We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but must improve”
Review of Villa Mangiacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Mangiacane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The rooms were very nice, the villa was beautiful and very peaceful, we walked around the towns nearby and it was very nice, it's at least 15 to 20 minutes from Florence so take that into account.
The showers are completely open. In that regard I would say the only thing they need to change is putting a curtain or door or something to the showers because you make a mess in the bathroom every time you shower. Also there is glass from the shower to the room so everyone in the room can see you showering, I guess it's ok for a honeymoon couple.
The A/C didn't work properly, slept with the window open every night and some bugs came in.
There was no wifi signal in my room, and when there was it disconnected every five minutes. That is something they must fix.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Rod Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Villa Mangiacane is a beautiful vineyard villa just outside of Florence. The facility represents the traditional Tuscan architecture, the rooms are modern, and meticulously maintained. The setting and rooms are absolutely beautiful. However, the best attribute of the Villa is the staff. They are all exceptional. Without a doubt the most attentive staff at any hotel or villa that I have stayed, and I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world.

We had a truly wonderful stay in this fantastic Villa. Everything from our welcoming, to breakfast, to assistance with reservations etc. we could not have been better taken care of. We spent a total of 10 days in Italy (4 at this Villa) and by far our stay at Villa Mangiacane was the highlight of our trip. A MUST see/stay if you are anywhere near the area or in making your plans, include a stay at this villa for sure!!

Truly, it's hard to put into words how wonderful our stay was and the warmth and welcoming we experienced! Keeping it simple....we were in PARADISE for those 4 days!!! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our tip....just be sure to stay as long as you can at Villa Mangiacane!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel gives you a glimpse of what it would have been like to be a cardinal in Florence during the Renaissance. The architecture of the building with the loggia is stunning, as well as the sweeping views that stretch for miles. Our travel plans only allowed us one night but we will be back for sure- next time for a longer stay. The hotel arranged for us to have a private wine tasting of local wines which we truly enjoyed. We had difficulty finding the hotel initially. After driving in circles (it seemed ) for a while, a local resident that did not speak English led us through the winding roads to the hotel gates. But that was forgotten the moment we passed through and entered the pure luxury of the estate. The Africa art was distracting but did not take away from the amazing surroundings. There are very few rooms and while we were there we only saw other guests at dinner; it felt like it was our own private Italian Villa. Treat yourself to this!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I was traveling with my father and the travel agent forgot to mention this fact...they thought we were going to be a couple. So when we arrived, they had us set up in a lovely, romantic room. When we explained what happened, the quickly moved us. We ended up with our own rooms, each lovely, with private plunge pools- a nice surprise.
The setting was so breathtaking, it is hard to explain, but it was unbelievably beautiful. Vineyards, olive groves, medieval mansions, and an amazing pool area. We had a rental car but opted for the shuttle to take us into town because of the difficult parking situation in Florence. Just another one of the perks offered.
Everyone on staff- from the shuttle drivers to the concierge, was extremely helpful. They recommended wonderful/non-touristy restaurants and helped us plan our day trips as well. I can't say enough good things about Villa Mangiacane, I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!
They also make wonderful wine, wish we could have brought more home!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrydchicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

the sense of arrival at this extraodinary villa is truly amazing and our experience there did not disappoint. We loved the warm and personal attention that made us feel welcome and special. The rooms and attention to detail are comfortable and beautifully appointed, the staff took care of us and we felt very at home in this romantic paradise where there are so many places to wonder around or relax and read a book. We loved the fact that you could see the Domo from one of the wonderful terraces and the food was excellent. A true gem, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirk g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The positives first - the setting is stunning, the villa is a beautiful building and our room - on two floors - was notable for the gorgeous bed. Outside the terrace was was quite private and afforded a sumptious view over Florence. Fantastic
The booking had been made to the Villa Machiavelli (which - for some reason - more commonly goes by the name of Villa Mangiacane) for a party of fifteen. We fully expected to have the villa to ourselves as well as a private pool. Not so. On arrival we discovered that this is really a hotel which masquerades as a luxury villa for rent (http://www.luxuryretreats.com/villa)

This was not what was expected. If you are looking to book a private villa book somewhere else. This is not a private villa.

What really spoiled things was the unhelpful attitude of the staff - they always acted as if they were doing you a favour rather than doing their job. An attempt to retrieve an opened bottle of wine which we had left in the fridge and was taken by the maid was greeted with disdain. No apology. No replacement. I suppose they think that most guests who can afford to stay in such a place don't leave half full bottles of wine. I give this as an example of surly and unhelpful service. Another is the so-called courtesy taxi into Florence. For some reason this drops you off at the city gates - an extremely long walk to the duomo. Why not drop guests off closer to the city? No explanation.

The restaurant was woefully poor value...price of an egg at breakfast was 7 euro. The restaurant was so overpriced we ate just down the road at the fabulous Trattoria La Baracchina.

The South African owners really need to get a grip. Until they do - look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Honda2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Driving into the Chianti hillsides took our breath away but driving into the gates of Villa Mangiacane just overwhelmed us even more,sadly when we walked into the beautiful reception area we were received far from what our expectations were.There seemed to be chaos and untrained people working at the reception,they were very polite and nice but not efficient at all.
We were not taken to our room but just given the key and they assured us that our bags were on their way but 30 minutes had passed and I decided to get it myself,I was dismayed to find my luggages with valuables just sitting unattended by the parking lot .The first room we got was terrible,room 21 was a superior room which was by the pool kitchen or bar area and you could hear the employees talking,we quickly changed rooms and we were moved to a better room which was more expensive but they did not charge us for the upgrade.
The pool area was wonderful and lounges were abundant and well spaced.I noticed that there are 2 sides to the hotel,the Main Villa where the owner stays when they are in town which is well maintained with beautiful furnishings .The other side where our room was ,you had to pass a gravel pathway which was not very nice,the garden in front of the rooms were moldy and tiny ,definitely needs some work.The plunge pool was so dirty and had so much algae ,I did not even dare go in.
I want to warn readers that if the main Villa is closed for an event or for a wedding than you would really not get to enjoy the Villa Mangiacane.It was unfortunate that the night of my birthday there was a wedding and we could not have a drink at the beautiful Loggia instead we had to go out to another restaurant ,it did not make sense ....why stay somewhere special on a special occasion and not be able to celebrate there anyway?The following day the Loggia was open for hotel guest but it was raining and foggy.
Overall Villa Mangiacane is beautiful but since it is run and owned by people who do not need money therefor could not really care about service and hiring better staff ,the Mangiacne is just like a hobby to them .There are far better places in the area with half the price tag.

Room Tip: dine at local trattorrias nearby like Gallo Giallo and barachinno and Albaccia Machiavelli they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
5.8 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,048 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
819 reviews
19.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
6.9 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mangiacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mangiacane

Address: Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £193 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mangiacane 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Mangiacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mangiacane Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Mangiacane San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing