We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning-go at your peril!”
Review of Villa Mangiacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Mangiacane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mangiacane in July 2013
What we found out when we arrived was that all the main building and hotel facilities had been let to a group on an exclusive basis with no access for other hoyel guests.
The rooms and facilities were horrendous and the worst we have ever encountered in 40 years of travelling.
If you look at the hotel website there are 52 photographs of rooms and facilities and NOT ONE of those were accessable to us
I have photos of the no entry notice,view from our room and the tiny room/bathroom
DO NOT RISK A VISIT TO THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BAFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Villa Mangiacane is a truly magnificent place. Stayed in the villa for a magical 2 weeks with my family and close friends. From the smallest detail the staff surpassed expectations with a clear pride in their tasks. The ambiance, architecture and decor were outstanding. Every day began with a fantastic breakfast served by cheerful and professional staff. From the pools to the vineyards to shumba(the official dog) it was a joy to stroll around the grounds. I can only say that if you have the opportunity to stay here, leap at it. My thanks to all at Villa Mangiacane,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbuddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I had the supreme pleasure of staying at this amazing villa at the beginning of August 2013. Just a few minutes drive out of Firenze it's grandeur is evident from a distance across the award winning orchards, but it's true beauty is only evident once you enter along its private wooded path.

Nothing about my stay here was anything below a five star experience. From the excellent service, fine attention to detail and delicious beautifully prepared gourmet meals to the emaculate grounds and stunning views of the Tuscan country side and the city of Firenze. Ease of

One feels like you're reliving a wonderful part if history in either of the two villa's boasting two separate pools and comfortable adjacent lounging areas with a unique sculpture collection in the garden.

Each room is individually styled and decorated with some boasting an African touch. All ridiculosly comfortable and glamorous. Everything is of the highest quality.

I so look forward to my next visit and only hope that it may be for a far longer duration. The ease of exploring the neighboring Firenze and small villages only to return to this gem made me never want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My mother planned the trip of a lifetime for our whole family - booking a tuscan villa for 2 wonderful wks. 14 of us stayed at Villa Machiavelli (a private villa available on the grounds of Villa Mangiacane) and it ranks as the best vacation we've taken. We had an amazing stay - every member of the staff was incredibly kind, happy and helpful. The chef, Luca, was truly gifted - we have never eaten so well. The accommodations were top notch - attention to detail obvious everywhere. And the landscape was unbelievable - surrounded by vineyards and olive groves with the sights of Florence in the distance. Not knowing the territory very well, we found the Villa thru Abercrombie and Kent. They coordinated all airport transport and cars on call for the two weeks - our drivers were incredible guides and kind, interesting people. Great professionals, just like the staff at Mangiacane. The best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEP513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently enjoyed a perfect family holiday, at Villa Mangiacane. Luxurious accommodation, friendly and helpful staff and sumptious Tuscan meals. It is a exceptional vineyard property and with top amenities, walks, nabourging villages and it is on the foot-steps of Florence. Look no further

Room Tip: Suite 1, ideal 2 bedroom family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Dear All,
I wish to share the most magical holiday we recently had at Villa Mangiacane. We turned up at the property to be mesmerized by its beauty, its location perched on top of a hill with stunning views of Florence and most importantly its heritage. It was indeed the main house that the Macchiavellis lived in and the current owner has restored it back to its former glory with all the Frescoes etc. The wines that the estate produces are also stunning and excellent value compared to its neighboring bigger names estates. I highly recommend their Chianti Classico Reserva 2009. The restaurant, meanwhile, served good old quality Tuscan cuisine and the chef very kindly hosted a private cooking lesson. It was a culture filled weekend with trip to the museums in Florence followed by re-living the culture at Villa Mangiacane. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor of the main villa adjacent to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inderjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Villa Mangiacani is a very special place for many reasons. Count Machiavelli owned the original villa leaving this entire area of Tuscany steeped in history. The views are magnificent surrounded by hills with rows of vineyards and olive groves. The villa itself has been beautifully restored to its former glory with attention to every detail. The spectacular gardens provide a peaceful retreat offering 2 glorious pools to relax at. The gardens have an interesting display of African sculptures showing off the talents of the Shona people who live in Zimbabwe. The rooms we occupied where of the highest 5 star level in every way, spacious, modern and luxurious and full of character. We reluctantly left Villa Mangiacani feeling we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
19.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
797 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
8.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
578 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mangiacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mangiacane

Address: Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £145 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mangiacane 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mangiacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mangiacane Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Mangiacane San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing