We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Italian in the hills.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tenda Rossa

La Tenda Rossa
Reserve with
La Tenda Rossa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$124
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glen Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Contemporary Italian in the hills.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were treated to top notch service by Chef Maria Probst and her in laws. (I highly recommend taking her cooking class at Salvadonica )This is a multi generation run restaurant. It is very chic, modern italian in style. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. Definitely for the more sophisticated, curious palate. This will be your night to put on your more formal travel clothes. Prices go with the atmosphere and are expected to be higher than your typical dinner in Chianti. Music selection needs to be updated to match the environment or vice versa. Maybe a tweak to the decor to have it match the chic, progressive menu. Felt a bit sterile when we walked in as there were only two other tables, maybe a quiet night. If you want to try contemporary Italian that will excite your palate, make a reservation. Chef Maria is great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sbeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    52
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Italian gourmet food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very good Italian place. The food was very authentic and the meal was very good and very fine as befits a restuarant with a star from Michelin. The place is a bit out of way

Helpful?
Thank Coollawyer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

When planning to spend more money than usual, I have more expectations.In spite of the mixed reviews, we thought we would give it a chance. The restaurant is beautiful, well appointed with dishes, fine china, sculptures on most tables, etc. The menu in interesting and well translated by very pleasant and professional members of the family of the owners( i believe.) We had the two five course menu's, one of fish and the other of game (each 80 euros) thinking we would have 10 dishes and a good reflection of the kitchen. The wine list was extensive with approximately 30 pages of white and 30 of red in two separate wine cartes. I was pleased to see reasonable options as wells deep Tuscan options and vintages. The dishes were presented beautifully on exquisite and different plates for each course. The biggest problem though was with the food and the taste. Of the ten dishes, 3 met with the expectations we came in with. These were the simplest of the dishes. The fritto mist and 5 varieties of fish(clams, oysters, scallops, calimari and octopus lightly coated and perfectly fried. Risotto with game bird was done al dente and the hit on the evening was the paparedelle with hare with a fine white sauce wrinkled with coca (also the prettiest of the dishes.) Otherwise the food seemed to be striving for uniqueness and failing (gorgonzola ice cream?) While 3 out of ten is OK in baseball, in judging a kitchen, I believe it is way under par, especially given the higher expectations to begin with. We left full but unsatisfied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 712gary923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet Italian experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Arriving at the restaurant, in this small village in the middle of nowhere, you have the sense that you might be in the wrong place... However, once the door opens, you realize that this is the place!

Service: From the greeting, the seating, to the service, everything was perfect. The server was very polite, helpful with questions about the complicated menu, and very efficient. 5/5

Food: Amazing! I had a 5 course "Truffle" menu, which was a journey in taste! See photos. Overall, yes the portions are small, and the prices high, but the quality of the ingredients, the taste and presentation of the food are excellent. 5/5

Value: Expensive, but well worth it. If you want an evening of gourmet Italian dining, it's well worth it. 5/5

Atmosphere: Quiet, elegant, beautiful decor. 5/5.

Romance: We celebrated our 1st anniversary that evening, and, without having told them about it, we found the whole atmosphere very romantic. 5/5

Overall, if you are in the area, and like gourmet dining (not with Coke, as someone in a nearby table ordered that night, and made me shudder) highly recommended for a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Who gave this place a star?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a disappointing experience in this supposed-starred restaurant.
We were the only diners at lunch, and expected an awesome experience. Maybe our expectations were misplaced.
The wine-list by the glass was very average, although the bottle selection was wide and reasonably priced.
The food however left much to be desired. There was NO olive oil in the restaurant to go with the cold bread unfortunately!!
The ravioli was disappointing. One pasta dish with an odd flavor-combination of cheese, capers and truffles together with courgette flowers was unusual. Not in an interesting way unfortunately. Overall - the food was over-salted.
There was a FLY in the restaurant. The worst part of the experience was hearing the shennanigans from the kitchen as well.
Overall i was fairly disappointed with the restaurant food and experience as well as the price-point. The service was generally good however. I wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eshawng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tenda Rossa also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Tenda Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing