We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Fonte del Machiavelli
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at La Fonte del Machiavelli for 2 nights.
Simone is a great host, welcomed us with a big smile.
The rooms are very nice, designed in a basic manor but quite lovely.
The view is stunning when you open the windows in the morning, breakfast was very good and rich.

all in all the place offers great value and is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This review is late, but perfect. My husband and I found this beautiful place by chance, and what a stroke of luck! First thing that needs mentioning-Simone is the host, and no one could pick a better person for the job. On top of being a superb cook, just seeing his smile every day is a treat! As was trying to speak Italian, while he tried his English! All so horribly done and so much fun! The views from the balcony/patio are worth hundreds of pictures. Our room will stay a secret, but the rooms, service, pool, flowers in October (!), and THE VIEWS, make this a beautiful property to return to again and again. There, the secret is out, but one cannot be so selfish as to keep a fabulous place like this a secret. Do be sure to arrive in your own vehicle, as you will want to explore all of the wonderful places nearby. Thanks SImone, for a trip to remember forever, at a place to return to again. What a Jewell in Italy's crown!

K & C Shelton, USA

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheltonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Everything was excellent.
Excellent breakfast, excellent room, excellent service.
Thank you Simon for Wonderful service

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the view. I think the room name is Michalanglo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnir2v5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. It was the perfect location in Tuscany so access all the cute villages and towns one might want to visit. I wish we had more time to spend at this beautiful B&B. The surroundings were amazing. The host could not have been nicer...he was so helpful - giving us recommendations and directions to local spots. The breakfast was the best I had during my 3 weeks of travel! I can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I have just spent one night at this amazing B&B. We were passing through the Chianti area of Tuscany for only one night and picked the accommodation because of the comments of fellow travellers, we were not disappointed. Our only disappointment was spending one night there. The setting is truley picturesque, the host Simone, was so charming and made our very short stay comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the bed comfortable. Thank you Simone......we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If your looking for the genuine Tuscany experience, this are one of the best places to have it on! The inn has a breathtaking view over the tuscan hills, the rooms are new and really nice, all facilities works as the should. The breakfast is served by the tables outside next to the best view, it is a really good continental breakfast (the best I have had in Italy). The family owning the Inn is really friendly and helpful, though their english are'nt so good. The pool area lies with a great view as well and there are trees for thse moment you need a shade. There are a wonderful tuscan restaurant nearby. Just watch out for the road down to the Inn, it could use a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask to have the Leonardo-room, it it the one with entrance to the wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davinski555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The views were absolutely breathtaking from the patio/balcony! The property is nestled in vineyards and the view overlooks Tuscany. We were greeted by the owner with a drink when we arrived. He was extremely nice and gave us excellent service while we were there. He knew some English and we knew some Italian so our conversations were limited, but he recommended a great restaurant close by. The pool was nice and a relaxing break from the sun. The breakfast was amazing and consisted of homemade eggs, bacon, ham, croissants, espresso, and fruit juice. It was the best breakfast we had in Italy and was out on the patio. It was so serene to look out over Tuscany as we ate. No one wanted to leave. The rooms were simple and comfortable. We will go back and stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socrstuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
818 reviews
3.2 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
596 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
269 reviews
6.3 mi away
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
#1 of 1 in Montefiridolfi
250 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Vichiaccio
Il Vichiaccio
#2 of 7 in Mercatale di Val di Pesa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonte del Machiavelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonte del Machiavelli

Address: Via Scopeti 54 | Sant' Andrea in Percussina, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello,my name is Simone Calonaci historical mention of a B & B La Fonte del Machiavelli Fontalle farmhouse belonged to Niccolo Machiavelli, the great writer and philosopher Fiorentino,the pleasure of sleeping in history.The Bed and Breakfast la Fonte del Machiavelli is located in this splendid setting, provides lovely well-furnished rooms, in Tuscan style, with ensuite bathrooms, air conditioned and equipped with satellite Tv, that overlook on the beautiful sorrounding view. In the morning you will wake up by birds song and admire all around cultivated fields, olive trees, cypresses, vineyards, green hills where here and there a stone farmhouse emerges. During summer you will have a good start of the day with a rich breakfast on the panoramic terrace and in the evening fall asleep among fireflies and crickets. A holiday close to nature, in the silent of Tuscan countryside, where you can regenerate, far from the confusion of the city. The family-run B&B's owners are professional and fond of, and they will receive you with warmth and helpfulness.The swimming pool: haven of peaceThe accommodation facility is enhanced by the enchanting swimming pool with solarium swathed in greenery, to sunbathe undisturbed, or to relax under the shadow of an olive tree, with the scent of grapes that arouses your senses.A B&B in a strategic place to visit Tuscany.Our bed & breakfast is in Fontalle, in the centre of Tuscany, in the neighbourhood of many places of historical and artistic interest, such as Florence, 15 minutes drive, and San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra, Pisa, Lucca, reachable in short time. The short-distance freeway allow to reach quickly by car all the most famous art cities of Tuscany, spending a day or half-day trip. To all those who love "slow holiday", from the close city of San Casciano some of the most scenic streets start, that lead to towns and historical villages of Chianti: Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Radda, Castellina in Chianti. Renowned lands for the beautiful landscapes, for the richness of art and architectural treasures and for the excellent wine. To ride with the motorbike or even with the Vespa, stopping over to admire the landscape or for a wine tasting.In the evening if you don't feel like doing too many km, in the vicinity of b&b within easy reach, you will find many restaurants and trattoria, to taste the Tuscan cooking.Best regardsSimone Calonaci ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Fonte del Machiavelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonte Del Machiavelli San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing