We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, helpful staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, helpful staff, convenient location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Salvadonica was a great springboard for our day trips around Tuscany (Siena, San Gimignano, Florence, Arezzo, and even Pisa!). We stayed in a Classic Superior suite. The balcony offered a great view of the vineyard-lined hills (and the sunset). The kitchen and dining area were adequately equipped for basic cooking and dining for two people, which we found very convenient. The bedroom was nice but the mattress wasn't very comfortable.
The staff were very helpful. The made reservations for us at the nearby restaurant La Tenda Rossa (a must-try!) and helped us figure out the bus schedule. (Speaking of which, there's a bus that runs right from Salvadonica to Florence -- super convenient and inexpensive).
We didn't really make use of the various amenities at the Borgo (tennis court, massage room, pool). We did have dinner at the on-site restaurant, but it was nothing special given the price.

Overall, great staff, nice rooms, awesome location close to Florence and anywhere else you want to visit in Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear A.,
Truly thank you for your kind review. We are honoured to konow that you spent a nice time with us.
And thank you for your positive words that give justice to bus connection to Florence (and from Florence to here) which is realiable, cheap and on time! You really lived Tuscany like a local would: thank you!
Looking forward to welconing you soon,
Beatrice, Francesca
and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    95
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
152
289
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yambol, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice hosts, warm meeting! Cosy, refined with italian fineness and sence of home comfort!
Good people, good vine, beautiful nature! That is Tuscany, that is Salvadonica!
Rumen and Marusya Rusevi, Yambol, Bulgaria

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marusya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Family from Bulgaria,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was nice to have such nice people with us!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
All the best to you and ... to the the beautiful sunflowers you grow!
Francesca, Beatrice
and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Lovely staff! Speak great English, and very helpful with info when we had to find an emergency room. Great cook and food! Happy hour with good wine and snacks. Beautiful surroundings, postcard views all around. Fresh air (we live in Cairo). We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The room was fine. Bathroom tiny, but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear R,
Sooo lovely to read your nice words.
We are so pleased to know that you had a great experience with us.
We are sure that Il Cairo is not that bad, too! we wish we were in a position to compare!
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again,
The Salvadonica Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Salvadonica. In addition to the magical setting all of the staff were friendly and helpful at whatever time of day. We had problems with the internet connection but they sorted that out. They not only advised us on the sites to see in the area but arranged bookings for excursions.

The food was good although, or maybe because of, the menu is not extensive.

A few quibbles which didn't effect our enjoyment.

The soap tray in the shower couldn't contain the soap provided so it dropped to the floor.
Our room, although clean and spacious was dark and reading was difficult even if all the lights were on.
There was a kitchenette but it was lacking a coffee maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Mrs and Mr L,
Oh, so lovely to hear from you!
Thank you for your kind words and for all the suggestions.
We loved your company and miss your stories on the adventures on the Tuscan roads while driving on the other side (for you). You are such a brave couple!
Please, also say hallo to your daughter who we wrote to, back and forth, to make arrangements for your stay.
Come back to visit us soon,
Francesca, Beatrice
and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed during August for a few nights when visiting Florence and Sienna. Salvadonica is about 20 minutes from Florence and about 45 minutes from Sienna. It is located outside of the peaceful town of San Casciano in Val di Pesa. There are a few very good restaurants in San Casciano.

The guest room was spacious with a separate bedroom and sitting area. Sheets and pillow cases had rips in them. The sitting area had a small fridge and a TV. There is air conditioning in the rooms but it is quite loud. Sleep quality was not the best.

Nice pool area with beautiful views over the Tuscan hills. There are plenty of sunbeds and the light breeze was really welcome during the hot August days. The unheated pool had a good size for a refreshing dip. The jacuzzi was not working. There were no towels at the pool.

Menu card of their restaurant is not very big but there is something for everybody's taste. We had lunch once and dinner twice. Food is tasty and portions are not very big so one can happily devour a 3 course dinner. Very friendly service. We had their house wine which was very good. The restaurant is not big but there is a nice and romantic outside area where one can sit. Breakfast was disappointing and not consistent in choice.

There were a lot of families with small kids and it got quite noisy at the pool and during dinner time.

We liked Salvadonica for the location near the cities we wanted to visit but it did not have the relaxing atmosphere we were hoping for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your impressions about your holiday with us.
We were proud of your compliments and learned from your complaints. Your words were a fair combination between "stick and carrot" and we can only be happy to have such Guests who do not only put us down but also try to help us with precious suggestions.
We are sure you can imagine the "efforts" we daily do to run and to keep this House the way it is ... we will pay some more attention, anyway.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Francesca, Beatrice
and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed one night here on a family holiday around Florence near the end of September. The main reason we chose the places we did was because we needed one room for three people, and when we arrived the beds were separated etc. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and spoke brilliant English. The little restaurant is nothing hugely fancy but the food is good and fresh (I had ham and melon from the lunch menu which was divine!) and service is great. It is much more like a farm which happens to have space for people to stay so you can walk around and see the vines and olive trees or just look over the spectacular views from beside the pool. There are some cats and dogs that obviously live there who are just so relaxed - obviously a testament to the nature of the place! We didn't use it as we only spent one night but they have a TV and games room with a large selection of TV and radio channels from all over the world. The only minor bad point was that the pool was freezing (probably because of the time of year). I imagine that you would struggle without a car when staying here but it's worth being a little out of the way for the views. We got a free bottle of their own wine for checking in on Foursquare and it was good stuff!

Room Tip: Staying in Vigna 2 the apartment next to us was very audible, eg. toilet flushing and general moveme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeast2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear J,
Thank you for your nice review! We love to hear what travellers think after staying with us: we take the suggestions and we are very proud when we read the compliments!
The swimming pool is not heated and when the weather is not sunny for a few days the water can turn very cold... you experienced that in full! Trust us, just yesterday and even this morning the sun was marvelous and some Guests were still swimming in the pool!
A car is recommended while here as there are so many lovely hamlets, vineries and places of interest to discover... although there is a bus connection to the main cities nearby (we have the schedule available at the Desk) and the bus stop is 300 meters away. A selection of guided tours can be also booked here with us.
We hope to welcome you and your family again soon,
Francesca, Beatrice
and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my wife and my 7th visit to Salvadonica in the past nine years. Before we travel we always say we must look at other places next year and when we leave we book up immediatly for the next year!
This most charming Salvadonica has been blessed by nature because of the hills and its breathtaking scenery that you only hear the "sound of silence" at this location.
I just love swimming and the pool overlooking the countryside is just so wonderful.
This year for the first time Salvadonica have opened a restaurant and the food and Salvadonica wine was impressive. We had the pleasure of being served by the most charming and capable Jessica.
Salvadonica has all the charm of a family owned hotel and the two ladies owners Beatrice and Francesca are such nice dedicated ladies ably assisted by Consuela, they really make you feel at home.
If you are looking for much comfort or luxury then this is not the place for you. If you wish to find simplicity, nice people, breathtaking scenery in a perfect location then this is place to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnHCologneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear E, Dear J,
What a lovely review! Kowing what you think about us is important...
Your appreciation makes us very proud!
We can't wait to see you next year!
A big thank you in the name of Francesca, Beatrice
and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
3.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
753 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
15.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
607 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
12.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Property: Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing