We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Podere Dell'Orto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Podere Dell'Orto
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Simona and Roberto are by far the nicest italians we know! They helped us a lot planning our day trips in Tuscany. They have a beautiful appartment with an amazing view. We even got a basket of tomatos and basil from their garden. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you're looking for a well priced, quiet, romantic, yet convenient holiday in Tuscany with the best hosts in the universe, look no further!

Ok where to start....
It was our homeymoon so we were quite picky and did a lot of research, mainly on trip-advisor in regards to our accomodation, and the reviews, location and pictures eventually convinced us - and we were not dissappointed!! ( We also were staying elsewhere in Italy so we could compare).
Pre-arrangements and emailing back and forth was easy and prompt due to the nearly perfect English of Simona.
Finding the villa was fine, thanks to the directions they gave us, if we had a GPS it would have been a walk in the park due to the close proximity to Florence.

When we arrived we were greeted by some of the friendliest human beings that currently roam the earth. Seriously - i could not think how they could have hosted us any better!!!
They were so lovely and looked after us so well but still gave us our space and privacy when we needed it!
Always willing to help, give us directions, maps and advise, plucking us the juciest and freshest fruits and veges from their farm or just simply having a pleasant afternoon chat.
You could really tell they are not doing this for the money but because they love people.
Roberto was not as fluent in English as Simona but all the more heplful, going the ultimate extra mile by getting up at 6am for us to drive us to the bus stop on our day of departure, so we wouldn't have to get a taxi.
I could go on, but you get the point: They were flippin awesome!!

The appartment - Olivio - was spotless clean, georgeous, spacious, practical, really well designed, had a beautifully renovated bathroom, aircon, mosquito nets, a well equipped kitchen, good storage possibility and a stunning view outside and a really comfortable bed!!

The 15th century villa/farm house that it belonged to was really well looked after and beautifully located. It was surrounded by vineyards and olive trees and in between were quite a few little seating areas that make for a very romantic dinner over ag glass of their very own really well priced chianti wine! :) From one side you can even see Florence and the Duomo.
3 chickens and 3 cats are roaming the farm during the day and make the rustic charme of this little villa perfect!

The location is perefect, in the Chianti region, super close to Florence, yet far enough away to feel like you are fully emersed in tuscan countryside.
Easy to reach by car, easy access to the highway or the country roads to all the key locations of tuscany, such as Sienna or San Gigmigiano. The town with local shopping, deli shops, cafes, suparmarket is not even 5 mins by car away and some restaurants are walking distance.

Overall we would highly recommend anyone to stay here and if there is ever a chance to come to that part of Italy again, we know where we'll be staying!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We planed staying 2 night and ended staying for one more. the B&B is located not far from Florence and in the heart of Tuscany. the owners are very helpful with every question or need/ the rooms a big and well pland . each room has a kitchin and all the comfort a quite that a vacation needs

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Podere Dell'Orto on the recommendation of friends. We hired a car in Florence and drove to San Casciano. Simona met us on arrival and escorted us the rest of the way to their farm house. We had intended to spend the next few days driving around the beautiful Tuscan countryside, but on awakening the next morning, we changed our minds and spent 3 days just wondering around their property and the tiny surrounding towns. Olive trees, grape vines, fig and almond trees are just some of the delicious things on offer to their guests. Simona and Roberto recommended the local pizzeria for dinner, where we had the most delicious seafood pasta, pizza and local wines. San Casciano was only 4 k's down the road and was a great place to spend the afternoon. Our last night was spent cooking steaks on the outdoor grill and sharing our meal with the most wonderful hosts Simona and Roberto. After 5 weeks of travelling throughout Europe and the US, this was the perfect place to recharge our batteries. The weather was sunny one day and raining the next, but with the most wonderful 360 degree views there was always something to fill in our time. The accommodation was superb, complete with views of Florence from our bed. Fully equipped kitchen, assorted books to read and the amazing hospitality of Simona and Roberto. We would love to return one day and have most definitely recommended it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

After spending the most of a week travelling around the Northern Tuscany, we ended our honeymoon at Podere Dell'Orto...

When we arrived at the house Simona came towards us with two eggs, just picked up at the hen house - these and a few more became our evening omelette ;o) The hospitality of both Simona and Roberto was enormous - and the place outstandingly charming!
Here we spend the last two days of our vacation, reading books in the garden, drinking wine and enjoying the beautiful view af the Tuscan landscape.

Highly recommendable for couples and families wanting a taste of Tuscany.

The place lies nearby San Casciano, a nice little town with shopping opportunities - and in driving distance for day trips to Florence, Sienna and San Gimignano...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mostorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We recommend Podere Dell'Orto as the perfect place to stay whilst site seeing around Tuscany.
The owners, Simone and Roberto provided excellent hospitality, giving spot on directions with maps of all the nearby towns including Florence, Siena and San Gimingiano.
The apartment was super, we could relax after a busy day and had the opportunity to self cater.
The local village has a pizzeria, San Casciano supermarkets, banks, bakeries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mestburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We were truly delighted with our stay at Podere Dell'Orto. The location is excellent, just 18 mins from Florence and close enough to the Sienna-Florence highway to make most destinations in Tuscany easily accessible. But the centrality does not detract from the beauty of the location - see the pictures for evidence of this! Simona and Roberto were friendly and helpful. Simona has an adequate English, accompanied with a map and explanation to meet every request. At the same time they were unobtrusive and let us enjoy our stay there. We had the Olivo apartment which was charming and well equipped for the two of us.

We could not have been happier with our choice, and only regret not having more time to relax in the beautiful garden setting of Podere Dell'Orto. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
818 reviews
6.6 mi away
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
#1 of 1 in Montefiridolfi
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Vichiaccio
Il Vichiaccio
#2 of 7 in Mercatale di Val di Pesa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
596 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
546 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Pian de' Noci - Tenuta del Palagio
Villa Pian de' Noci - Tenuta del...
#5 of 7 in Mercatale di Val di Pesa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Dell'Orto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Dell'Orto

Address: Via di Faltignano 3, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Podere Dell'Orto San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing