We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious wine and snacks”
Review of Tenuta del Palagio

Tenuta del Palagio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tenuta del Palagio is the right place for your Tuscan wine experience. We are proud to receive thousands of visitors every year from all over the world, many of whom participate with enthusiasm to our wine tasting and our wine tours.We are based between Florence and Siena. The estate has different farmhouses with pool where it is possible to stay during holidays. We organise also cooking classes. Tenuta del Palagio has also rooms dedicated to the organization of events and banquets. The winery produces also a fine olive oil, grappa, dessert wines and balsamic vinegars. Our wine shop is open each day.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious wine and snacks”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

A most enjoyable coach tour to a beautiful area. Cellar tour and wine tasting enjoyable but the light meal and wines while making friends with people from far flung corners of the world was superb! Hosting was excellent and the wines magnificent. Thank-you!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennyandJimfromJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our favourite places in the world”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We got married at Castello il Palagio in April 2008, we had 50 guests and had the most magical and memorable wedding of a lifetime. Simone was extremely helpful with everything even helping us with the band for the night and the wedding was seemless from start to finish. We partied into the very small hours and we will never forget it, nor will our guests, who still talk about the venue and the food! Our families stayed locally in the farmhouses and our guests we bused in from Florence. This year we returned with our son for a week staying in the farmhouse, it was every bit as magical...a very simple and basic holiday with great food and wine. Simone and his wife Manuela were as helpful as ever and we have booked to return again next year!....most definitely one of our favourite places in the world.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonriver78, Direttore generale at Tenuta del Palagio, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Helen

Many thanks for your review.

From November 2012 we have changed the name of the winery which actually is "Tenuta del Palagio".

Like you know we do not manage anymore the Castle for wedding from October 2011 because there is a new onwer.
We continue instead to produce fine wines and very good olive oil with the brand "Castello Il Palagio".

Next year we hope to open a wine bar area in our winery, that could be a nice place for tasting our products and eat local snacks.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Wonderful wine tour”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We came with a large group of about 50 people I think unexpectedly, but they still handled us very well and took their time with the tour and the tastings. The grounds were beautiful, the history detailed and fascinating, and the tastings extremely generous. The served meats, cheeses, and biscotti with the wines and gave our table of 7 a full 3 bottles to drink all to ourselves! The woman who gave us our tour was Scottish and fascinating herself - I could listen to her talk for hours!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juliann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a private tour of the castle and a private wine tasting of 9 different wines. Very romantic, and a great deal for the money.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The_DeMattia_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful winery with friendly, helpful staff and great food!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My 80+ year old dad and I visited my daughter in Florence and she booked this winery for a Sunday tour. They are normally closed Sundays but will make arrangements for tours. They are incredibly accommodating and after a snafu with the transportation, they even came and picked us up about a mile away! Anna the tour guide was fun, informative and very knowledgable about their wine and olive oil. There's a castle on the property (we couldn't go in) and the whole history of the winery is fascinating. The food with the tasting was great, and there was no sense of rushing us out the door. The winery can ship any wine back to the states (for a fee, of course), but we opted for 2 bottles of wine and a bottle of olive oil and were able to check it in our luggage. Highly recommend the wine, the tour and Anna!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank JulieO167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenuta del Palagio also viewed

San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tenuta del Palagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing