We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Experience”

Trattoria La Baracchina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Baracchina is a typical Tuscan countryside “trattoria”, where simplicity combines with genuineness.Born in the 60ies as a shack where, on weekends, people from Florence would go for picnics, it slowly evolved into what it is now, a trattoria with an easy and informal atmosphere. The Baracchina is suggestive and cozy in winter, with its small lounge heated by fireplace and wood stoves, and striking in summer, when meals can be taken in the refreshing shade of secular oaks and cypresses. The owner likes to recall how thirty or more years ago Angiolino used to barbecue huge steaks while his sister cooked penne strascicate and beans the Tuscan way. A short waiter served the dishes and, during the pods season, yelled not to throw the hulls to the ground. The management changed several times, with more or less success, until the Baracchina nearly closed down in the years spanning the two centuries. But the place is cozy and it has what it takes, so why not resume the principles of the early years, which were simplicity and genuineness, combined with a fair price and a professional and skilled management. This is the new/old Baracchina, a “substancial” trattoria, the ideal place for those who wish to eat well, no frills at an honest price. Perfect for an informal dinner as well as for the Sunday lunch, and for business or tourist luncheons. You will also find a suggestive glass veranda surrounded by huge trees, especially suited for banquets like communions, business meals, birthdays and so on.
Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Italian Experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are four Canadians traveling with two great friends from USA. We asked for a recommendation from IL Borghetto, our favorite B&B in nearby Montefiridolfi.
The owner, Simone, greeted us warmly and provided superb service. He took extra time to tell us about the wild boar and how they are able to offer it on the menu.
Our lunch was excellent and we would highly recommend this very real Italian experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    128
    27
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great quality and value”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

i was there with few friends and the food was really good,
very simple and tasty. If you want to enjoy a real tuscany trattoria, this place is a must!

pate' di fegatini, millefoglie dessert, mix vegetable fry, grilled meat was good.

a mention go to one of the best soup i have ever had in tuscany.... porcini mushroom soup and cannelini bean!

great service manged by owner Andrea!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were 2 familes and kids. There were no english menus so the waiter had to translate us the whole menu which led to terrible mistakes. The food wasnt tasty too. The nioky was taste less, the spagethy was served in one plate for 3 people, very small dish and salty.
I ordered the fillet sideof the Bistecca alla Fiorentina, but got the sirlon side, the hard side. The waiter persist to claim that it is the fillet side (which was much more expensive). The steak was hard to eat. The waiter wasnt that nice.
Eventually, when we got the bill, we found out that we had to pay 21 euros for the maps and the plates.
Stay out of this resturant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eitan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Proprietario at Trattoria La Baracchina, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We all remember you and your guests.
Yes, you are right, we don't have an english menu. We are a trattoria, not a restaurant. we prepare fresh
food every day and our menu changes every day.
We print our menu every day, sometimes twice a day, lunch and dinner.
But we all speak english, at least, some speaks german and french too.
And the waiter that served your table speaks a very good english and for that reason we gave him the responsability to follow such a risky guest who was so angered by the absence of an english menu.
He spent a long, long time trying to serve you with all our best efforts.
Like the long time he spent trying to make you understand that the steak was exactly the one you ordered: a "bistecca alla fiorentina" on the filet side, yes, more expensive than the other one, on the rib side.
Was the meat too hard for you? Ok, I must believe you if you say it.
All the other guests that received steaks cutted in the same loin maybe weren't so expert about meat, ok?
Or maybe you presumed to have ordered a filet and not a T-Bone steak? Who knows!
And you paid 2 euros for each person for the bread and the excellent virgin tuscan olive oil that you and your family enjoyed and appreciated so much during the meal, not only for the maps! It is what in Italy we call "coperto", a tradition, you pay it in every trattoria, where it was born many many years ago, when people working in the fields brought their own food in the trattoria and paid a little fee to sit at a table by the fireplace and having their meal "al coperto", covered by a deck.
A strange tradition? Ok, maybe. But we like it, and our guests are not disturbed by the fee.
So, if you want an english menu: stay out of this trattoria.
If you want a touristic meal: stay out of this trattoria.
If you are disturbed of beeing the only non-italian in a dining room: stay out.
It's plenty of restaurants in this area and almost all of them will provide you all this things with their "prosciutto and melone" and "balsamic vinegar" and " spaghetti bolognese".
Sorry, we do not.
But if you want to enjoy a real tuscan meal with real tuscan food between real tuscan people join us: we will be happy to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A genuine Tuscan trattoria”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We just happened upon La Baracchina on a Sunday afternoon while exploring the countryside around San Casciano. The food and the vibrant atmosphere were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and relaxed. Prices are reasonable. Try the tagliatelle con cinghiale. We can't wait to bring our friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan Food”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great food, has a private car park and reasonably priced. The bistecca Fiorentina was great, as were the side dishes and the Tuscan antipsto

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KyleDebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Baracchina also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria La Baracchina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing