We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

You can't ask for more with this place! Amazing views, historic charm! We had the best room in the house and they were fantastic! Heaven! Try their on site dinner. My only complaint is that the wireless does not work well in their rooms.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.

Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make your stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
We are going to improve also the wi-fi connectio even if in a Renaissance villa by huge walls is hard to get an excellent connection.

With our best wishes and thanks from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for our friends wedding recently and I have to say that we were a bit disappointed. Yes the villa is beautiful enough with great views. The rooms are nice enough although they didn't really explain why they gave us the back room, next to the staff resting area when all our other friends were staying in the main building. The room itself was fine, just that we were a bit isolated. The breakfast is ok, nothing to talk about, nothing special, just your usual breakfast items. But what makes this place ok and not great is the people who work there. The Italian/English older lady who works there was not pleasant at all. That was actually the comment from many of our friends at the wedding. When our friend who thought the taxis were booked to take him to another hotel after the wedding, because they were staying elsewhere, asked to call a cab, her response was, "there are NO taxis, where do you think this is, New York City?" She wasn't joking either. I mean there may have been a misunderstanding in organizing the taxi with the wedding couple in advance but she totally didn't have to respond like that. Also, there is an honor bar system in the main hall of the place. When we went to get drinks a few times and you're suppose to write down what you had so they can charge it to your room, she basically followed us in and out and watched over us like we were going to steal something. If you have an honor bar system that you put in place, because you 'trust' people and you don't have enough staff to service the drinks, maybe you should actually trust the guests or else, just have a real bar with real staff. I mean, I'm sure there's people who abuse it but its the hotels choice and its not fair to treat everyone else who are actually trying to be honest, like a criminal. During the few days we stayed there, we always saw multiple staff smoking and lounging outside at the tables next to the guests. I find that kind of unprofessional that the chefs and staff are smoking and hanging out next to the guests in the guest area. There is also no service, zero service by the pool. No one to ask for a towel or a drink or order lunch from, but there are multiple staff smoking and lounging next to the restaurant just upstairs from the pool area.
Overall, if the hotel can work on their service, this could be a much better place. At the end of the day, that's what really makes a difference.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kohsamui_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

Our hotel set out to be a friendly and familiar location to spend time to relax as one would do in their own home where the guests feel free to move about as they wish.
The fact that you found your accomodation ok and nothing special is a matter of taste. As for our breakfasts I cannot imagine how many more things we can offer to reach your level of expectation.
The allocation of the rooms is entirely up to the bride and groom who themselves make up the rooming list so no blame for this can be made to the hotel. About feeling as though you were being watched by this "elderly Engllish/Italian lady when you were serving yourself at the Honesty Bar I can only think you were feeling guiltly about your own honesty. As you pointed out you were guests at a wedding and as such preperations would have to be made to prepare for such an event, therefore passage of staff through the area of the Honesty Bar was inevetible. Now regarding the matter of the Taxi.
I take full responsibility and I apologize. It was meant to be humorous.
At 3.30am in the Chianti countryside it is quite impossible to find a taxi.
Your friend was aware of the fact that he would need a taxi so why was it left until that hour to ask for one.

I do take note of your remarks about staff lounging in areas where the guests are and I have already taken steps to eliminate this occurance.

As I mentioned at the begining of this reply our aim is to be a family hotel. As such just like at home you find your own way to the fridge for a drink or to get a towel from your room. Towels are provided in all the rooms for use at the pool. If you found that you didn't have one in your room it only needed a call to reception to have one provided.

We are always very upset when (luckily very seldom) people do not fully enjoy their stay and we apologize for every inconvenient.

Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite for four nights in early September 2013.
The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained, probably one of the best hotels that we have stayed in Tuscany
The room was large, clean comfortable,and very quiet with an incredible view of the countryside.
The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful when it came to deciding on day trips.
The location is centrally located making day trips to Florence, Siena, etc very convenient without the need to spend hours in the car.
The restaurants in nearby San Casciano, which were minutes away by car, were excellent quality with great service
I would definitely return to Villa Il Poggiale.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allanjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Sirs,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Il Poggiale and look forward to having you with us soon.

With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were looking forward to beautiful Tuscan views, food and hospitality and we weren't disappointed. Perfect location , extremely friendly and helpful hosts ( could not refer to them as staff as made to feel at home). Food very good Tuscan dishes. Our rooms were very spacious and very clean. You were able to relax in the grounds, walks nearby or tour the beautifil towns and villages in the fabulaous countryside. Excellent advice given on were to go and how to get there, even best places to park when you got there. Family consisted of 4 adults, who enjoyed the company of other visitors and will plan to visit Il Poggialeagain.

Room Tip: They have a seperate villa, La Fonte, fabulous hideaway with all the comforts of the main villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to read your review which is full of warmth and good memories of your stay with us.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Delighted with our experience : location is easy travelling distance to lots of great places to visit; villa has plenty of places where, if one wishes, one can sit away from other guests ( who were a broad selection of nationalities and ages, which added to the experience) with a glass of chianti and enjoy the scenery; pool was very clean and not overused; our room was spacious and very comfortable and clean; all the staff all excellent. Happy to recommend to others. From our arrival when we were personally greeted by Daniele and given a brief `tour` of the Villa to when we left with helpful suggestions of alternative routes back to the airport our stay was very pleasurable.
We ate one evening at the villa and found the buffet very good. Other times we chose to eat in San Casciano, a few minutes away by car. The staff were happy to book a table for us at a recommended restaurant when asked. We found the local restaurants reasonable value for money.
Wifi reception was patchy when needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to read your review which is full of warmth and good memories of your stay with us.
We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!

Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The villa is beautiful and very well presented however our room didn't match the beautiful surroundings. This was a big disappointment given all the great reviews and comments. We have booked a superior room which was very small, had visible damp and paint coming off the ceiling in the walk-in wardrobe space. The bathroom was quite large but again very basic feel in comparison to beautiful images on the website. However once you step out of the room you are welcomed by beautiful views and a relaxing atmosphere. The location is great for visiting Florence, San Gimignano and nearby vineyards. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice.
Overall the place is beautiful and would have got full marks if the quality of the room matched the price paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comment even if some of your words are not the ones we would like to hear.

However I thank you for bringing it to my attention . It was difficult for me, but also very useful and something which will help me and my staff to overcome difficulties and dedicate all our energy to the improvement of the place we love so much.

I’m pleased that you have chosen Villa il Poggiale and I’m very sad if your stay has not reached your expectations. It would be wonderful if you would give us another chance.

Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica











I’m pleased that you have chosen VIP and I’m very sad if your stay has not reached your expectations. It would be wonderful if you would give us another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I enjoyed this place. Good location for northern Tuscany; short distance to Florence and San Gimignano. The area is beautiful. The management was very accommodating and helpful. I really enjoyed my room and was not disappointed. Had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed it. I would recommend eating there as I am not sure that there is many restaurants in the small village nearby.

Enjoyed meeting and talking with all the international people that stayed at the villa. The breakfast was ok.

One huge improvement that could be made is to have wifi in the rooms. The library is the only place you can get wifi and sometimes it is spotty there, otherwise it is very nice and a good value for the money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thanks a lot for your comment.
We really enjoyed your stay with us and so glad that it was the same for you!
We'll try to improve the service even though wi-fi in a Renaissance villa with thick walls is difficult to obtain an excellent result.
Come back soon to visit us
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
584 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
652 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel di sor Paolo
Hotel di sor Paolo
#2 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
501 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
14.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £73 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing