We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Nello

Ristorante Nello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My fiancé and I loved this restaurant! We looked a trip advisor prior to choosing this restaurant and all the reviews were right. We had this delicious cheese flan with caramelized onions for an appetizer and I'm still thinking about it. My fiancé had the gnocchi, which was really amazing. Out of curiosity, I ordered fried chicken, which I regretted once I tried the gnocchi. We also had a great white wine. Overall, a fantastic meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank aclin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    138
    25
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were given a recommendation to have dinner here by our hotel. The meal was excellent overall. The wine list was organized by distance from the restaurant. We had the special, wild board.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToddMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
“Dinner and staff are fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I, along with our 6 month old, enjoyed a wonderful evening meal at Nello. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We had gnocchi as our primi, and it was some of the best we've ever had in our two years living in Italy. We shared a very large fillet as a secondo, and it was pretty tasty as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Famiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our hotel, Villa Il Poggiale, reccomended that we enjoy dinner at Nello. We went but were skeptic since you never know about restaurant reviews from your hotel. We arrived at Nello and found our restaurant receptionist on a date and the owner of the hotel enjoying dinner with his family. Immediately, we knew we were in for a treat. And, we were!!! The food was amazing! I had the gnocchi and my husband had the steak florentine plus he had a salad and I had the veggie tart. The food was absolutely amazing! We ate there the following two nights as well, and purchased a bottle of their balsamic vinegar because it was so delicious. We both still have dreams about their food and when we go back to Italy, we will definitely be going there!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nello never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We live just outside of San Casciano and have our pick of excellent restaurants in the area. We keep coming back to Nello because it never disappoints - amazingly fresh ingredients, great wine recs, wonderful staff, warm ambience... We love it! On our last visit I had the artichoke carpaccio followed by the pumpkin gnocchi with cheese and pistachios. Delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cc_ingiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Nello also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Montefiridolfi, San Casciano in Val di Pesa
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Nello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing