We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave away my room and tried to charge more for suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I emailed regarding booking a room but they would delay 2 or 3 days in response. Once I agreed on a room which I needed WIFI during the stay and asked to book it. They did not respond for three days then they said my type of room was not available and suggested I move up to a suite for more money. I checked online and the superior room I requested in the first place was still available but Monica from the hotel said there were no more superior rooms and demanded that I can only book a junior suite or suite. I have not even booked a room yet and they are already trying to charge me more, I would really be careful if I booked here, if they would change your room or try to charge extra. There are other reviews here that say that Monica was rude and service was bad so its so true.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sadie3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Sirs,

I’m very hurt that your words reached us , during our closing months, before you have met us and know the villa and ourselves.
Your comment has injured me deeply as I have thought to be doing all that is possible to offer the best solution for your requirements as per my answer here below :

“I don’t want upset you, I just would like to offer you a better and more comfortable bedroom for three persons.
However we can still offer a Double Superior at Euro 190,00 plus Euro 30,00 for the child”

I’m not in the habit of being dishonest. The only difference in price which my colleague omitted to inform you is the cost for your child.


I hope that you understand from our position and decide to stay with us
Sincerely yours,

Villa Il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I can not say enough good things about this beautiful hotel! My husband and I came to Italy for our honeymoon. We booked a hotel in Chianti via booking.com and though it had amazing reviews, when we arrived the hotel was awful. This left my husband and I in need of finding a hotel to stay for our 5 days in Tuscany at the last minute. We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and drove out to see it after calling the receptionist to make sure they had rooms available. The receptionist, Daniel, stayed late to greet us and after we decided to book a room he lent us his personal GPS to drive back to our old hotel and pick up our suitcases. When we got to Villa Il Poggiale, he had left a bottle of wine and food in our room as a way to welcome us. Our stay just got better from there. The hotel is beautiful in the exact way you want a Tuscany hotel to be with old world rooms with modern comforts. You feel like you're staying in a villa; it is truly amazing. The town of San Casciano that the hotel is located in is close to Florence, Siena and many other hillside towns. My husband and I are so very grateful that we ended up here because of everywhere we stayed in Italy (and were there for 3 weeks), this ended up being our very favorite location. We will DEFINITELY be coming back!!! Also, if you visit, buy a can of their olive oil. They make it there and it's amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Sirs,

We really appreciated your message and we thank you for your words.
All the warmest wishes from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Feeling of being in a Tuscan home, albeit a grand one, combined with great service. Made to fell like part of the family. Each room has unique design. Great location, gorgeous views, wonderful staff.

We had our wedding with 40 guests and everyone is still talking about the "fairy tale" experience at Poggiale

We will make sure every visit to Tuscany includes a stop at Villa il Poggiale.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We hope to try them all...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miniamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Friends

I hope you have all settled down into your daily routines after such a wonderful wedding party.
We all enjoyed your wedding, for us it was just as like being one of your guests.
It was a pleasure helping you to fulfill your wishes…
You came to us as strangers and you left as friends.
Thank you to everyone and may you continue on your journey sharing this happiness

Villa il Poggiale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A one night stay here was not enough - an amazing Renaissance Villa, set in beautiful gardens which we would have liked to have had time to explore, stunning rooms, great breakfast and the buffet dinner we had on our late arrival at 8pm was more than we expected. Anna was a delight - loved her accent. A great place to use as a base for exploring Tuscany. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards
Villa Il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Twelve months preparation for a huge European trip meant everything researched on the Internet - Villa Il Poggiale looked just right for us to enjoy our first experience of Tuscany. Everything about the Villa was exceptional, starting with that vital first impression as you drive through those gates - this really is Tuscany; and the views from the driveway are just great. But the real pleasures start on arrival, with the most attentive and caring staff we have ever met, and the room actually exceeded our expectations. The entire "package" is top drawer, including an "honesty" bar, with everything possible available with just a little form to complete to indicate consumption. The staff were so helpful in every respect including negotiating a more reasonable car hire than I had researched and making excellent suggestions for day trips (including where to park for free in Florence!!). We booked this wonderful place on the basis that it was a "Bed & Breakfast", but every night there is a sumptuous meal available should you not wish to venture out to the village - it was exceptional traditional Tuscan food where it was easy to make friends with other guests. As we live in outback Australia, it is unlikely we will ever be able to return, but would not hesitate to recommend this property to any discerning traveller.

Room Tip: There are stairs throughout the property, but as long as that doesn't present a problem the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Sirs,

We really appreciated your comment .
All the warmest wishes from all of us.
Villa il Poggiale Team
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

First visit two years ago and rated excellent. Second visit gave us no reason to change that rating. We love Villa il Poggiale. The rooms, the setting, the wonderful staff, the access to so many other wonderful places in the Tuscany region... And, considering all, very affordable. The food is great, plus you have close access to wonderful restaurants in San Casciano. We will return to Italy, and il Poggiale will always be a part of our visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06MellowYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear sirs,

It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards.
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A last minute booking found us at this Villa. What an amazing place! We had a suite of rooms that were beyond all expectations. Beautiful 4 poster bed and stunning furniture. We arrived late and so went straight to the dining room where we enjoyed a sumptuous buffet and fabulous house wine. Breakfast was also a delight. Anna was a breath of Scottish fresh air. It was a privilege to have stayed in such a wonderful villa. Would have liked to have made this as our base to tour the Chianti region but sadly it was booked out. Definitely recommend Villa Il Poggiale.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WenKerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your kind review and we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Villa and our service.
We really hope to have you here again in the next future not too far.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,048 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
5.3 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £70 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing