We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonte del Machiavelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fonte del Machiavelli
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

My mum and I stayed at La Fonte del Machiavelli for 3 nights. We were very happy to stay at a B&B at the countryside, so that we could relax after busy days in Florence and San Gimignano. The property is very beautiful and Simone is a very nice host. Unfortunately we don't speak any italian and although he tries his best with english we sometimes had troubles communicating. This was not a real problem as we could see he really intended to help us find the easiest way to Florence or a good restaurant to eat... and in the end, we found all of it. We went to florence from Tavernuzze, the bus goes every 20 minutes and parking there is free. We found it vary convenient.
Breakfast was very nice. Simone even got me all kinds of gluten free crackers, biscuits, and bread. We would recommend staying there, but keep in mind that there are not many restaurants in walking distance.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontedelmachiavelli, Proprietario at La Fonte del Machiavelli, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good evening, thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed the B & B La Fonte del Machiavelli.
Best regards
Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
81
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights and really appreciated the quiet of a countryside B & B at the end of a busy day touring. The rooms were clean/comfortable and we appreciated the character of the building and surroundings. You do have to drive a short distance to restaurants, but we found that going to the local market or grocery store in town and buying local delicacies to eat on the deck overlooking the beautiful Tuscan vineyards was very enjoyable. We took this opportunity to chat with other guests from all over the world. Simone was very helpful in recommending transportation tips for going to Florence by local bus. The breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of fresh and hot foods. Simone whipped up eggs, bacon, and fresh coffee. He was very hospitable and went out of his way to meet our needs. We found this was a good location tomuse as a home base to travel to many tuscan cities. We would recommend this B & B.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontedelmachiavelli, Proprietario at La Fonte del Machiavelli, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Good evening, thanks for the review that we have done, we are happy to know that you have spent some happy moments in the B & B La Fonte del Machiavelli.
Best regards
Simone Calonaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We really wanted to go there after seeing the pictures on websites, we actually booked and checked in. When we started unpacking, the kids went to the swimming pool but hey came back in 5 minutes because the water was extremely cold... In these 5 minutes we realized that the discomfort we were feeling was not from the long drive, but the humidity and smell in the rooms. It seems these windows were not opened for months... Same thing in the bathrooms: sticky tiles, strange smell. The wireless was working in one room only, so we used a 3G modem to just cancel and leave... We stayed a total of 1 hour.
The only excellent thing about this place is the scenery: it makes up for everything, but only if you want to stay for 2-3 days. We booked for 7 days and it would have been too much...

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontedelmachiavelli, Proprietario at La Fonte del Machiavelli, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Good evening, La Fonte del Machiavelli is a B & B realized after four years of restoration, the house belonged to Niccolò Machiavelli of 1400, the smell that you feel is the old beams polished with wax, for those who choose to come to a converted Tuscan farmhouse is a What appreciated, among other things, is explained on the site internet.la swimming pool had a temperature of 28 degrees,no comment.I'm sorry not to be able to do appreciate the particularity of our B & B.
Best regards
Simone Calonaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

This is a very beautiful place to stay near Florence. Located in a rathere rural region, featured by marvelous views of grape-yards.
Bit hard to find to arrive in the late evening. But it really deserves it.
Fantastic warm and responding Personel - thank you

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We arrived with our friends to find this charming B&B nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by "Classico Chianti" vineyards. The view were majestic in this historically significant property. The breakfasts on the veranda were breathtaking with the views. The pool was very refreshing in the heat of the day. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We spent 3 nights there and what really made it special was the owner, Simone, was ready to help at a moments notice. The restaurants he recommended, particularly the one 1 minute from the property turned out to be the best of our stay in Europe. I highly recommend spending a few days (or maybe a few weeks) in this beautiful little corner in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you want a quiet relaxing retreat to recharge your batteries, this is the place to stay. Although a little difficult to find (Simone kindly drove out to meet us after we had found ourselves lost) and down a steep unmade track. The views from the terrace and rooms are outstanding and out of this world. The swimming pool was a welcome relief after a day in Florence and so relaxing. Breakfast is taken in the Italian sun on the terrace and was very substantial including both hot and continental breakfasts with plenty of coffee, juices, yoghurt and much more. We also sat there in the evening with a bottle of wine relaxing after our sightseeing listening to various birds and other animals calling to each other. The local town was lovely to visit and has a variety of restaurants , bars and pizzerias which were excellent and very reasonable. One tip is to make a note of where to turn off on your return if it is dark, as we went past for a few miles before we realised. Simone was very attentive and helpful. We have recommended La Fonte del Macchievelli to our friends. It is thanks to Trip Advisor that we found this gem and loved all the history of it in connection with Macchievelli.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexEunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Simone is a great host. The Area were breakfast is served has a breathtaking view and you see that every morning. 15 minutes from Florence airport. San Casciano has wonderful people and awesome restaurants. You have to see/visit this place, a must

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Il Fedino
Villa Il Fedino
#6 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B Le Dimore Mezza Costa
B&B Le Dimore Mezza Costa
#4 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.3 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonte del Machiavelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonte del Machiavelli

Property: La Fonte del Machiavelli
Address: Via Scopeti 54 | Sant' Andrea in Percussina, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello,my name is Simone Calonaci historical mention of a B & B La Fonte del Machiavelli Fontalle farmhouse belonged to Niccolo Machiavelli, the great writer and philosopher Fiorentino,the pleasure of sleeping in history.The Bed and Breakfast la Fonte del Machiavelli is located in this splendid setting, provides lovely well-furnished rooms, in Tuscan style, with ensuite bathrooms, air conditioned and equipped with satellite Tv, that overlook on the beautiful sorrounding view. In the morning you will wake up by birds song and admire all around cultivated fields, olive trees, cypresses, vineyards, green hills where here and there a stone farmhouse emerges. During summer you will have a good start of the day with a rich breakfast on the panoramic terrace and in the evening fall asleep among fireflies and crickets. A holiday close to nature, in the silent of Tuscan countryside, where you can regenerate, far from the confusion of the city. The family-run B&B's owners are professional and fond of, and they will receive you with warmth and helpfulness.The swimming pool: haven of peaceThe accommodation facility is enhanced by the enchanting swimming pool with solarium swathed in greenery, to sunbathe undisturbed, or to relax under the shadow of an olive tree, with the scent of grapes that arouses your senses.A B&B in a strategic place to visit Tuscany.Our bed & breakfast is in Fontalle, in the centre of Tuscany, in the neighbourhood of many places of historical and artistic interest, such as Florence, 15 minutes drive, and San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra, Pisa, Lucca, reachable in short time. The short-distance freeway allow to reach quickly by car all the most famous art cities of Tuscany, spending a day or half-day trip. To all those who love "slow holiday", from the close city of San Casciano some of the most scenic streets start, that lead to towns and historical villages of Chianti: Panzano, Greve in Chianti, Radda, Castellina in Chianti. Renowned lands for the beautiful landscapes, for the richness of art and architectural treasures and for the excellent wine. To ride with the motorbike or even with the Vespa, stopping over to admire the landscape or for a wine tasting.In the evening if you don't feel like doing too many km, in the vicinity of b&b within easy reach, you will find many restaurants and trattoria, to taste the Tuscan cooking.Best regardsSimone Calonaci ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Fonte del Machiavelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonte Del Machiavelli San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing