We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic villa, gorgeous garden and great pool”
Review of Villa Talente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Talente
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic villa, gorgeous garden and great pool”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A really lovely 14th C villa - modernized in the 17th C. The staff were lovely and super helpful. Wonderful views of the Tuscan countryside from the terrace and (infinity) pool side.
A beautiful place to rest and relax - but still only 30 minutes from Florence and not much further to Siena, San Gimignano etc

Room was large and lovely. Separate rooms for the shower and loo - both small but functional. Wifi not reliable everywhere but they do have relays if you really need it.

Breakfast and dinner on the terrace. Dinner slightly chaotic but came together in the end - and tasted great.

Infinity pool is a bit smaller than the pictures make it look - but nevertheless lovely. Great view as noted above and surrounded by a wonderfully fragrant rosemary hedge.

Stayed for 3 nights - would have loved to stay 3 more

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KZ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear KZ B,

We are glad to know that you' have enjoyed our hospitality! Please come again to visit us!

Yours sincerely,

Giovanni
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    28
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
48
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay in this villa was great. When you walk around in the villa you can really see and feel the history. There are some fresco's left from a couple of hundred years ago and they still have the old machines that used to make wine. It's really cool to see. The view is amazing, specially on the panoramic terrace when the sun sets. The pool is nice and our room was also fine. We stayed in the vernaccia room and had a big shower and a very nice view. The rooms aren't airconditioned, that wouldn't fit in the old look, they do have a fan which is fine. The staff is very friendly, we often got a glass of wine or grappa offered by the house at night. The only 'complaint' I have is the communication between the staff and the guests. Andrea told us they wanted us to feel like we were in our own house and not in an hotel. This perspective is great, but we would have liked to be treated as guests a little bit more when it comes to information about activities. Before we arrived we got an email that said there would be an opportunity to do a cooking class in the villa, that there was a restaurant and that there would be artists performing on some nights. We didn't see any of these things. Also we had to find out ourselves that we could use the fridge and that there was a minibar upstairs, no one told us. Same goes for dinner at night, some nights there was a bbq that you could join, other nights there was nothing (BBQ very expensive though, 35 euros) But again no information about that. It didn't make our stay any less pleasant, but they are points of improval :)

The villa is very pretty and it's so quiet. U only hear the crickets. For us it was a great place to relax after all the city trips and busy Rome.

Furthermore the villa lies in a small town from where you can easily drive to Florence (30 min), Siena or Lucca (45 min). All in all I would recommend this place for sure!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelissaScholing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good evening Melissa,

Thank you for your review. All the activities: restaurant, painting classes, massages, cooking classes, are possible upon reservation. You could have come to ask us anytime in the office!

As for the artists it is a shame you've missed the last performance! Last week we've had a local band from Florence and the guests who attended were really satisfied.

Thank you and I hope to see you again!

Giovanni
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Talente has a great atmosphere and Andre and his family were lovely. My 12 year old son loved it here as it was away from the hustle and bustle of crowds and museums. There were a few issues with the chef on the first night but this only added to our experience...pots and pans flying around in the kitchen and drama but that this place was authentic with real people, real emotions and that is what we liked about it. The food we did have was excellent, although portions a little on the small side. Breakfast was great with yoghurt, croissants juiced fruits. People staying at this hotel were really friendly and I made some firm friends here. The rooms were not air conditioned and there were Mosquitos which were mean. There was a fan which was fine. The old farm house was cool enough anyhow because of its construction. The drive into the town of San Casiciano was a little bit further than I would have liked with some good restaurants but not enough choice for me. There were not places to walk greatly in the countryside which was a shame. It would be a great lace to stay if you wanted to drive to a restaurant each night in the countryside and try a new wine. I was restricted because I was the only adult driver so I felt a bit trapped after a while and wanted to explore further afield and have more variety in restaurants than the town had. Our room was ok and had a great view but was at the back and the windows had bars on them which spoilt the view a little. I think this is because we were a twin room rather than a double or triple. The beds were fairly comfortable and the shower was good. There was no option for us to eat there at lunch as it was assumed you would be out and about, which most people were. We stayed for 5 days but I would probably have been happier with 3. Having said this we really loved our stay and would come back again. Food and drinks on site a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the poolside but not the end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMountainsSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Wow it is very detailed! Thank you for your review!
Yes it is true, we are normal people, with our upsides and downsides and with a great passion for our place and for our job!

See you soon in Villa Talente,

Giovanni
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

First of all the house is amazing! It's a 14th century villa that sits on a huge plot of land filled with olive trees and vineyards! And that's exactly our view from our room! Amazing!
You can see that the house has a lot of history in winemaking (the wine that they produce for the villa is great btw) a lot of old machines are still here, a old wine press, a olive crusher for making oil and the wine cellar with old barrels!
The pool is wonderful, the breakfast is great, the room is hot but beautiful and the staff is really nice (Andrea is always in for bit of fun)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Danny,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We hope to have you here again as our guest in the next future!

Giovanni
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well, we had some problems finding the villa. The house is on the main road, but our navigation system brought us exactly to a cemetery first. After that, try to imagine that we found the villa, stop the car right in the front of the gate and push the button that rings the bell. The gates slowly opened (automatically) and we entered the car in a small courtyard, right next to a huge old house. The gates closed automatically.... not a soul there, not a move, no car, just opened doors. My 14 years daughter said then: "creeeepy!"
Actually, its not creepy at all, but you have to get used to that old house. I mean, we visited newer museums than this villa.The rooms have all the comfort you need, but all comes with the cost of the old walls, old windows, old floor covered by bricks and the smell of oldness. The bathroom has all the needed facilities, do not worry. Going to the room (at the first floor) ment that we had to go thru multiple stairs, halls and common rooms, each of them different. There are 2 nice saloons on the level floor, with realy great fire places. I mean, bigger than me! I saw something like that only in Versailles.
The courtyard is very nice, also the pool area. But the view its great. You can see the full essence of Tuskany there. Hills covered by vineyards and olive trees, valleys covered by green trees and somewhere lower, a small river slowly runs thru the valleys. Along the river there is a path that allows you to run, walk or go with the bicycle, many kilometers. The path is smooth, without big level differences, a delight to use it. We reach to a local food and beverages store where locals had their lunch. We shared a beer on the local terrace - a true experience among the locals. Nice!
The breakfast at the villa was good, varied enough, but quite the same on all 3 mornings we stayed. When the weather didn't allow the breakfast on the courtyard, we took it on a hall like the old knights did... We didn't have dinner at the villa, it was a little over our budget, but we bought wine and olive oil made in the house. I mean, we bought Chianti from the producer!
Wi-fi was only on the level floor, good enough.
Very nice personnel, but if you need directions on the region, ask Andrea about that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciprian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Ciprian,

Thank you for your review and your choice of coming to visit us whilst in Tuscany. The villa is in fact very old and since the 14th century many people have come here, like you, to spend their holidays in the Chianti region. We can actually feel the presence of history among us and it is really a pleasure for us to have helped you in experiencing this!

Have a nice day,

Giovanni
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had the opportuity to visit the villa ad stay on for dinner. We remaind very impressed by the service and the resident chef's tastebud tickling recipes.
The place is gorgeous and lands itself beautifully as a backdrop to a glass of wine at sunset.
We really appreciated the selectionn of wines proposed and the personal attention given.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessioComneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie Alessio della tua recensione!

Roberto e lo staff della cucina, insieme al nostro direttore Andrea, saranno molto contenti di sapere che il loro impegno è stato premiato! Vi aspettiamo ancora in Villa per gustare una ottima cena insieme a noi.

Buona giornata,

Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nederland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in this house (they specifically do not call it a hotel :)) for four nights and we loved every part of it. I loved the view from the room, looking out on the lovely garden with olives and fruits. The personel is helpful and the dinner that we had was an unforgettable experience with nice other guests and good food. It is a good starting point for visiting cities like Florence, Siena, San Gamignano and for doing a car tour throughout Tuscany! Don't forget to visit Luca and Northern Tuscany when you are visiting the area, this house would be a good goal to ride to when you want to visit the central Tuscan villages and cities. i loved reading while looking out of the window and both me and my man loved every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni265, Responsabile reception at Villa Talente, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you Judith for you nice review! We really hope to have you here again as our guest!

Greetings from Andrea as well!

Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
1.0 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
765 reviews
20.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tenuta il Corno
Tenuta il Corno
#1 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Relais Poggio Borgoni
#2 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Mangiacane
Villa Mangiacane
#5 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Talente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Talente

Property: Villa Talente
Address: Via Empolese 107 | Località Talente, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded Chianti vineyards, Villa Talente is set in a restored 13th century villa. It offers an infinity pool, and luxury rooms with antique furnishings. Florence is a 30-minute drive away.All rooms at Villa Talente have terracotta floors and satellite TV. Each room provides an elegant private bathroom, equipped with hairdryer and toiletries. Some rooms feature wood-beamed ceilings and exposed brickwork.Breakfast at the Talente includes homemade cake and local fruit. It is served in the villa's kitchen, which still has the original medieval fireplace.Guests are free to explore the extensive ground, which host an old chapel and vestry, a paved courtyard and a loggia terrace. The infinity pool is heated, and offers panoramic views of the Tuscan countryside.Villa Talente is 36 miles north of Siena, and an 80-minute drive from Livorno. The estate provides free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Villa Talente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Talente San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing