We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Villa Il Poggiale is fantastic, the location is great. It's in the center of the Chianti Area. So for food and wine lovers it's super! The staff at the Villa is excellent, they help you with everything and know all the nice restaurants and things-to-do in the area. The Villa itself is elegant and comfortable and the view is amazing. We went to the Villa before and we will go there again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couplefromholland_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Sirs,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Il Poggiale and look forward to having you with us soon.
Thank you for your positive remarks about us and we are going to endeavour to improve so that you may be prepared to give us full marks the next time you are with us

Warmest regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

The place is what you would imagine of Tuscany: dreamy landscapes with pointy trees, just like in a Leonardo painting, coupled with a XV century manor house magnificently preserved and looked after. Our experience: excellent food, charming chef, attentive and courteous staff, manicured gardens, rooms with frescoes on the walls and the ceilings, attention to details and a lovely pool facing the Chianti hills. As one side of the pool is quite shallow, even younger children can enjoy it in relative safety. Leaving from there was so painful....Villa il Poggiale is an excellent base for visiting Firenze, Pisa, Lucca, Siena . The nearby village (San Casciano) has plenty of facilities and shops. Why I have not given 5 points? Breakfast was a little unimaginative, with restricted selection of cereals and dairy products. The pool could benefit from more chairs or sun beds - sometimes returning in the afternoon from day trips we wanted to cool off at the pool but we had no place to put our stuff and towels on. At the pool sometimes we had the feeling of being on "top of each other " , an out of tune note of an otherwise truly regenerating stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Sirs,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Il Poggiale and look forward to having you with us soon.
Thank you for your positive remarks about us and we are going to endeavour to improve so that you may be prepared to give us full marks the next time you are with us

With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed here our wedding week and the staff could not have been nicer. It is like staying in someones italian villa they are all so friendly and the location and amenities are fab! Food and pool are highlights.. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelsBelsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2009

Dear Sirs,

It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.

In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This was our 5th visit to Volla Il Poggiale so you can assume that we love this place. I have read other critisms of its position on a main road which can be noisy but on the other hand it is easy to get to the A1 and the airport. The Villa itself is magical and the staff are great--------------- food well we like to eat out so cant really comment. Just hope I will be lucky enough to return next year

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Sirs,

It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.

Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make a stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.

With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is the second time that we have decided to spend our holidays at Villa Il Poggiale.
We love ... everything! the rooms (we have a different suite this time), gardens, swimming pool area, specially the food and the excellent service and hospitality of the staff.
We will recommend it to our friends without hesitation.
The villa is beautiful and very quiet; the staff very kind and friendly, always giving us good tips!
We love the food, all products are excellent! La vera cucina italiana...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromeandViviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2009

Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for your very nice email, it makes all of us glad when our guests are happy and enjoy their stay!

We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!

Villa il Poggiale
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Unfortunately we drew the short straw in terms of a room (2) and there is at least one other (1) which is next to the kitchen and the food serving areas. Get one of those and your peace and quiet will definitely depend on the courtesy of the other guests at the time. Best to avoid especially since they are the same price as other standard rooms which I imagine, from the continued excellent Tripadvisor reviews, must be better.

We also found the food really disappointing particularly for the cost but it’s only about 3km to the nearest town so as long as you don’t mind driving or taking a taxi (road’s too busy to walk it), you aren’t stuck if you don’t fancy what the chef’s offering.

The property itself is beautifully aspected, like a film set of a Tuscan villa, and a good central base for touring the region and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. There are lots of really nice sitting places around the villa both inside and out for reading, drawing and perhaps the odd glass of wine or beer from the honesty bar.

If we’d have had a better room I may have been able to give Villa Il Poggiale 4 stars, as it is I can’t do better than 3.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Villa Il Poggiale was a wonderful introductory trip to the Tuscan region. the grounds are beautiful and nothing can beat watching the sunset over the valley from the garden. The entire villa, including the rooms, are decorated nicely, very quaint and cozy. The only "complaint" if there was one, is that the Villa is located beside a road. Avoid room #4 (where we stayed) which is right on the side of the road separated by some bushes. You could hear cars whizzing by at all hours and you can hear the cars even from the front entrance of the Villa. Of course, there is not much that can be done about this but keep this in mind. Otherwise, the place is excellent for relaxation and Chef Leo's food (30 Euro per person buffet) is amazing and a good value. Have many fond memories and will definitely go back to Tuscany, although for a return trip, I will probably check out another place to stay that is a bit more isolated.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSNPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
665 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
14 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,033 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
654 reviews
9.8 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £68 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing