We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property 30 minutes from Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful property 30 minutes from Florence”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 6 friends for a reunion. Could not have been better. Idyllic location, bedroom lovely , very professionally run, breakfast lots of local produce sitting on the lovely terrace . Ate in 3 times as food excellent. Concierge particularly helpful with directions , driving and day trip advice. Cannot recommend more highly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica, Proprietario at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest from New Zeland,

Many thanks for your kind review! We are very glad to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.

The distance for all major attractions like Firenze and Siena and the Chianti area is really eccellent.

We wish you a nice summer and hope to see you again.

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    96
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
153
288
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from spending two nights at Salvadonica with my two adult teen daughters. We had a relaxing time by the pool and I highly recommend the cooking class with lunch by Chef Maria Probst. Staff was welcoming and accommodating. Food at the restaurants was pretty good. Rooms were clean and pleasant. The views are beyond gorgeous with olive trees and grapes everywhere. Makes for a beautiful morning walk. I would come back for sure. About a 15 min transfer from Florence.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica1990, Responsabile reception at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Shannon,

We are very happy to know that you and also your daughters enjoyed their stay with us! You did so many things included the cooking class which is a very nice experience!

Hope to see you again and thank you from all of us.

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Salvadonica just for one night so our view is limited however we had a great time. The establishment is beautiful and well kept, good views across the vineyards and friendly staff. Breakfast was very nice too and mini bar prices are very reasonable. The only reason for not giving it 5 Stars is that they charged us 10 eur for olive oil tasting. If it was some proper tasting we would not mind but they only had one oil to taste and they could not even tell us what the percentage of acid was at time of pressing and neither which type of olive it was or which blend, therefore we felt it was a little inappropriate to charge such a fee. No biggie just unusual for our experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica1990, Responsabile reception at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that despite to the short stay you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We take a note of your disappointment about the olive oil tasting and we apologize if you were not satisfied. We promise that we will improve this service and please feel free to come anytime at Salvadonica and we will be glad to offer a wine tasting for free.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming in a future occasion.

Best regards,

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting Salvadonica here in July and this is somewhat of a gem.

We arrived in heavy rain and the worst wheather for a long time in July in Tuscany and when getting out of the car and into the office, I was a bit unhappy with the situation.

However, this changed fast when we where met by the most friendly and welcoming staff you can ask for and after a quick chek-in, we were taken to our rooms and this was very romantic and nice. Good and clean and the the perfect style and quality that you would ask for.

The place in itself is located in the beatiful Chianti Hills of Tuscany and I think the view is in top 3 in places in the world where we have had breakfast with a view.

We spend a few days in the place and will most definetely come back on a later ocassion - the place is somewhere you find you inner self and the peace and comfort that you can ask for in a holiday.

The place is brilliant in every way and the people and the level of service (together with the view and the atmosphere) is what makes this place stand out from the crowd.

I can only think of one small place that an improvement is possible and that is in the restaurant (seperate review) - when you spend a few day on the spot and eat more than 3 times in the restaurant you discover that the menu is not hte biggest (however very tastefull) and therefore I suggest to put a few extra selections on the menu and fish would be nice.

Room Tip: We had a room just across the restaurant, which was nice and very cosy without any noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

You will find yourself in a beautiful stone hotel (refurbished farmhouse etc,), in a country setting, away from noises of traffic and the hustle and bustle of the City (Florence is only 1/2 hour drive away). The setting is relaxing and peaceful. The staff are helpful and cheerful (some even sing while they work . . . !). Very good restaurant and included breakfast. Nice pool with plenty of comfortable chairs to relax and soak in the sun. Our room was a very good size, including a large bathroom. The air condition is quiet, and works well. The windows had views over vineyards. We also enjoyed a cooking class on site (fresh pasta, etc., etc.) and then enjoyed our meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhone4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica1990, Responsabile reception at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for putting your attention to the cooking class you had during your stay at Salvadonica. Maria is great and she does a great job!

Thank you also for your report about your stay with us, it seems that you liked everything and you appreciate the short distance to all major tourist attractions in the region.

We wish you a nice summer and hope to see you again.

Cordially,

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful old farmstead in wonderful setting! Views picture perfect overlooking the vineyards. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Had dinner in the restaurant one night, and the food was excellent. Also enjoyed the breakfasts served, outside on the terrace, overlooking the valley.
Bedrooms are comfortable in size, but the linen and towels need an update. Avoid the bedroom closest to the kitchen and terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica1990, Responsabile reception at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Yes, the view is one of the best ever! We wish to thank you for your review and for staying with us recently.

Thank you also for the nice comment about the food at the restaurant, thank you so much.

Your suggestion about the linen is really a surprising for us as we take care on to the bath towels and bed linen and they are always fresh and soft.

We wish you a nice summer and hope to see you in a future occasion.

Best regards,

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel set in lovely surroundings nice rooms. Breakfast were excellent good choice of food to high standard.
The evening meals were a disappointment The ravioli had a watery tasteless sauce and veg with our steak was a pile of mush. Not really prepared with much care.
The swimming pool full kids most of the day was murky and not cleaned well.
Did enjoy our stay but rather expensive food and accommodation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvadonica1990, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay with us and we are glad to know that you enjoy your breakfast with a good selection of choice.

Regarding the food at the restaurant, if you complained during your lunch or dinner whilst with us we could provide a different dish or could explain the way our chef cooked your meal. The "bistecca alla fiorentina" is an eccellent piece of meat cooked rare that is why the meat is so tender.

We thank you once again for your comment and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a future occasion.

Best regards,

Beatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
3.5 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
753 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
541 reviews
15.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
603 reviews
12.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
351 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti

Property: Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti
Address: Via Grevigiana 82 | San Casciano Val di Pesa, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Chianti hills, this stone guesthouse features an outdoor pool and is located in the rural hamlet of Salvadonica. Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, it offers en suite accommodation with Tuscan-style furnishings, air conditioning, minibar, tv and free Wi-Fi.Rooms and apartments are uniquely decorated and have different rustic features, such as wrought iron beds, frescoed walls, or exposed wood-beamed ceilings.Pastries, jams, meats and cheeses feature in the buffet breakfast , which is served in a room overlooking the Tuscan hills. The Salvadonica features a wine cellar where wine is produced, bottled and aged. Part of the cellar is carved in volcanic tuff.Guests can relax in the large garden, which encircles the swimming pool and overlooks the Tuscan countryside.The property provides free private parking and is well placed for visiting Florence, 18 km away, Siena; San Gimginano, Pisa and son on as well as the marvellous Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti Hotel San Casciano In Val Di Pesa
Salvadonica - Borgo Agrituristico Del Chianti San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing