We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place and views”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Just come back from 5 day trip to Tuscany and had a wonderful stay here. Must admit when first got there was concerned about the noise from the road that ran right outside our room (number 4) but soon got used to it and whilst would have been nice to have a view as was advertised as being highlight of most of Country Superior Rooms, the room itself more than made up for the initial disappointment and actually our room was more peaceful as was away from rest of hotel. Breakfast each morning was a joy and the facilities and staff were excellent. A truly wonderful place and brilliant base for exploring such a beautiful part of a fantastic country. Thank you to all for a great stay :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

We are happy that you enjoyed Villa il Poggiale despite the first impression.
We always do our best to make our guests' stay memorable and enjoyable.
Come back soon and we will book for you a room a little further away from the road.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    167
    28
    24
    11
See reviews for
141
435
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was a perfect start to our Italy trip.. Some of best views of the valley made me fall in love with the place as soon as we landed there. You have to see it to beleive it. The front desk staff is very helpful and made every effort to make our trip most memorable...gave us some excellent recommendations for places to visit and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSanghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to all of us, we are so happy when our guests appreciate our efforts and enjoy their stay.
We really hope to welcome you again soon at Villa il Poggiale.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May/beginning of June. The Villa is very charming and has a lovely view.The rooms are nice and the bathrooms are large and look brand new.

Few things to note- our navigation system did not find the actual address - just look out for the signs
Breakfast can be very crowded if the weather is bad and you cannot sit outside, so plan in a bit of time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sirs,

Your comments have been a great help and we’ll do our best to make good use of them.
I’m pleased that you have chosen VIP for your stay and it would be a pleasure for us to meet you here again….we’ll try to make your stay even better.
Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

While the directions on the website are poor & I would recommend using a Sat Nav, the villa is exemplary.
For a peaceful break, a wedding or just a place to stay while seeing Florence and Siena this will fulfil your needs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sirs,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the Poggiale 's atmosphere and join us in our love for this special place, it makes us feeling our efforts are really worthwhile!

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I got married here at the end of May. We had about 50 guests who were all wowed by the beautiful location, stunning villa and the exceptional staff. I cannot praise the staff enough who went well out of their way to accommodate our needs - special mention to Monica and Anna who are a credit to the villa and worked tirelessly to make our day perfect. There were so many personal touches it really set our wedding apart from other 'destination weddings'
Aside from this the food is excellent - I think I've gained about half a stone!
I cannot recommend this place enough and we will definitely be returning for our anniversary next year and we cannot wait!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful but room 10 is very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSeretny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sirs,

I hope you have all settled down into your daily routines after such a wonderful wedding party.
We all enjoyed your wedding, for us it was just as like being one of your guests.
It was a pleasure helping you to fulfill your wishes…
You came to us as strangers and you left as friends.

Thank you to everyone and may you continue on your journey sharing this happiness.

Warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved this place! The view, the location, the staff, the food, the service, the atmosphere, the price, the room... We wished we could have stayed longer, and we want to return in the summer one day (we were there in the spring). My only concern - not a complaint - was that our beautifully modern and clean bathroom was set one step down from the rest of our groundlevel room and I was a bit worried that I would stumble there during night time bathroom trips. We enjoyed watching the sunset, walking the country roads, and visiting nearby Florence (with excellent parking advice from the villa staff). We had one evening meal in the villa dining room, and it was delicious, and we loved the variety of tasty breakfast foods available each morning. This stay was a bit of a splurge for us (a break from business travels), and was absolutely worth it!

Room Tip: Tell the staff if you have any mobility/fall risk issues, so they can choose the safest room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcclintock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Manager at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

You are very kind and all the staff thanks for your positive post .
We're glad to hear that you have had a nice stay with us.
Come back soon at Villa il Poggiale.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica several years ago on a trip through Tuscany. It was charming. In fact, we still talk about it today as one of our favorite places we have ever stayed in our world travel. From the moment we go out of our car and saw the enchanting villa sitting on a hill overlooking Tuscany, we knew we were in love. The decor was absolutely perfect. The pictures don't do it justice. It was exactly the kind of Italian country home you would want to find in Tuscany. In fact, we didn't feel like we were in a hotel. We felt like we were guests staying at the home of some wonderful family friends. One of the most wonderful things to do here is grab a bottle of wine from the "Honor Bar," sit outside at one of the little tables on the hill, and watch the sunset. Don't be fooled by the fact that the prices are reasonable. This is a VERY special place. One that I can recommend wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are decorated differently and each has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobominkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Direttore at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear special guests,

We were so moved by your lovely message.
We really hope that your stay here has been as good as you had expected.
All of us appreciated your words kindness and generosity; this is what makes our work worthwhile.
Best regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
625 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
561 reviews
16.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
511 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing