We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were looking forward to beautiful Tuscan views, food and hospitality and we weren't disappointed. Perfect location , extremely friendly and helpful hosts ( could not refer to them as staff as made to feel at home). Food very good Tuscan dishes. Our rooms were very spacious and very clean. You were able to relax in the grounds, walks nearby or tour the beautifil towns and villages in the fabulaous countryside. Excellent advice given on were to go and how to get there, even best places to park when you got there. Family consisted of 4 adults, who enjoyed the company of other visitors and will plan to visit Il Poggialeagain.

Room Tip: They have a seperate villa, La Fonte, fabulous hideaway with all the comforts of the main villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to read your review which is full of warmth and good memories of your stay with us.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    172
    30
    24
    11
See reviews for
146
454
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Delighted with our experience : location is easy travelling distance to lots of great places to visit; villa has plenty of places where, if one wishes, one can sit away from other guests ( who were a broad selection of nationalities and ages, which added to the experience) with a glass of chianti and enjoy the scenery; pool was very clean and not overused; our room was spacious and very comfortable and clean; all the staff all excellent. Happy to recommend to others. From our arrival when we were personally greeted by Daniele and given a brief `tour` of the Villa to when we left with helpful suggestions of alternative routes back to the airport our stay was very pleasurable.
We ate one evening at the villa and found the buffet very good. Other times we chose to eat in San Casciano, a few minutes away by car. The staff were happy to book a table for us at a recommended restaurant when asked. We found the local restaurants reasonable value for money.
Wifi reception was patchy when needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to read your review which is full of warmth and good memories of your stay with us.
We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!

Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The villa is beautiful and very well presented however our room didn't match the beautiful surroundings. This was a big disappointment given all the great reviews and comments. We have booked a superior room which was very small, had visible damp and paint coming off the ceiling in the walk-in wardrobe space. The bathroom was quite large but again very basic feel in comparison to beautiful images on the website. However once you step out of the room you are welcomed by beautiful views and a relaxing atmosphere. The location is great for visiting Florence, San Gimignano and nearby vineyards. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice.
Overall the place is beautiful and would have got full marks if the quality of the room matched the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comment even if some of your words are not the ones we would like to hear.

However I thank you for bringing it to my attention . It was difficult for me, but also very useful and something which will help me and my staff to overcome difficulties and dedicate all our energy to the improvement of the place we love so much.

I’m pleased that you have chosen Villa il Poggiale and I’m very sad if your stay has not reached your expectations. It would be wonderful if you would give us another chance.

Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica











I’m pleased that you have chosen VIP and I’m very sad if your stay has not reached your expectations. It would be wonderful if you would give us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I enjoyed this place. Good location for northern Tuscany; short distance to Florence and San Gimignano. The area is beautiful. The management was very accommodating and helpful. I really enjoyed my room and was not disappointed. Had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed it. I would recommend eating there as I am not sure that there is many restaurants in the small village nearby.

Enjoyed meeting and talking with all the international people that stayed at the villa. The breakfast was ok.

One huge improvement that could be made is to have wifi in the rooms. The library is the only place you can get wifi and sometimes it is spotty there, otherwise it is very nice and a good value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thanks a lot for your comment.
We really enjoyed your stay with us and so glad that it was the same for you!
We'll try to improve the service even though wi-fi in a Renaissance villa with thick walls is difficult to obtain an excellent result.
Come back soon to visit us
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Fantastic villa, wonderful staff, fantastic views, brilliant atmosphere. This was our first visit to Tuscany and we will be back and we will certainly be back to this hotel. The staff were wonderful and friendly, the food and wine excellent. The location was excellent far enough into the country to be peaceful but ideally placed for touring the Chianti area. Dont miss the sunsets ! and enjoy the ambiance of the lounge.
Thanks for making it a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our rooom was on the lower ground floor and was very cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Sirs,

So happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa il Poggiale.
Thanks a lot for your comment and come back soon to visit us.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Impressive villa could have been very good but let down by management. Funny attitudes to such things as pushing the awful house wines rather than encourage sampling of some fantastic Tuscan wines.we travelled in a big group , meals were not up to the fantastic quality other places we visited. We were promised the whole villa to ourselves but other rooms were subsequently booked out, laundry costs were under quoted, bit shonky. San casino is a nice place but travel to Florence is difficult, no train, variable bus time tables. Would need a car. Would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear guest,

I am rather surprised and very sorry if you felt "pushed" towards the house wines (which by the way are generally appreciated). In fact we do have a wide choice of wines both from the Antinori and the Corsini's cellars.

We are sorry that you have experienced problems with transportation. Despite the fact that we are quite close to Florence, only 17 km, and it normally only takes 20 minutes to reach town, we are still in the countryside. This has of course upsides (fresher air, quieter place) and downsides like the one you mentioned. Unfortunately at the moment we didn' have the luck to get a train coming here and only rely on busses.

Bus routes are quite frequent but as they are using normal roads and highways they could be also delayed by the traffic.

We are always very upset when (luckily very seldom) people do not fully enjoy their stay and we apologize for every inconvenient you might have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

it is the best place to enjoy Tuscany. Place is beautiful, friendly people and the breakfast is superb! great place for families, my children enjoyed meeting other children, swimming in the pool and playing ping pong. Locaton is also excellent for Exploring the area.
great place, thanks you to all the staff.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nico6122000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Sirs,

It is people like you, it is your sincere words of praise which make our efforts and our job rewarding.
We thank you and look forward to have you here again.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
535 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
594 reviews
16.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
15.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing