We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip to Remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Over one year ago, my husband and I took a leap of faith and chose Salvadonica only from internet research and tripadvisor reviews as our wedding venue and invited our friends and family from Canada and the United States to spend 3 days celebrating with us. From the very beginning, Beatrice, Francesca and Consuelo were very responsive to our emails - they replied promptly on a daily basis with detailed answers and clarified any questions or concerns that we had regarding our event. When our wedding planner (who they had never met before) got in touch with them, the communication between them was seamless, and they worked together to make sure the wedding would be perfect. As one can imagine, planning a wedding from across an ocean can be quite stressful, but Salvadonica worked very hard to make sure that we had all the information we needed to feel comfortable with our plans.
When we arrived, we couldn't believe how lucky we were to be in definitely one of the most beautiful places in the world - all of the views you see in the pictures are real and even more beautiful in person. My husband and I stayed in Melograno 12 which is the converted stable room and it is for sure the most unique and special room that is available, we loved it. The borgo is conveniently located near a town where groceries and amenities are readily available, and trips to cities like Florence and Sienna are an easy car trip away, and surrounded by local wineries. Our guests enjoyed the convenience of these day trip possibilities. Beatrice, Francesca, Consuelo and all of the staff members were a pleasure to meet - they were warm and friendly and made sure that all of our guests had everything they needed. The restaurant served absolutely delicious traditional food using good quality local ingredients at reasonable prices - the cheesecake is the best cheesecake we have ever had. We enjoyed several bottles of the house wine during our stay by the pool while enjoying the view, and we regret that we did not bring some home to enjoy their delicious olive oil.
The day before the wedding, the awesome staff at Salvadonica prepared the most delicious welcome dinner, cooked over an open fire and served buffet style. The set up and decor for the meal was rustic and beautiful and was the perfect way to welcome our guests from their long journey and to kick off our wedding celebration.
The day of the wedding, Beatrice and Francesca surprised us by leaving a beautiful basket of flowers in our room. They also helped our wedding planner to coordinate set up of the event with the caterers. Jessica who is one of their best waitresses was available for the entire evening to make sure all our needs were taken care of. It was the most perfect wedding day a bride could hope for – perfect weather, beautiful views at every turn and never having to worry about the needs of her guests because it was already being taken care of.
Thank you to everyone at Salvadonica for an incredible vacation and for working so hard to make sure this special trip was so perfect for us. We will be definitely be back one day!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear K, Dear M,
..... we simply love you! This is the Review we printed out and framed!!!!!
Only one word: Thank you!
You were the Guests every hotel would like to have: respectful, smiling, positive...
Come back soon... with children!
Beatrice, Francesca
and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Salvadonica for 1 week and during our stay, celebrated the marriage of my sister with 35 close family and friends. The property is breathtaking and very well maintained. On arrival the first night, we had the pleasure of dining at the restaurant and all of the food was authentic and delicious! We truly felt at home and loved lounging either by the pool or sitting in the various seating areas that are scattered around throughout the property: all great places to take in the view while enjoying a glass of the property's delicious wine. Our 3 children had ample space to roam and play safely. Breakfast was always fresh and the chef was happy to accommodate any food allergies. The staff had a quiet presence, but were always happy to help when asked, which is ideal for a relaxing vacation. A big thank you to Francesca, Consuelo, Jessica and Marissa for making our stay memorable! My only regret is that I wasn't able to leave with the Salvadonica cheesecake recipe - the best cheesecake I have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear L,
Although we are not allowed to mention any names for privacy reason, we know exactly who you are! We loved your company and you, your children and your family were the best Guests ever: extremely polite, discreet, respectful and always smiling. Thank you for your kind review!
Our Chef's cheesecake is indeed to-die-for and besides it is served on the terrace by a smiling attendant while you are on holiday, with your legs stretched under the table: maybe this is the secret combination of ingredients which is only missing in yours !!!
Best greetings to you all,
Beatrice, Francesca
and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Salvadonica with another couple near the end of June 2013 and didn't want to leave! While we used the beautiful villa as a central point from which to make day trips to Florence, Pisa, San Gimignano and Radda, each evening we could not wait to get back to Salvadonica to enjoy a bottle of wine poolside overlooking the incredibly beautiful countryside. And we also returned each evening so as not to miss the magnificient dinners served in the Ristorante!

The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived after a long train ride from Rome and a stressful drive in a rental car from Florence. Beatrice and Francesca gave us a warm welcome, giving us a tour of the facilities and showing us our rooms. While the addition of air conditioning this year was a wonderful inviting addition, it actually wasn't needed during the late June days. We stayed in Rooms 14 and 15 and both were outstanding, with recently renovated bathrooms. What a treat to awaken to the beautiful view out the windows!

Breakfasts were fantastic, with a wide variety of fruits, pastries and drinks, as well as hot dishes created by the on-site chef that were seasoned with herbs from the villa's garden and which were indescribably delicious! Dinners at Salvadonica are truly a memorable experience, drawing not only guests from the villa, but also locals from nearby towns. The setting is perfect, whether seated inside or outside. And the service was outstanding - Jessica was an absolute delight!

Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer at Salvadonica. I can't count how many times we said to ourselves "we need to come back here, and stay longer"! Beatrice and Francesca encouraged us to come back at grape picking time in November and December! Well, I'm not sure about that - they said it is an awful lot of work!!

Don't pass up Salvadonica if you are planning to spend time in Tuscany! It will provide you with a truly idyllic Tuscan experience from a "home base" perfectly situated in the Chianti region.

Room Tip: Now that air conditioning has been added to every room and the bathrooms have all been renovated, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guests,
... after reading you words we had tears of joy in our eyes... Jessica was very touched that you mentioned even her...she is the latest (and youngest) who joined the Crew and she was very proud!
Thank you to all!
Come back one day: we are here to make your dreams come true!!!!
Beatrice, Francesca
and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I and our 3 teen age daughters stayed here in order to visit friends in a nearby village and see the sights in Firenze, Lucca and Sienna. We were welcomed incredibly warmly, as was our little dog! Everything was gorgeous, clean, beautiful and authentic. The food was superb and the charming chef made us all feel like old friends. Fantastic pool in the most beautiful scenery -- we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Each room was very individual as all the buildings hae been carefully restored, retaining their rust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EIE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guests,
You are the Guests every hotel would like to welcome every day: polite, very attentive, smiling, charming, open hearted... what else?
Come back soon,
Francesca, Beatrice
and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Wow!!! Beautiful property with stunning sunsets!! From our initial reservation through check out my family truly felt as though the owners and staff truly CARED about our experience!!

When you go you MUST eat dinner at their restaurant where the food is excellent and the staff is incredibly attentive.

Breakfast = wonderful

Dinner = wonderful

Location = easy to find and very convenient!

Cooking Classes = loved by my 16 and 14 year old daughters!

Property = stunning

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Family,
What a lovely message you wrote! Thank you for your enthusiastic review.
Come back as soon as possible as we loved your company as well!
Best greetings to all of you,
Beatrice, Francesca
and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed one night in this paradise. First when you arrive, you see the beautiful old buildings. It smells good (fresh air of countryside) The landscape are amazing. Then, one of the women who i think hold the place (I think there are sisters) welcome you to the place. Its calm, no stress. She bring you at your room wich is a mix with old (room) and new (bathroom). The room is very clean and they offer their own shower product (gel, shampoo and soap) This is a very relaxing place. You can drink wine and look at the landscape. The restaurant is expensive but you got to try it. It serve regional dishes with there own wine. Breakfast is really good. There's a coffee machine with all type of italian speciality coffee. Wifi is free but a thunderstorm broke it.. But at the end of the thunderstorm, a rainbow appear in vineyard. Wow!
The pool is clean and offer a beautiful view.
You can buy their homemade products like hand cream, oliva oil, and a 2000 wine for 15 euros
If all hotels were run like the salvadonica, we would'nt need trip advisor. Simple, friendly and beautiful.

Room Tip: The rooms are well isolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guests,
How can we thank you for your nice review? For the moment we wish to send you a loud Thank you from all of us!
It is a pity that you found the prices of the Restaurant expensive: are they really? The prices per dish range from 7,00 Euro to Euro 10,00 for a nice starter, from Euro 8,00 to Euro 10,00 for a delicious pasta (made by hand in San Casciano) sasoned with a choice of daily fresh sauces, from Euro 10,00 to Euro 18,00 for a rich meat course (always served with the daily side dish/es)... Bistecca alla Fiorentina and Special Dishes (like for example Tagliata with Tartufo (Truffles) are more expensive, that is correct but we offer them at prices that you can find anywhere here in the Region). We truly think that the quality we offer has a very good price...
Beatrice, Francesca
and the Staff :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here at the back end of May and arrived at Salvadonica in the sunshine - what a lovely arrival! There are few places I have stayed where you arrive and the place really is as good as the professional website photos. This buildings, grounds and surrounding landscape and countryside is beautiful; and the sunshine really sets it off. It's what you imagine Tuscany to be; bring your camera and your paint brushes!

We were longing for a few days to warm up from our snowy English winter and spring, enjoy the pool - (the outdoor area and views from the pool are fantastic); alas, the weather let us all down for most of the stay, however all the local towns and sights are all an easy drive away (30 - 40 mins).

I have to say our experience of the site in the cold and rain was that it was not particularly homely. It's not a self contained hotel; rooms are spread across buildings on the site; this works really well in the heat of summer but seemingly less in cooler and wetter weather. There is some kind of lounge attached to the reception, but this was tucked away behind reception and somehow did not seem very inviting so we were never inclined to go in. We should have been brave and checked it out!

The only other slight let down I felt was; if you are staying more than a few nights - whilst the food was enjoyable and on the first night the dining room was inviting on our only warm evening; it lacked variation, and I confess that the restaurant lacked atmosphere and attendance as the week went on. Perhaps as it is the same space as breakfast area and very much felt as if it was catered towards the hotel guests only. The food was lovely and beautifully cooked, but also quite formal and it became quite expensive to eat there.

The room we had (although not advertised as such) was partially self catering, a hob, a bread knife but no chopping board. It had potential but was not really adequate for any real attempt to cater for evening meals etc. We used the fridge and got provisions for lunches.

Other local restaurants options were not really viable without driving, and I confess in the cold we were not ambitious enough to venture out after a hard days sight seeing to try and find out. Although it sounds odd to suggest, it might work in Salvadonica's favour to recommend other local restaurants and local places of interest. I'd never really want to eat at a place the entire time I was staying there (we had 4 nights) and actually if we had the knowledge that there were other local restaurants to try and attractions; this would lure me back to Salvadonica for a longer stay, even if I did not eat there every night. Otherwise I would only recommend a couple of nights stay.

We enjoyed the Salvadonica wine and lovely fresh zinggy olive oil - I wish I had purchased some, its unlike any other I have tried! The lunch time platters were lovely too, you can linger over a long lunch overlooking the countryside and the tennis courts; and we enjoyed playing tennis on a number of occasions with rackets loaned out.

If anything I'd have loved to learn more about the place; having a tour of the estate to find out about the buildings, heritage, wine and olive oil making would have been great; the vines are right before you with different grape varieties and the olive groves too. The other thing that would be nice would have been tip offs for other more local picturesque spots; not just tourist sights, but countryside spots too, to actually enjoy Tuscan countryside; a drop off and pick up - picnic service would be great!

The staff were very polite and whilst the place oozes Italian charm its not pretentious; if anything I think it could be more familial - I cant see how anyone would not be interested to know more about the estate, the family and the folk that work there, everyone must admire it so much.

I can't recommend the place enough in terms of a sunny stop over for a few days, so much so that I might make it our mission to return when the weather is more guaranteed later in summer!

I wish the Salvadonica continued success .

Room Tip: Our room was 15 - it was large with separate space within the 'suite' with seating for dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your suggestions and comments about our House.
We wish to reconfirm that all of us at the reception are here to help you organize, to solve your little problems, to give suggestions and to show you around... only remember to ask us!
Please, think of our - descreet - presence as an opportunity to take advantage of it or not, as you prefer!
Warmest greetings from all of us,
Francesca, Beatrice
and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
3.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
818 reviews
6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,046 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa I Barronci
Villa I Barronci
#4 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range: £39 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing