We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Mangiacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Mangiacane
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A stunning retreat!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful gem of a hotel, we felt instantly relaxed. After sampling a glass of wine from their own vines, we were shown our rooms which were truly idyllic. With breathtaking views over the gently sloping vineyards, the rooms had all the modern conveniences combined with style and luxury. All of the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and were always on hand to help us book local restaurants, train tickets and taxis. We stayed in the main villa which was absolutely beautiful. It has the feel of being in someone' s own home - there are photo albums scattered around together with the owner's personal art work. The villa is only a short drive away from Florence and after the hustle and bustle of a day sight seeing here, it is truly the best place to return to - a haven of tranquility. The villa's own restaurant was first class but there are also several other restaurants nearby which are certainly worth a visit. Make sure too that you visit Machiavelli's house opposite the villa - a real treat! One of our many highlights was definitely the wine tasting with Christina at the Villa. She is not only extremely knowledgable, but extremely welcoming and informative too - a definite must. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so very special and in particular to Christina, the wine merchant, and Helmut the manager. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    27
    21
    22
    13
See reviews for
40
148
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August. The hotel is located on a vineyard and has a large pool which is nice to have in Tuscany in August when it is hot. The hotel grounds had beautiful views of the surrounding Tuscan countryside. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with recommending restaurants and making reservations. The breakfast was very good and it was nice to enjoy breakfas in the courtyard surrounded with gardens and fig trees. We did have a unusual type of room that had a open bathroom visible from the bedroom. The location was good for touring the Tuscan area and wineries.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at the Villa Mangiacane for a long romantic escapade.

I have always enjoyed to go back to Italy and at the Villa you can really enjoy Italy at his best.

From the warm welcome by the friendly and professional staff to the magical scenery (hills filled with vineyard), everything at Villa Mangiacane is made for you to fell good.

The room was beautiful, with a very large open bathroom made with the finest Italian design (hot tube, italian walking shower,...).

Sun downer from the lawn with views on the countryside and the gardens - filled with multiple statues - was just magical.

Everything was just at the highest standard (nothing more, nothing less) - a perfect place to relax and enjoy the good life.

Tip : try the Italian cooking class provided on site ! A great moment !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luve_Luxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I travelled to Tuscany in September with a girlfriend. We stayed 6 nights with Helmut and the team, and used the Villa as our home base to visit Firenze, just 15 minutes away, and the rest of the area.

We were welcomed in the door with a glass of wine, and each and every staff member was multi lingual and most accomodating.

The grounds include sculpture gardens and pools and incredible vistas of vineyards and the rolling hills of Chianti. Achitecture by Michalangelo and built by Machivelli, it has been restored to its glory and is a jewel of a property.

Helmut, the General Manager, hosts a reception on Friday nights on the terrace of the big Villa overlooking Firenze. It is quite posh, and a chance to mingle with the other guests, and enjoy appetizers and sample some the exquisite local wines.

Breakfast is included and is served partly buffet, partly served style, in the dining room. The staff make an effort to remember your preferences and bring you your coffee, tea, whatever, without you having to ask.

The dinner menu is not vast, but the food is very good, and the service is top notch.

Lunch can be ordered during the day by the pool, and snacks are available during "Happy Hour".

Each room is unique. Ours (#34) was enormous and the bathroom had 2 sink "stations", perfect for 2 women travelling together.

The Villa offers shuttles into the edge of Firenze, but you need to book it in advance. The website reads like it runs regularly, but that is misleading. A cab is approximately 40 euro each way.

For local tourist activities, a rental car is best.

The Villa's wine and olive oil is available for sale, and/or shipment home and is of the finest quality.

Overall, just a dream of a holiday, and the rich history of the Villa just adds to the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarkyredhead_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Ladies from Canada,
thank you so much for your wonderful words - my staff and I are proud of the villa and we are happy that you had such a memorable stay.
best regards from Villa Mangiacane
Helmut J. and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at this incredible delight of a Villa that has views to die for right in the middle of Chianti Tuscany. From the balcony you can see the Duomo peaking out right in the middle of a manicured pathway of the olive trees and vineyards. Completely renovated and immaculate there is still a sense of nostalgia and history that leaves you wanting to come back for more. Well recommended and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Take the suites in the main Villa with a view across the balcony of the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear esteemed guests,
gentili hospiti!

thank you so much for your wonderful words - my staff and I are proud of the villa and we are happy that you had such a memorable stay.
best regards from Villa Mangiacane
Helmut and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

A truly gorgeous place to stay. Very peacefull but right in the heart of Chianti country and only 20 minutes to Florence. The staff are wonderfull, they strike to perfect balance of being very attentive but unobtrusive. We loved our stay at Villa Mangiacane and would have no hesitation in going back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allym4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guests,
gentile Hospiti!,
thank you so much for your wonderful words - my staff and I are proud of the villa and we are happy that you had such a memorable stay.
best regards from Villa Mangiacane
Helmut J. and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Villa is located on a beautiful property and it is just 15minutes from Florence. You get to experience both the city and countryside of Tuscany!!! The view from the grand room and the second floor lounge area was absolutely stunning and majestic. However, our first night was terrible because they put us in the guest room with no A/C instead of the Main Villa (which was what we booked online), then during our dinner we were interrupted by children running and playing around the dining area while the parents and staff did nothing about it. The Villa was short staffed and the service quality was poor. But the good thing is, the Villa is going through new management. When we raised our problems about our room to the new manager Mr. Helmut J.Di Bernardo, he was able to address our concerns (we ended up moving to a suite in the Main Villa with more privacy and a working A/C) and this made our stay more enjoyable! Under the new management, I think this Villa has great potential and we look forward to coming back for another visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main Villa and not the guest houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VM_Management, General Manager at Villa Mangiacane, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Jac k from Toronto,
we were pleased that you commented on us and our villa favourably. Unfortunately the aircondition in room 26 was not sufficient, even if our european customer seem to find it cool enough even for August. We are glad that you liked the free upgrade tp room 4 and had enjoyable rest of your stay here!
H J di Bernardo
General Manager - Villa Mangiacane - San Casciano nr. Florence, Tuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
8.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
719 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
317 reviews
19.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
624 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mangiacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mangiacane

Property: Villa Mangiacane
Address: Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mangiacane 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mangiacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mangiacane Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Mangiacane San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing