We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly how you would want it to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop's Stortford
1 review
“Exactly how you would want it to be”
Reviewed 6 November 2009

So many words can describe Villa il Poggiale - Idyllic, perfect, beautiful, peaceful – but you have to experience it to actually appreciate it.
Our flight was cancelled, but a quick call to Monica and that night was cancelled and an extra night booked with no problem. On arrival we were shown all round the villa with a certain pride and quite rightly too.
I requested a quiet room overlooking the countryside and that is exactly what we got. The room (Number 23) and bathroom were beautifully decorated, comfortable and very clean and happily slept 3 people. At night it was so silent and peaceful that we slept like babies only to awake to the birds singing and a superb view over the Tuscan countryside. The breakfast was basic, but fresh and plentiful and the coffee was fantastic.
Perfectly situated, we spent our days visiting Siena, Florence and the surrounding villages, all delightful but it was always a pleasure to walk back through the gates and see the splendid villa in front of you. There we would have a quick drink from the Honesty Bar and relax in the lounge and take in the beautiful decor.
We ate in the restaurant on our last evening and the food was out of this world and the chef took time to talk and explain the various courses and the recommended wine was....well....magnificent.
We were made to feel so much at home and looking back at the photographs just reminds us of how beautiful it was. I know we will go back again; it is just a matter of how soon.
I cannot recommend Villa il Poggiale highly enough, the villa, the people, the food, the wine....everything. It was exactly what we had asked for. Thank you for making the stay so memorable.
The Boultons

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boulty348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 8 November 2009
Thank you very much for your very nice review, it makes all of us glad when our guests are happy and enjoy their stay!

We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    172
    31
    25
    11
See reviews for
148
458
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My wife and I spent 7 nights in late October at the Villa Il Poggiale. From the moment we arrived, we were overwhelmed by the physical beauty of the Villa itself. Its 15th century architecture is set within the country side just south of Florence. It's the stuff of cinema. However, there are several breathtakingly beautiful Villas sprinkled throughout Tuscany. What sets this one apart are the 2 people that run it, Monica and Luca. They greet you in a way that makes you feel at home immediately. They guide you through your daily touring with maps and directions, they see to your dining requests, they cater to your every need. Indeed, it is they who make Villa Il Poggiale stand apart from the rest of the villas and castles one finds throughout Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 8 November 2009
It was such a pleasure to receive your sweet review.
Guest satisfaction is the best reward to our efforts to make a stay at Il Poggiale a long lasting remembrance.
With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Villa for 4 nites and had a wonderful stay. From the gracious help of all the staff to the scenic grounds, bountiful breakfast buffet, it was a true Tuscanny experience. The Villa is located just 12 miles from Florence in a wonderful town of San Casciano which we enjoyed for a stroll and dining. It is also near the auto strad for easy access to other Tuscany and Chianti areas. The standard double room we had # 7 was large, quiet with a large bathroom and shower. The room was cleaned thoroughly by the staff each day. There was internet access and large Salon with an honor bar with reasonable prices. The grounds were meticulous where we spent each evening with a glass of wine viewing the panorama. It is a large Villa but well maintained. Music played in the salom while couples could read or enjoy an evening cocktail. Lucca, Irene, Monica and Anna were very helpful for advice on touring and dining in the area. The only suggestion I have is better directions to get to the Villa; they were sketchy at best. But again, there are so many positive features of Villa Poggiale it is a minor issue that can be easily corrected. We travel frequently and highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
I was so moved by your lovely message and I really hope that your stay here has been as good as you had expected.
We all really hope that we have the pleasure to meet you again in a not too far future!

Best regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The staff, the grounds, the rooms, the food, the surroundings were all exceptional. We dined at Il Poggiale one evening and it was fantastic. The front desk clerks (Stefania, maybe?) were wonderful, always pointing us in the best direction for sights and food. We would stay here over and over.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherdj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
It was so nice to have you here, and we’d like to thank you for appreciating our hospitality.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This place was even more beautiful than the picture. Everything from the views to the suite we stayed in. The lovely staff, Luca , Irene and Monica were very helpful in planning your day as well as suggest and make dinner reservations for you. There was a nice buffet breakfast each morning. For 30euro you could have a buffet dinner prepared by Leo and Anna. Hope to return to Villa IL Poggiale one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachladyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Dear special guests,

It means a lot to us to see that our guests enjoy the things we like to share with them and the help we try to offer so that they can enjoy Tuscany and the villa at their best.
In the hope of meeting you again we send our warmest regards
Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We stayed at Villa II Poggiale for 5 days and it was a great experience. We cannot say enough about the very friendly and attentive staff. The surrounding area is just beautiful . We stayed at La Fonte which is located some distance from the main villa and had two bedrooms, living room with fireplace, kitchen and ensuite bathrooms. We liked the independence of the location and it was situated among the vineyards and olive groves. We had all of our dinners at their restaurant and each meal was different and exciting. We would highly recommend it and if we return to the Florence area we will surely stay there.

Ken & Donna Bradshaw

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenbcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Dear Friends,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests at the villa and we hope you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the atmosphere of this corner of Tuscany .
All of us appreciated your words kindness and generosity, this is what makes our work worthwhile.
With my best wishes and thanks from all of us.

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Would stay here again and again. Absolutely amazing accommodations & leisure areas. Extremely friendly staff and superb food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaFirenze, Responsabile at Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica, responded to this review, 13 October 2009
Dear Sirs,

It is people like you, it is your sincere words of praise which make our efforts and our job rewarding.
We thank you and look forward to have you here again
Best regards

Villa il Poggiale
Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
541 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
603 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
16.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Property: Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Address: Via Empolese 69 | Via Di Mucciana 2, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica is located in the heart of the Chianti region, only a few kilometres from the historic centre of Florence. The property is classified as a historic villa, finely restored, offering a warm, friendly service and great hospitality: even the smallest details have been carefully considered to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In an oasis of peace surrounded by enchanting gardens, fragrant with roses and plants, guests can sip a tea and start a beautiful day in the country with a good breakfast rich of products and ingredients of Tuscan cuisine, from homemade cakes, honey, fresh ricotta to salami. From April to October the restaurant is open. Each day the chef prepares lunch buffet with typical dishes of Tuscan tradition, accompanied by a good selection of local wines. We organize cooking lessons in Villa. The villa also features a brand new wellness Centre. Guests can now relax in this Chianti SPA accommodation offering simple treatments, essential oils and fragrances made with raisins, olives, citrus fruits and honey. The Villa offers Wi-Fi connection free of charge. The property is the ideal for romantic getaways or holidays with the entire family, in addition to wedding ceremonies, banquets, work breakfasts, meetings, and much more. Children are welcome offering them services and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Hotel Il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Il Poggiale Dimora Storica Hotel
Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing