We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible apartments, terrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fattoria Montignana
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible apartments, terrible management”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked this via KRAS in the Netherlands, and when we finally arrived at the address on the booking, we found out we were 'booked' in another fattoria. When we arrived there, we inmediately complained about the apartment, and asked if we could speak to management. Not only was the apartment placed in a former barn- remodeled into apartments, it was in the middle of no where, the walls were not the typicaly wide- the walls were very very thin- so it wasn't cool as usual in Italian houses.
Besides that we were placed on the 1st. floor, with neighboors above us, who were walking on a wooden floor, without carpet, so we could literally understand everything they were saying!
Below us was a family who liked to sit outside all evening, so we couldn't open the windows in the evening when we wanted to cool the rooms a bit, because we could literally understand what they were saying!
the furtiture (furniture?) was very old. Squeeking beds, and the pride of the apartments, the swimming pool, had plastic chairs, no cussions to sit on, and hardly any shade.
It was so terrible, we left after a week, booking the rest of our vacation elsewhere.
Thanks to KRAS, who didn't seem to care, and the management who 'was hardly available, and in the end didn't come up with a solution, this is a place from hell.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FattorieColi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Qiwi,
Thank you for your comment. We would like just to explain what was happend, just to be clear.
We are the owener of Fattorie Coli which are Fattoria Pratale, Querceto and Montignana, 3 beautiful farmhouses in the Chianti area.
We had a contract with your travel company which was like a "roulette", they booked us Fattorie Coli and then we decided which one of the 3 buildings. So you were not booked in another property but, probably, there was a misunderstanding between you and your travel agent.
The furniture in the apartments is not very old but it is in the style of typical Tuscan houses. The furniture is "antique" and not very old.
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your holiday because we usually do our best to satisfy all our guests.
Best regards,
Fattoria Montignana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Well, it is in a lovely position, BUT not well maintained.....problems with lack of hot water, low water pressure, beetles etc,end of season feel,staff stacking garden furniture etc,needs a Good Clean Up!! and you are made to feel VERY AWKWARD if you dare to point out the shortcomings............other than that , watch out for the guys taking potshots on weekends!! They live there,apart from that ,it's great!!

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — lack of facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martinicocktail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenaChianti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Fattoria Montignana, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear guest, We were terrible sorry to read your comments regarding your holiday in Fattoria Montignana. Our aim is always to satisfy our guests and to offer them a wonderful Tuscan hliday. I'm also sorry because you wrote "not well mantained" because we always take care of apartments and property mantainance and cleaning.
Best regards from Fattoria Montignana and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Casciano in Val di Pesa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.6 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
765 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Sant'Andrea
Villa Sant'Andrea
#7 of 19 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pian de' Noci - Tenuta del Palagio
Villa Pian de' Noci - Tenuta del...
#4 of 7 in Mercatale di Val di Pesa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tenuta il Corno
Tenuta il Corno
#1 of 32 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fattoria Pratale
Fattoria Pratale
#24 of 33 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
67 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fattoria Querceto
Fattoria Querceto
#29 of 33 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Montignana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Montignana

Property: Fattoria Montignana
Address: Via Montignana 4 | San Casciano, 50026, San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Speciality Lodging in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Montignana 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical “region” of Chianti Classico, Fattoria Montignana rises among the hills between San Casciano Val di Pesa and Greve in Chianti. The manor has been completely restored and divided into eleven independent apartments of different sizes with swimming pool. The furnishings of each apartment are characteristic of the typical rural Tuscan style, while at the same time affording every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fattoria Montignana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Montignana San Casciano In Val Di Pesa, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing