We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Mangiacane- Amazing setting in Tuscany”
Review of Villa Mangiacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mangiacane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at this incredible delight of a Villa that has views to die for right in the middle of Chianti Tuscany. From the balcony you can see the Duomo peaking out right in the middle of a manicured pathway of the olive trees and vineyards. Completely renovated and immaculate there is still a sense of nostalgia and history that leaves you wanting to come back for more. Well recommended and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Take the suites in the main Villa with a view across the balcony of the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear esteemed guests,
gentili hospiti!

thank you so much for your wonderful words - my staff and I are proud of the villa and we are happy that you had such a memorable stay.
best regards from Villa Mangiacane
Helmut and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

A truly gorgeous place to stay. Very peacefull but right in the heart of Chianti country and only 20 minutes to Florence. The staff are wonderfull, they strike to perfect balance of being very attentive but unobtrusive. We loved our stay at Villa Mangiacane and would have no hesitation in going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allym4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guests,
gentile Hospiti!,
thank you so much for your wonderful words - my staff and I are proud of the villa and we are happy that you had such a memorable stay.
best regards from Villa Mangiacane
Helmut J. and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Villa is located on a beautiful property and it is just 15minutes from Florence. You get to experience both the city and countryside of Tuscany!!! The view from the grand room and the second floor lounge area was absolutely stunning and majestic. However, our first night was terrible because they put us in the guest room with no A/C instead of the Main Villa (which was what we booked online), then during our dinner we were interrupted by children running and playing around the dining area while the parents and staff did nothing about it. The Villa was short staffed and the service quality was poor. But the good thing is, the Villa is going through new management. When we raised our problems about our room to the new manager Mr. Helmut J.Di Bernardo, he was able to address our concerns (we ended up moving to a suite in the Main Villa with more privacy and a working A/C) and this made our stay more enjoyable! Under the new management, I think this Villa has great potential and we look forward to coming back for another visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main Villa and not the guest houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear Jac k from Toronto,
we were pleased that you commented on us and our villa favourably. Unfortunately the aircondition in room 26 was not sufficient, even if our european customer seem to find it cool enough even for August. We are glad that you liked the free upgrade tp room 4 and had enjoyable rest of your stay here!
H J di Bernardo
General Manager - Villa Mangiacane - San Casciano nr. Florence, Tuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed as a family at Villa Mangicane for 4 nights in August, and simply can't recommend it highly enough. The villa is beautiful, the setting spectacular, with views down across vineyards and olive groves to the Duomo of Florence in the distance. The service was top notch, really helpful staff here who go out of their way to please and take care of you. The new GM was fantastic, very personable, and you can tell he is used to running what must be one of the worlds top boutique hotels. We were lucky enough to stay in the Royal Suite with acres of space, and stunning decor touches, completely in keeping with our surroundings. The location is perfect for exploring Chianti, and the owner produced wines are so nice we took some away with us and will be ordering more (their olive oil is also not to be missed). our children rated it their favorite place in a month's holiday across Europe. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Royal Villa would be a real treat for a couple looking for a very special break away.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank LondonStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear London stars,

My staff and I are pleased that you commented on us and our villa favourably. We are glad that you liked the Royal Suite, the wines and the olive oil and you han an enjoyable your stay here!
Come back for more or tell your friends!

H J di Bernardo
General Manager - Villa Mangiacane - San Casciano nr. Florence, Tuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was a little hesitant about staying at Villa Mangiacane because I thought it was close to Florence and as a result I would not get the full impact of being in Chianti. Boy was I wrong! It is true Florence is close. As a matter of fact, the hotel offers free transfers to and from the city. What a nice perk. But it is also located in the midst of beautiful rolling hills covered in vineyards. Jump on the nearby road and within minutes you are experiencing the northern part of Chianti with its winding roads and lush greenery that every so often offers a view of a sloping hills covered in vineyards.

The hotel is really two buildings, each with its own pool. The main building is truly amazing. The public areas are gorgeous. They are historical and romantic at the same time. The owner has restored many of the frescos and they are striking. And since the owner collects art the grounds are covered with his collection of African sculpture: truly a nice touch. The villa was built for the Machiavelli family and it is believed that Michelangelo played a role in its design. I was told that the Prince was written nearby. This might not make the rooms any lovelier but it truly adds to the romance. When I was there the rooms were referred to by color since each room was designed with a dominant color as its motif; this gave each room its own individual character. Every room I saw has a feeling of history and low key elegance.

I truly hope I can return for a longer visit. Truly a five star experience.

My wife and I stayed here at the end of August 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear Terry R,

My staff and I are pleased that you commented on us and our villa favourably. We are glad that you liked your suite, the wines and the olive oil and you han an enjoyable your stay here!
Our dinner was also a feast to be rememberer - and the conversation too!!!

Come back for more or tell your friends!

H J di Bernardo
General Manager - Villa Mangiacane - San Casciano nr. Florence, Tuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Very nice location of this boutique hotel. It was convenient to go to Florence, run in the morning and discover the villages and country side around.
I really like the eclectic interior design of the rooms and reception. However, I am not so sure about the South African art in the garden....some Tuscany sculpture will probably have been more appropriate but this is just our own opinion.
The property include a vineyard and a forest so it was a fantastic place for our jogging. We had the great pleasure to meet to permanent sweet and lovely pretty guess : 2 small poneys.
Nice swimming pool

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had in August this year, a wonderful stay of 4 nights at Villa Mangiacane. Its location amongst vineyards is magical , I just couldn't stop taking pictures. It was my first time in Tuscany and I could expore the whole region very convenient, not mentioning Florence which is 12 km away (free shuttle from the hotel)! From the terrace of the villa you could actually see the Dome in Florence. What could be more relaxing than drinking a glass of wine in the villa's lounge, with this spectacular view... The staff is very helpful and friendly ahead with the manager of the hotel, they really know how to make their guests feel welcomed.
Our room was very spacious, decorated with a great sense for details.
Villa Mangiacane made our holiday in Tuscany even more beautiful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Suites in the Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelina-Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
19.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
797 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
8.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
578 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mangiacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mangiacane

Address: Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £145 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mangiacane 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Mangiacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mangiacane Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Mangiacane San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing