We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silvia and Homero Tuscany Vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Poggio Borgoni
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Silvia and Homero Tuscany Vacations”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed there for eight nights, enjoying the warm reception of the staff and the wonderful meals prepared by the Osteria's chef and served by the smiling and efficient Antonietta. We also have had the opportunity of seeing the bottling of the wine of its own production, tasted every night. The bedroom we occupied, named Lavanda, is large and very confortable. Breakfast is plenty of choices, including juices, fruits, cereals, cheeses, salumi (Tuscany specialities) and everything we need to start our days, driving the good but narrow roads of the Tuscany countryside.
Reception staff helped us with museums reservations in Florence and indications about the best way to reach that city using our rental car and by bus. The day Osteria is closed (wednedays), we have been recommended several reataurants in San Casciano and the one we have tried was very good.
After our checkout, we were kindly gifted a bottle of its wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homero525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    49
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
119
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay Very convenient for all the sights of Tuscany.Fantastic views with pool etc. Comfortable well equipped bedrooms, kind and helpful English speaking staff, delicious food, we wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birchall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We recently stayed at Relais Poggio Borgoni and we can only report good. Our stay was for 5 nights so we have a reasonable picture of the service and amenities. Our first contact via e-mail was met promptly and courteously. On arrival we were greeted and helped with our luggage. The room was clean, large and appointed with what one needs without frills. Room was airconditioned although we did not need this in September. The restaurant is a highlight. Good, friendly service and good food. Wine from the property itself was in the European range in cost and was good. On the night when the restaurant was closed our host booked us into a popular restaurant in San Carciano - 5 minutes drive away. The host were discreet and never interfered, but were always there for questions an answers. In the region where Euros 220 per night per room was not uncommon, their special was very good value for money. I would recommend them anytime.

Room Tip: We had the Ginestra in the main building on the first floor. If you are a romantic couple the one at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captain1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

i'm not one for beach holidays but I found myself lounging by the pool high up on the tuscan hill side. And boy does this place afford you good views. The staff are attentive and very helpful. Their Osteria serves some wonderfully fresh food. The Gnoochi was divine and the best I've tasted in italy. This place is off the beaten track and you will require a car to get here but it is worth the effort.

Room Tip: The restaurant is unfortunately not open on Wednesday's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have to reiterate the previous posting. We stayed here at the end of October and there were nights when we came back after dinner and the place was deserted. It was quite unsettling. The first time it happened I immediately sent off an email and then spoke to Francesco in reception the next morning. Indeed, there are no staff here at night and this is not a working 'Agriturismo' as I had been led to believe by the Agriturismo site (which also hid the real name of the accomodation). We were very concerned that if something did happen and we needed help we would not be able to convey this to the authorities. We do not speak any Italian and there is no one around for many kilometres. If you go in peak season this is likely not a problem but good friends of ours were drugged and robbed in a rented villa in Provence in July 2011 so we were very aware of the dangers. That all being said, the actual accomodmation and the staff were lovely. Everyone was so very helpfu, and everything is 'no problem'. In fact, the owner arranged to have his daughter and her boyfriend stay while we were there for 7 nights so we would not be alone - very accomodating. The vista is breathtaking, the room we stayed in was large and cleaned each day, the breakfast was good but a little too much of the same old, same old. It is close to San Casciano where there are some good places to eat. I am reluctant to say 'don't stay' here but I will say, make sure that you are aware of who will be here when you come.

Room Tip: The lavanda room on the ground floor is nice and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you are going to stay there find out if there are any other guests in the place because the hotel staff go home at 7 p.m. and you'd be left all on your own in the middle of the country like we were oh and the restaurant is only open on Saturday and Sunday, so we never got to try their great food! We had to drive to San Casciano which is about 15 minutes on a pitch black twisty country road to find a place to eat, and obviously could not drink and drive, not my idea of a stay in a vineyard. The rooms were not provided with any coffee making facilities either and the satellite TV is OK only if you speak Italian. There are no telephones in the room so if you have an emergency you can't even call the police or a doctor. The staff however were very helpful when we did see them in the morning. I was very disappointed and won't return or recommend anyone to stay there, we cut our stay and left for Montepulciano which was a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisPoggioBorgoni, Proprietario at Relais Poggio Borgoni, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
I think any comment is superfluous. The guests were in the know. The phone is available in every room and there's a note book with emergency numbers, satellite TV offers national and international channels and in low season, however, the restaurant is open only on weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We just returned from our trip to Italy and spent 5 days at Relais Poggio Borgoni. We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend staying here. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the proximity to the sights we wanted to see, was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
1.8 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
17.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristic...
#1 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#3 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Le Dimore Mezza Costa
B&B Le Dimore Mezza Costa
#4 of 21 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Poggio Borgoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Poggio Borgoni

Property: Relais Poggio Borgoni
Address: Via Cassia Per Siena 35 | Gps: Nord 43°38'33'' - Est 11°10'36'', 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Poggio Borgoni 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Poggio Borgoni awaits you. A beautiful resort, ideal for your holidays in the Tuscan countryside, situated on the lovely hills of the Pesa River, nestled in a charming, blooming garden surrounded by the Chianti vineyards, just a short distance from the art of Florence. This splendid, fifteenth-century Relais is still drenched in the atmosphere of bygone days, and yet offers the most modern comforts. Discover the sites of the Florentine Renaissance at a stone's throw from your accommodation and revel in food-and-wine tasting and cultural itineraries, discovering the traditions of the Chianti hills and visiting typical Tuscan villages, such as Radda in Chianti or Greve in Chianti. A stay at Relais Poggio Borgoni, tasting and purchasing produce directly from our estate, savouring the traditional and yet refined Tuscan cuisine at Osteria del Poggio, will make your holidays in the lands of Tuscany a unique experience, enfolded by and immersed in the flavours and life offered by the heart of the Chianti Classico region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Poggio Borgoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Poggio Borgoni San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing