We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic even with three kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Romantic even with three kids!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

What a wonderfull weekend away we had at Villa il Poggiale. We stayed with three little kids, but the villa is so 'grand' that you feel you are not disturbing other guest at all. The kids could have dinner early and go to bed, while we had a romantic dinner just the two of us. Florence is just 15 minutes away. Just loved it. Thanks Monica and Lucca.

Simona Hoffman

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, room ten and also room 11. This was a lot of space. Only the junior suite wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Dear Beautifull family,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in this corner of Tuscany that you seems to love and we'll never stop to do our best to make our guests stay as pleasant for you as it is for us.

Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    172
    29
    24
    11
See reviews for
143
448
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing holiday at the Villa il Poggiale. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and the service is discrete. We particularly liked the bedroom and the lounge with honesty bar, which made you feel at home, and the library is lovely place to read late at night. We were pleased to have dined at the Villa on the first night as there was a tasty Tuscan buffet with a good selection of local wines. The location is ideal for exploring Chianti by car and we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the grounds will be quieter and have a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Is the most beautiful words that can tell our customers: "how to be home"...
We really thank you for your reviews, it makes all of us glad when our guests are happy and enjoy their stay!
We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Villa il Poggiale in August 2011 and had high expectations. We were not dissapointed! The staff were exceptional and the property was stunning. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great and had its own private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolenbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Special couple,

We thank you for your nice review and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality and service.
Come back for your next wedding anniversary, we will be glad to make your stay even more memorable!!!!
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I booked this property for a number of reasons, and while I knew it was 17k's out of Florence we were assured that a bus ride from the city to the local town and a taxi from there would deliver us to the Villa. Unfortunately for us travellers that dont speak Italian we were dropped off in the wrong place and was informed after lots of hard work that taxis will not travel from florence to San Casciano. Fortunately a very helpful bar owner with help from his teenage daughter finally got in contact with the villa who sent a car to pick up 2 weary travellers.

On arrival the room we booked was not available, but were assured we could move to it the next day. (we were still charged the suite rate even though we didn't sleep in it) The room we were given was on the top floor and faced the road, Yes it was loud, thank god for ear plugs, but I found that the heat on the top floor was more unbearable than the noise of the road given that heat rises and that the air conditioner while it makes lots of noise produces no cold air.

I agree with other reviews the food is pretty average and after the first night we catered for ourselves from the local COOP, breakfast sadly is very average.

Our new room the next day was on the bottom floor with no road noise, The suite was roomy and very comfortable, though I have to admit being woken up at 10.30pm with 30 mins of fireworks from the roof top was a shook and we would have loved to have been informed or even invited..

Overall we would not stay again, just because it wasn't in a great location to explore the region

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Sir,

There is a moment in life when you are called by your sensitivity to re-examine your behavior, your results and your expectations. Sometimes you are too tired and stressed to be able to do that and someone roughly from outside does it for you . You did that: It was very difficult for me, but also very useful and something which will help me and my wonderful staff to overcome difficulties and dedicate all our energy to the improvement of the place we love so much.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at Villa il Poggiale at the end of a 2 week honeymoon. We started in Florence ( we were married there!), from Florence we went down by Cortona and then ended back up to the Chianti area for the last 3 nights at Villa il Poggiale.

When we arrived at the villa we were not thrilled with the location. It has good views in the back, but it is off a VERY busy and VERY loud road. Other people have commented on this on TripAdvisor, but I have no idea how everyone does not say something. You heard road noise 24 hours a day. Our room was beautiful ( Tuscan Villa Jr. Suite ) but the road noise ruined it. You heard the traffic everywhere...at your table for breakfast, at the pool in the afternoon and up in the room at night and early morning was the worst. It was NOT subtle. It was a deal breaker. I am shocked people don't mention this more often. I would never tell a friend to come here on that issue alone.

Outside of the road noise, the villa was just OK for the price we paid. It was a bit run down and shabby and the grounds were not as nice as the photos make them appear. The pool was nice. The spa was OK...not great. To be honest it was the least favorite ( by far ) of all the places we stayed in our 2 week trip. If you have another option, I would suggest another villa that is more charming and does not have road noise. Also, the village this villa is located near is more modern than historic in look and that is a bit off- putting as well. About the only thing it has going for it is a decent location for day tripping, but there are MANY other options in the area.

The food ( breakfast ) was the worst we had in Italy. Very, very basic. The quality of the food seemed cheap ( meats in particular ) and nothing seemed fresh or homemade. Every other place we stayed had very good quality breakfast and helpful service. Not here.

The owner, Monica was very chilly and never even said hi to us the entire time we were there even when she was walking right by us! This place is not large...so it was very odd and rude. Not the type of behavior we encountered anywhere else in Italy. Other people have commented on this as well on Tripadvisor.

The most memorable part of our stay was the cooking class with Anna. She was terrific, warm and charming and we had a great time learning how to cook from her. By far the best part of our stay.

Overall we would not stay here again. It is not worth the $$ they ask and there are so many other great options in the area.

Side note:
The two other places we stayed, IL Guelfo Bianco in Florence and LeTerre Dei Cavlieri on the outskirts of Cortona, were much nicer and much more welcoming. Their properties were spotless, charming and were a great value. They were much, much nicer than Villa Poggiale on every level. A special note about Le Terre Dei Cavlieri. That place was AMAZING. Impeccable grounds, beautiful views, wonderful, romantic rooms, incredible inn keepers, great food. If you are ever in the Cortona area you MUST stay there...I cannot express in words how wonderful that property is and it is HALF the price of Villa Poggiale. Not many people know about it...so go before they raise their prices! It's truly a magical place. Go there!!
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g187894-d1176951-Reviews-Le_Terre_dei_Cavalieri-Cortona_Province_of_Arezzo_Tuscany.html

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carriebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Sir,

There is a moment in life when you are called by your sensitivity to re-examine your behavior, your results and your expectations. Sometimes you are too tired and stressed to be able to do that and someone roughly from outside does it for you . You did that: It was very difficult for me, but also very useful and something which will help me and my wonderful staff to overcome difficulties and dedicate all our energy to the improvement of the place we love so much.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in the Villa il Poggiale a week ago. It is a lovely Villa about 30 minutes drive from Florence. We did not receive the rooms requested and unfortunately they emailed us two days before we arrived (we were already in transit) that there would be a wedding at the Villa and we could not use the dining room, swimming pool, lobby, spa or any of the common areas on the Saturday 11am to 3am the next day and we were to use the side entrance. This left us feeling a bit 2nd class and a bit like prisoners in our own rooms. The hotel never once said it was “sorry for any inconvenience" or gave us any other options. If we had more warning we would have booked elsewhere. The hotel management should have made the “non wedding” guests feel more welcomed and not like we were in their way. This was very unfortunate, because the Villa itself is very lovely and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It just made our stay in Tuscany a little less of what we expected. As a side note the strong potpourri smells all around the Villa was a bit much and made a couple of the ladies with us feel a bit uncomfortable at times.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding on before you book or you will not be able to use any of the amenities or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwineandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Sir,

There is a moment in life when you are called by your sensitivity to re-examine your behavior, your results and your expectations. Sometimes you are too tired and stressed to be able to do that and someone roughly from outside does it for you . You did that: It was very difficult for me, but also very useful and something which will help me and my wonderful staff to overcome difficulties and dedicate all our energy to the improvement of the place we love so much.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell Hill, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Villa il Poggiale with 6 other couples. The property is lovely--so typical of a Tuscan villa with beautiful views. However, most in our group were very disappointed in our treatment by management. Checkin was hectic and took literally hours since our room assignments weren't as promised. My husband and I were to have a superior room, but we were given a classic room which was smaller with a tub/shower combo rather than separate. Two other couples were told that they would share an apartment, but were unhappily surprised to find that one of the bedrooms could only be accessed by walking through the first bedroom, thus no privacy! Our daily breakfast didn't live up to the description given on the website not to mention the photos. The manager was rude and argumentative and seemed to be more interested in the large bus tour group that arrived after our group did. Some of our group actually returned to the villa after a day of touring to find that their belongings had been removed from their rooms and relocated to two other rooms in order to accommodate the bus tour group. No permission had been asked or given for that move! On another day, a sign was posted in the loggia telling guests that we would not be allowed access to any hotel amenities from 11am until 3am due to a wedding on the property and that we would have to enter the hotel by the back entrance when returning on that evening. In short, if management changed and brushed up on her customer service skills, we might consider returning to this property. Otherwise, we will look for another accommodation in the future.

Room Tip: If you want to take a chance on this hotel, be sure you have recent documentation from management as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Anne,

I was shocked and really sad in reading your comment on tripadvisor.
Analyzing my many mistakes I think that the first one was to dedicate a lot of time to settle and arrange guests with you, also giving lots of options, instead of taking daily and constant care of your and ( my!) guests directly.
This error was repeated when I informed you about the unpleasant need of room changing for the two couple and I implied that you had informed them about it.
I’m also very sorry to have appeared too busy with the other groups and not welcoming and helpful with your guests: I take responsibility for that (and I really wish that the complain would be only about me and not my wonderful staff), because to be tired and overwhelmed by the events is not an excuse but a fault of mine. I also regret to have given this impression because I found your group particularly nice and friendly and I hope at least some of them have felt my attitude.
Malgré tout I really hope to see you here again and have a chance to change your opinion, trying to give you a wonderful memory of this place.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
16.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing