We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical paradise, a must visit”
Review of Villa Mangiacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mangiacane
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magical paradise, a must visit”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

i simply love this place.. and love it more and more with each visit
Villa Mangiacane with its incredible views, beautiful suits, delicious restaurant by the same name, is a heaven in Tuscany. A Must visit and the ideal location for a romantic getaway or private events (weddings, parties, conferences) besides the beauty of the villa :-)) it is also close to Florence, so its good to go there for day shopping etc. all the major label brands have outlets there so its ideal for those who want designer margins
the food is delicious and if you too love it, you can take their cooking classes and wine tastings.
the staff are friendly and helpful. i have life long memories of this place and can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: there are new renovated rooms but ii love the spacious suits inside the villa itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HofG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    31
    21
    22
    13
See reviews for
44
154
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our stay at Villa Mangiacane in 2010 was so great that we booked it again for a few days at the end of September - overall our stay was a disappointment. There is a noticeable deterioration in quality of service and staff. On a positive note, Dany in the Dining Room is still super efficient and he still provides that quality of customer service that we were hoping for. Following are just some reasons why we won't be returning to this Hotel. During our first visit, the charming and accommodating staff drove us to local restaurants for dinner and picked us up. The so-called Shuttle service to Florence has changed from a comfortable van to a cramped car. The temperature in room is controlled by front desk. Room was not cleaned properly. Shower did not drain properly. Staircase up to bathroom felt and sounded wobbly. The once beautiful grounds lacked TLC. Upon arrival we asked Reception to book a dinner reservation for us at Cinque de Vino - they were totally confused as to which days restaurant was closed - finally, they confirmed us for Tuesday night - that afternoon, GM assured my husband that we were confirmed - unfortunately, we arrived to our favorite San Casciano restaurant to find it closed! We reported back to person at night Reception who apologized and said she would speak to GM. He was not around when we left next morning and has never replied to our feedback posted on the Villa's website. We highly recommend the near-by Castello del Nero - our visit there was superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giovanna233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Villa Mangiacane is magical. Arriving there on a bright autumn afternoon, we were entranced! Built by a wealthy branch of the Machiavelli family, including Pope Urban, in the 15th century and renovated in 2000 into a luxurious hotel, this 27 room hotel outside of Florence transports you to another world. Owned by Glynn Cohen, a Zimbabwean transportion tycoon, the hotel’s grounds are decorated by at least fifty Shona sculptures made by leading artists of Zimbabwe. And the property is surrounded by vineyards producing some excellent chanti classico and “Super Tuscan” wines. Two large loggias in the main building open out on to a view of Florence in the distance (about 12 km) and the neighboring village, where Lorenzo, the poorer cousin, lived and wrote the Prince, when he wasn’t doing time for his writing. (His house - not owned by the hotel - is now an excellent restaurant serving traditional Tuscan food at low prices). Come here for luxury and be seduced by its magic.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wow! We spent 5 nights at Villa Mangiacane celebrating the 30th wedding anniversary of friends and had a delightful and magical experience. Upon arrival, we were enthusiastically welcomed by the staff with a glass of wine. Our room in the main villa for the first three nights (pricier) was beautiful, spacious, and well-equipped. It's location near the sprawling porch/balcony (open to ALL guests) provided us with breathtaking views of the countryside and Florence in the distance. Sipping wine and enjoying appetizers at sunset on the balcony was heavenly! Due to high occupancy, our last two nights were spent in a room close to, but in a different building from the main villa. (we knew this ahead of time) This room was not as large, but still beautiful and nice! Note: both our rooms had stairs leading to the sleeping area or bathrooms, so if you have trouble climbing stairs, you may want to check on the availability of rooms without stairs. The food in the villa was wonderful and the service fantastic.....everyone was so friendly. We were fortunate to meet and have drinks with owners Glen and Nadia who happened to be on the property during our stay. Hearing their stories about the villa was a true highlight of our trip! The location of the property is wonderful as Florence is about a 20 minute car ride (we rented a car), yet we were in the "country" with quick access to the "Black Rooster Road" which afforded us beautiful vistas and access to lovely boutique wineries. FYI...the spa was being renovated, so we had massages in a room in the main villa. Many, many thanks to the staff and owners of Villa Mangiacane for providing us an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimY644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our daughter got married at the Villa at the end of September and it was the most amazingly wonderful experience for us and our 59 guests. We took over the entire Villa for three nights and many of our guests stayed past that time. We stayed for an entire week. The staff could not have been more accommodating or worked hardly, staying late in the night and there again early in the morning. Every last detail of our plans went off smoothly. The food was outstanding, service equal to the quality and taste of the food, and presentation so wonderful. The Villa's own wines and olive oil were excellent. Full breakfast buffet was included and also excellent. They even went out of their way to provide coffee, fresh squeezed juice, and pastries for those checking out very early in the morning on the day of departure. In addition, they went out of their way to make sure every room was appointed with baskets of fruit, wine, and enough soap and shampoo so as Americans we would feel we had stayed in a truly first-class resort. All rooms were very clean and all pools clean and well-kept. All the rooms had safes, amble hangers, and everyone that needed adapters were given them. The weather was so perfect, only enhancing the magical and beautiful surrounds and wonderfully sculpted gardens. In the immediate vicinity were several excellent restaurants and the interesting town of San Casciano. The location to Florence was only about a 15 minutes ride. We can't think of a more perfect place to have hosted this wonderful event and we can't wait to return to this magical place.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in the main Villa are amazingly beautiful and roomy. The rooms in the new section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in early September and found it to be an ok place to stay. The views were fantastic but I was not that impressed with our room. It was clean, but it was missing a safe. I also did not like the fact that it did not have a coffee pot or water pot to heat water with.

The main pool was pretty nice actually so I am surprised by reviews from others stating that it wasn't. The breakfast is pretty good and the pool menu is ok , if a bit overpriced.


The service of the staff was excellent and they were very friendly and willing to help out with just about anything. We were there for a wedding and I needed a suit pressed and they did it very quickly. I found the grounds absolutely beautiful and think this is a very nice place if you want a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: I think if you stay in the main villa it is definitely nicer. However, be prepared to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrentham_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our stay was ruined by the rudeness of this hotel, the room was small but luxurious, the pool was dirty the water was GREEN, the overall service was mediocre, the location of the villa, however, was quite convenient to get to Florence. In conclusion, I think "Small Luxury Hotels group" should eliminate the villa from their family!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V-VASILYEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
1.9 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
753 reviews
19.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
667 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
525 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 411 in Florence
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mangiacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mangiacane

Property: Villa Mangiacane
Address: Via di Faltignano 4, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mangiacane 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villahotel, where every room is different, from cardinal-red opulence of Medici or Borgia times via african art, sculpture and paintings to ladies rooms with pastell yellow, green and rosè. Guest will enjoy the view from the grand loggia or the first floor loggia over our vineyards and olive groves to the cupola of Florence cathedral. Two pools, an indoor restaurant and the herbal garden al fresco dining invite to stop and enjoy florentine and italian as well as international cuisie. The fluidum of long bygone days will be reawakened when you look at the frescoes and remind yourself, that Nicolo Machiavelli lived and worked here over 500 years ago , and it is purported that Michelangelo did some work during the 7 year's stay of Machiavelli stay here. Add to all that the winery, tasting wines at leisure in our barrique cellar or try our olive oil during our cooking classes -you have let yourself in for an unique stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mangiacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mangiacane Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Villa Mangiacane San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing