We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Gabbiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The property looks wonderful for lodging, but we only went there for the Wine Tour and Tasting. Very nicely done. Very informative. Lovely wines, olive oil and balsamic. Just get good directions as my Garmin could not find the place and the signage is a little lacking, particularly on the sharp left turn to take in the town before the Castello. The views are to die for.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorSkiVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stay there for one night during our trip in Chianti. The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt almost as at home.

First of all because we were almost one guest in whole castle, and secondly due to very open atmosphere. So, you can take a wine leaving just a sign on paper how bottles you used.
they had their own vineyards and wine production. We have not a chance to visit wine production, but take a walk in the morning through vineyards, and olives garden, took a dozen picture of Chianti from the top of the hill.

the room are big, and clean. the atmosphere is very authentic, and felt castle's soul. I will highly recommend to stay there if you around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Since our return from Italy we have been debating whether to give Gabbiano two or three stars. This is hard for us as we have never given anything two stars before – we spend a lot of time choosing places to stay and tend to love our choices. We do not go on vacation to complain – we want it to be great.

So I’m giving Gabbiano two but with the caveat of an “Excellent” rating for location. It really is just as beautiful as the pictures make it out to be. It is ridiculously picturesque – set on a hill in the vineyard. The pool, though cold, is as lovely as it appears. If that is all you need to make your trip….go for it.

However the service– the small amount that there is --falls very, very far short and damages the experience of the idyllic location. You truly feel that your presence is an imposition on Cornelia and her few employees. It’s a curious situation, but they just do not want to be running a hotel. They actually seem pretty pissed you are there. There is no one at all around to provide guidance, assistance, or ask your questions to.
You are truly alone.
In a castle.
In Tuscany.
Which may sound ok – but the thing is - you really need some help. Its not immediately apparent where to go, where you are, or where to procure food. The wifi is spotty, the guest computer is old, and the Italian GPS you rented at the airport seems to be connecting to a satellite made of scrap metal. It would be really great to be able to speak with someone, anyone, throughout the course of the trip. But there is no one to help you, save for the few times you can catch Cornelia – and then she will not even reply to your “Good Evening!” (No lie.)

You cannot survive on honor bar Chianti alone.

As my extended family was staying at the castle and apartments for a reunion, we had actually booked 18 months out. Nonetheless, we arrived to a very cold reception – Cornelia would not hang up the phone to speak with us, and we were forced to sit on our suitcases in the lobby for an hour and half. When they finally deigned to address us, we were given a cursory tour and made to carry our own luggage up two flights to our room. We also had bad luck when trying to book the winery tour. Our parents did the tour one day earlier with a friendly gentleman they loved. We toured with a younger lady who worked at the hotel. It was a very cursory tour and tasting. She was unable to answer any questions we had about the wine process.

So it is a castle. But you have to be aware that it’s a castle in the mode of 12th century walled-fortess-keeping-out-attackers. It is not your Cinderella/Marie Antoinette storybook variety. Our room was up one of the turrets, no view, but nice enough with a very large bathroom and cool rainfall shower. It was unbearably stiflingly hot at night, though, and we could clearly hear other guests (ahem…) throughout the evening. (Making me feel a bit awkward at breakfast.)

One positive…The woman who assisted with breakfast was actually quite helpful. I was so grateful to see someone who working there – I could have kissed her.

Room Tip: So - my parents rented one of the apartments - which are on the grounds but not in the castle. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Fantastic location for a vacation. The rooms are large, the food outstanding, and the setting is gorgeous. A terrific spot for two or for the family, and the owner Cornelia will do it all with grace and a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Attended a family wedding here for 3 days and it was nothing short of amazing. From the first day to the second we left there was nothing left to be desired. The views, the atmosphere, the rooms, the property walks, the lounging by the pool, the event itself from start to finish, the breakfast, the staff, the aromas, the wine, Maggo, the coffee.....I can go on and on but go see for yourself.
Highly recommended and well worth your time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelerprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Not a review of their accommodation we didnt stay there.

A lovely property, we did the tour and tasting and while it was an enjoyable short tour it was petty pricey for 20 mins at €10pp. The tour guide was friendly but you were told that after the tasting you could be shown the castel, when in fact that meant be let in the front door to wander round a foyer and one large room.

The wine was quite good, and decent value. If i could rate 3.5 i would but as it is i think it has to be 3. Worth a quick visit if youre in the area but not something to go too far out of the way for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewH815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Thank you to Cornelia, the director of hospitality at Castello di Gabbiano. We had our daughter's wedding at Castello di Gabbiano and it was truly memorable and wonderful. It was a wedding of a lifetime. Our family take great pride and joy on the wonderful memories the days we spent in Gabbiano. We rented the whole castle for the wedding and the whole family had such a fabulous time. Rooms were all beautiful and comfortable and the staff were the friendliest. Another good thing is they have their own restaurant within walking distance from the castle. Kudos to the chef. We held the welcome dinner at the castle's restaurant Il Cavaliere for all of our wedding guests and they all enjoyed the superb cooking. The spectacular views surrounding the castel is breathtaking. It is truly a magnificent place!

Room Tip: Every rooms are updated but the suites are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
1.8 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
818 reviews
14.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castello di Bibbione
Castello di Bibbione
#7 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
89 reviews
13 mi away
Castello di Volognano
Castello di Volognano
#14 of 18 in Rignano sull'Arno
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Gabbiano

Address: Via di Gabbiano 22, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £117 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful stay in a castle of the 11th century in the heart of the Chianti Classico not far from Florence and Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castello di Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Gabbiano Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Castello Di Gabbiano San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing