We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Relaxing Stay in the Chianti Region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Fonte del Machiavelli
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Truly Relaxing Stay in the Chianti Region”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Simone is a fabulous host! He is warm and inviting and very helpful! The views of the countryside from the patio are absolutely beautiful ... vineyards, rolling hills, olive trees .. and absolute privacy all around. I watched the moonrise and the sunrise from the patio, watched the light changing on the distant hills, listened to the birds singing ... PERFECT.

The breakfast is lovely...eggs, bacon, ham, cereals, bread, rolls, butter, cheese, juices and fresh fruits, and as much coffee and tea as you can want served by hand by Simone himself, a very attentive host.

The surrounding gardens are beautiful!! The flowers and herbs are all around the patios and walkways, a lovely private retreat. The rooms have beautiful comforters and nice lighting and furnishings and are clean and comfortable and relaxing. Stayed three nights and wished we had time for more! I would definitely come back, and I would highly recommend this b&b!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the patio overlook the view of the Chianti hillside and afford you the easy access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mggnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    40
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
86
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at La Fonte del Machiavelli for 2 nights.
Simone is a great host, welcomed us with a big smile.
The rooms are very nice, designed in a basic manor but quite lovely.
The view is stunning when you open the windows in the morning, breakfast was very good and rich.

all in all the place offers great value and is very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This review is late, but perfect. My husband and I found this beautiful place by chance, and what a stroke of luck! First thing that needs mentioning-Simone is the host, and no one could pick a better person for the job. On top of being a superb cook, just seeing his smile every day is a treat! As was trying to speak Italian, while he tried his English! All so horribly done and so much fun! The views from the balcony/patio are worth hundreds of pictures. Our room will stay a secret, but the rooms, service, pool, flowers in October (!), and THE VIEWS, make this a beautiful property to return to again and again. There, the secret is out, but one cannot be so selfish as to keep a fabulous place like this a secret. Do be sure to arrive in your own vehicle, as you will want to explore all of the wonderful places nearby. Thanks SImone, for a trip to remember forever, at a place to return to again. What a Jewell in Italy's crown!

K & C Shelton, USA

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheltonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Everything was excellent.
Excellent breakfast, excellent room, excellent service.
Thank you Simon for Wonderful service

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the view. I think the room name is Michalanglo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnir2v5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, RI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2011. It was the perfect location in Tuscany so access all the cute villages and towns one might want to visit. I wish we had more time to spend at this beautiful B&B. The surroundings were amazing. The host could not have been nicer...he was so helpful - giving us recommendations and directions to local spots. The breakfast was the best I had during my 3 weeks of travel! I can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I have just spent one night at this amazing B&B. We were passing through the Chianti area of Tuscany for only one night and picked the accommodation because of the comments of fellow travellers, we were not disappointed. Our only disappointment was spending one night there. The setting is truley picturesque, the host Simone, was so charming and made our very short stay comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the bed comfortable. Thank you Simone......we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If your looking for the genuine Tuscany experience, this are one of the best places to have it on! The inn has a breathtaking view over the tuscan hills, the rooms are new and really nice, all facilities works as the should. The breakfast is served by the tables outside next to the best view, it is a really good continental breakfast (the best I have had in Italy). The family owning the Inn is really friendly and helpful, though their english are'nt so good. The pool area lies with a great view as well and there are trees for thse moment you need a shade. There are a wonderful tuscan restaurant nearby. Just watch out for the road down to the Inn, it could use a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask to have the Leonardo-room, it it the one with entrance to the wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davinski555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
753 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Il Fedino
Villa Il Fedino
#6 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
148 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Sant'Andrea
Villa Sant'Andrea
#8 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
72 reviews
3.1 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonte del Machiavelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonte del Machiavelli

Property: La Fonte del Machiavelli
Address: Via Scopeti 54 | Sant' Andrea in Percussina, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello,my name is Simone Calonaci historical mention of a B & B La Fonte del Machiavelli Fontalle farmhouse belonged to Niccolo Machiavelli, the great writer and philosopher Fiorentino,the pleasure of sleeping in history.The Bed and Breakfast la Fonte del Machiavelli is located in this splendid setting, provides lovely well-furnished rooms, in Tuscan style, with ensuite bathrooms, air conditioned and equipped with satellite Tv, that overlook on the beautiful sorrounding view. In the morning you will wake up by birds song and admire all around cultivated fields, olive trees, cypresses, vineyards, green hills where here and there a stone farmhouse emerges. During summer you will have a good start of the day with a rich breakfast on the panoramic terrace and in the evening fall asleep among fireflies and crickets. A holiday close to nature, in the silent of Tuscan countryside, where you can regenerate, far from the confusion of the city. The family-run B&B's owners are professional and fond of, and they will receive you with warmth and helpfulness.The swimming pool: haven of peaceThe accommodation facility is enhanced by the enchanting swimming pool with solarium swathed in greenery, to sunbathe undisturbed, or to relax under the shadow of an olive tree, with the scent of grapes that arouses your senses.A B&B in a strategic place to visit Tuscany.Our bed & breakfast is in Fontalle, in the centre of Tuscany, in the neighbourhood of many places of historical and artistic interest, such as Florence, 15 minutes drive, and San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra, Pisa, Lucca, reachable in short time. The short-distance freeway allow to reach quickly by car all the most famous art cities of Tuscany, spending a day or half-day trip. To all those who love "slow holiday", from the close city of San Casciano some of the most scenic streets start, that lead to towns and historical villages of Chianti: Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Radda, Castellina in Chianti. Renowned lands for the beautiful landscapes, for the richness of art and architectural treasures and for the excellent wine. To ride with the motorbike or even with the Vespa, stopping over to admire the landscape or for a wine tasting.In the evening if you don't feel like doing too many km, in the vicinity of b&b within easy reach, you will find many restaurants and trattoria, to taste the Tuscan cooking.Best regardsSimone Calonaci ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your La Fonte del Machiavelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonte Del Machiavelli San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing