We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful villa in the magical hills of Chianti with poor service! pecato!”
Review of Villa Mangiacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Mangiacane
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“beautiful villa in the magical hills of Chianti with poor service! pecato!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Driving into the Chianti hillsides took our breath away but driving into the gates of Villa Mangiacane just overwhelmed us even more,sadly when we walked into the beautiful reception area we were received far from what our expectations were.There seemed to be chaos and untrained people working at the reception,they were very polite and nice but not efficient at all.
We were not taken to our room but just given the key and they assured us that our bags were on their way but 30 minutes had passed and I decided to get it myself,I was dismayed to find my luggages with valuables just sitting unattended by the parking lot .The first room we got was terrible,room 21 was a superior room which was by the pool kitchen or bar area and you could hear the employees talking,we quickly changed rooms and we were moved to a better room which was more expensive but they did not charge us for the upgrade.
The pool area was wonderful and lounges were abundant and well spaced.I noticed that there are 2 sides to the hotel,the Main Villa where the owner stays when they are in town which is well maintained with beautiful furnishings .The other side where our room was ,you had to pass a gravel pathway which was not very nice,the garden in front of the rooms were moldy and tiny ,definitely needs some work.The plunge pool was so dirty and had so much algae ,I did not even dare go in.
I want to warn readers that if the main Villa is closed for an event or for a wedding than you would really not get to enjoy the Villa Mangiacane.It was unfortunate that the night of my birthday there was a wedding and we could not have a drink at the beautiful Loggia instead we had to go out to another restaurant ,it did not make sense ....why stay somewhere special on a special occasion and not be able to celebrate there anyway?The following day the Loggia was open for hotel guest but it was raining and foggy.
Overall Villa Mangiacane is beautiful but since it is run and owned by people who do not need money therefor could not really care about service and hiring better staff ,the Mangiacne is just like a hobby to them .There are far better places in the area with half the price tag.

Room Tip: dine at local trattorrias nearby like Gallo Giallo and barachinno and Albaccia Machiavelli they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    32
    21
    22
    13
See reviews for
45
155
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We chose Villa Mangiacane to have our wedding and enjoy a week long stay with both our families. Working with Juan Miguel, the hotel manager, was a fantastic experience. Juan was easy to work with, has keen attention to detail and offered us help in many areas of planning our wedding - even introducing us to our wedding planner! Juan is amazing and went above and beyond to make our stay and wedding a perfect experience. Villa Mangiacane is a very special place, it's majestic setting is natural with a beautiful aesthetic but there is a warmth there from the hotel staff that truly sets it apart from many hotels. Villa Mangiacane will hold a very special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had 2 days of staying in this awful room! Out of 7 days driving through Tuscany, this was the only disappointment. We payed for one of the better rooms and got a poorly furnished room with a very scary African painting. The web site talked about seeing the sweeping hills of Tuscany, we had 2 tiny windows, so high that you would need a ladder to get up and see out! I feel the web site is nothing like what we saw, please be very careful!
It is first time we have ever complained on any of our trips through the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a terrace suite in the main villa. The views were stunning and it all felt very luxurious. The restaurant was a disappointment as it was very expensive for what it was. The local restaurant is closed on Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays and as that was when we were there we had to eat in the restaurant. The owner was there when we were there and it made no difference. It is a very special place and I would recommend that you stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenthereLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and my son stayed here after three nights in a bed and breakfast and it was like walking into an opulent home. The Villa is absolutely gorgeous, in a stunning location and with lovely views over the hillside.

The food was nice but really expensive for what it was. We at dinner alfresco in the restaurant which has a lovely atmosphere but had to wait nearly 2 hours to complete one course which with a young child is far too long.

The only thing we would change about this hotel is the decor. The owner is from South Africa and is obsessed with african art, it doesn't exactly go with the beautiful Italian location or Tuscan Villa and does distract from the beautiful location. Our bathroom had two naked photos of ladies so we had to cover those with dressing gowns to make it pg 13 for our young son.

Our room had a beautiful bathroom on a mezzanine level which was a lovely touch, but for a pregnant woman climbing the stairs in the middle of the night not so fun :)

Having said that, we would come back here if we had the chance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowgirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

When booking and seeing this villa I hoped for something special. What awaited us was an experience that we will never forget. From Silvia to the waiters you couldn't ask for a more pleasurable experience. The setting is idyllic and the only problem was that we didn't stay longer. I only hope that more people will experience this as well - a luxury is awaiting you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsmartDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We came on the family vacation with my husband and 3 year old son. As much as I love Florence city we decided to stay in the beautiful Tuscan hills to avoid all the tourist. It was best decision! My sister recommended us this beautiful historical villa right outside of Florence!
We were amazed by the beauty of the Villa! One of the most beautiful villa in Italy. The lovely girl who did our check in told us about the history of the place!!! We were so impressed that my husband decide to read "The Prince" all over again. Tuscany romance at it's best with Michelangelo art and breathtaking scenery. The property is incredibly beautiful and well maintained. The staff were unbelievably attentive, friendly and helpful.
Our room was in the most basic category but was very comfortable with a large bathroom with bath, shower, wardrobe area and Ferragamo toiletries. The beds were very comfortable too and we remarked on how well we slept on the first night.
The views of Duomo and Florence center from the Loggia are lovely!
Its is a great place to come with the kids. My son loved it, he did not want to leave. Villa has several swimming pools with the relaxing areas. One -more open for family and second one more for the couples.You can spend there all day sunbathing , we were having our lunch, drinks, etc by the pool while watching our son having fun.
The hotel offers a shuttle into the Florence, so it was easy to get there.
We really found the reception girls very helpful and very friendly. They did all our bookings for us.
The restaurant is nice, but food could be better. Some dishes were fantastic,but not everything. But we really enjoyed the Villa Mangiacane vine and olive oil that property produce.The breakfast buffet was great, big variety and it included in the rate of the room.
The highlight of our stay was the cooking class that we took. It was fantastic! We were cooking in the old kitchen, the ambiance and the wonderful teacher- Franchesca made it very special and delicious!
We felt very much at home there! I would definitely recommend it to the friends, especially with kids.We had great time!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicewaltinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
19.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
768 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
560 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 412 in Florence
801 reviews
22.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mangiacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mangiacane

Property: Villa Mangiacane
Address: Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mangiacane 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mangiacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mangiacane Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Mangiacane San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing