We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not meet expectations”
Review of La Tenda Rossa

La Tenda Rossa
Reserve with
La Tenda Rossa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$134
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Del Mar, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“did not meet expectations”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When planning to spend more money than usual, I have more expectations.In spite of the mixed reviews, we thought we would give it a chance. The restaurant is beautiful, well appointed with dishes, fine china, sculptures on most tables, etc. The menu in interesting and well translated by very pleasant and professional members of the family of the owners( i believe.) We had the two five course menu's, one of fish and the other of game (each 80 euros) thinking we would have 10 dishes and a good reflection of the kitchen. The wine list was extensive with approximately 30 pages of white and 30 of red in two separate wine cartes. I was pleased to see reasonable options as wells deep Tuscan options and vintages. The dishes were presented beautifully on exquisite and different plates for each course. The biggest problem though was with the food and the taste. Of the ten dishes, 3 met with the expectations we came in with. These were the simplest of the dishes. The fritto mist and 5 varieties of fish(clams, oysters, scallops, calimari and octopus lightly coated and perfectly fried. Risotto with game bird was done al dente and the hit on the evening was the paparedelle with hare with a fine white sauce wrinkled with coca (also the prettiest of the dishes.) Otherwise the food seemed to be striving for uniqueness and failing (gorgonzola ice cream?) While 3 out of ten is OK in baseball, in judging a kitchen, I believe it is way under par, especially given the higher expectations to begin with. We left full but unsatisfied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 712gary923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    51
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet Italian experience!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Arriving at the restaurant, in this small village in the middle of nowhere, you have the sense that you might be in the wrong place... However, once the door opens, you realize that this is the place!

Service: From the greeting, the seating, to the service, everything was perfect. The server was very polite, helpful with questions about the complicated menu, and very efficient. 5/5

Food: Amazing! I had a 5 course "Truffle" menu, which was a journey in taste! See photos. Overall, yes the portions are small, and the prices high, but the quality of the ingredients, the taste and presentation of the food are excellent. 5/5

Value: Expensive, but well worth it. If you want an evening of gourmet Italian dining, it's well worth it. 5/5

Atmosphere: Quiet, elegant, beautiful decor. 5/5.

Romance: We celebrated our 1st anniversary that evening, and, without having told them about it, we found the whole atmosphere very romantic. 5/5

Overall, if you are in the area, and like gourmet dining (not with Coke, as someone in a nearby table ordered that night, and made me shudder) highly recommended for a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Who gave this place a star?”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a disappointing experience in this supposed-starred restaurant.
We were the only diners at lunch, and expected an awesome experience. Maybe our expectations were misplaced.
The wine-list by the glass was very average, although the bottle selection was wide and reasonably priced.
The food however left much to be desired. There was NO olive oil in the restaurant to go with the cold bread unfortunately!!
The ravioli was disappointing. One pasta dish with an odd flavor-combination of cheese, capers and truffles together with courgette flowers was unusual. Not in an interesting way unfortunately. Overall - the food was over-salted.
There was a FLY in the restaurant. The worst part of the experience was hearing the shennanigans from the kitchen as well.
Overall i was fairly disappointed with the restaurant food and experience as well as the price-point. The service was generally good however. I wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eshawng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“fabulous family run restaurant, good food, great service”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The atmosphere, the sweet special rose and red decor, the menu and the wine list! A nice place too with outside seating on tables covered by a hedge to blend out the traffic noise. we were recommended to go there by other fellow guests.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VM_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Two or one star - but place from the past”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Really not bad, expensive , but strange design, quite oversalted clams - there are a lot of things to admire in kitchen and service, but also a lot of small shortages. They quite compensate each other. The service were good- no doubt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexShMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tenda Rossa also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Montespertoli, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Tenda Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing