairs in the restaurant (separate building), not far from the pool.

The pool was nice made but low maintenance with some deck chairs and parasols. Water temperature was quite chilly but good for refreshing! :)

Dinner was served either on the outside in a big pavillon or in the restaurant. We had a 3-course menu within our halfboard pension, a bottle of water and 1/2 liter of wine included. Service was nice, quick and not pushy. The menu itself consisted of some starters, main dish and dessert. It was mixed of typical Italian and regional ingredients that we enjoyed very much- really tasty and satiably but not too much!

Directly next to the hotel was a so-called street that was used by road trains heading for a quarry. Passing started early in the morning until late in the afternoon- not nice but can be tolerated.

All in all, we enjoyed the trip although poor breakfast (maybe we are just breakfast-spoiled Germans ;) ), noisy kids and weak mattresses but don't think to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    127
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
60
157
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Popiglio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My single room with air conditioning was reasonable soundproof [but not when other guests slam their entrance doors] but a bit on the small size, as is, unfortunately, normally the case. The bathroom, though, was of a very decent size and there even was a wooden table inside. The fridge was not working when I arrived so I asked for another one. It arrived prompted, but despite being brand new it also did not work. Back to the front desk again! Fridge number 3 was duly installed, and yes, this one worked! Very good breakfast in the morning. Nice pool, too. I did not try out the onsite restaurant as I ate outside on all days I stayed here. You do need a car to get around. Plenty things to see in the area. Even found some funghi while out walking...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Structure: beautiful, surrounded by green woods and the typical Maremma.
The only drawback transit a few meters from the main facilities, residences, and in particular from the hotel, tow truck traveling on the only access road to the quarry of kaolin, which is part of the property.
Pool: beautiful but low maintenance, even daily access to non-guests of the hotel or apartments.
Staff: both Italian and Romanian, polite and courteous, ready to satisfy every request and accommodating.
Services: poor cleaning in the restaurant and breakfast room, dust, rare change of cloth and cleaning of the floors (presence of leftover for days under the table).
Presence of cigarette butts everywhere in the structure, especially in front of the apartments of the basement of the residence (impossible not to notice them).
food:
As experienced during our stay and as a result of what we read in the other reviews we can conclude that the food service is sufficient, unfortunately not comparable to the quality of good Tuscan cuisine. Are satisfactory especially fried and grilled meats, pasta is not always optimum cooking.
Bring not always conform to the description on the menu, eg: meat stew = vegetable soup with meat (?).
A few second course of fish and meat served in soup pans version.
Desserts: many puddings thickened not always in the correct way, Catalan cream made ​​from very strong alcohol inflamed, often raw or unleavened cakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

A perfect place to enjoy peace and quiet. Lovely setting, with a room view of tree lined hillsides as far as the eye could see. We visited in late April and has there were only 2 other rooms that were occupied, it may explain why it was so tranquil. Our corner room on the 2nd floor, was spacious and comfortable with an ornate 4 poster bed. There was a kettle but only one cup and no coffee or tea to go with it, which was a very strange arrangement indeed. An adequate quality rather than memorable evening meal in the "baronial hall" restaurant , located in a separate building, detached from the main hotel itself. The breakfast was taken in what can best be described as " a function room" which was located on the floor below the restaurant. It certainly left something to be desired in terms of the choices available.The drab surroundings only added to what was a disappointment to getting the day off to a good start.
Given a few tweaks and upgrades, the dining experience particularly the breakfast could make this hotel the ideal to base yourself for a few days to allow you to explore the lovely countryside that surrounds it.

Room Tip: Request Room 16 which gives a great views in 2 different directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We needed a room for a night and stumbled over this nice B&B. Its weird, like a little hide-out in the woods, where you expect Princesses and wolfes ;-) actually it was great and served our needs. Just when we entered the room we had to spend some minutes to liberate it from flies, which seem to have ammassed with an open window and lights on. Breakfast ok, italian coffee is extra, normal coffee from a machine. Very tranquil and nice service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perugia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Would be a good place for a relaxing vacation as grounds are beautiful and so is the pool... service also great.

Nothing close to it though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

On our way to Siena, we stopped here for lunch. The food was amazing. Both the pasta and the beef. We even got prosecco on the house ;)
A nice dip in the pool, before we headed back on the road!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheFongalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccastrada
2.2 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
21.5 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
24.6 mi away
Park Hotel Spa & Resort
Park Hotel Spa & Resort
#1 of 2 in Arcidosso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
24.8 mi away
Country Resort Le Due Ruote
12.6 mi away
La Locanda Del Minatore
La Locanda Del Minatore
#32 of 41 in Massa Marittima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto

Property: Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto
Address: SS n 73 in direzione Siena fino al Km 27,500 | Localita Piloni, 58036 Roccastrada, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccastrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roccastrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Sant'Uberto Roccastrada, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing