We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, but worth the detour!”

La Casa del Prosciutto
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth the detour!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

In the village of Vicchio, in the Mugello area north of Florence there is a delightful little deli & restaurant called, “La Casa del Prosciutto” (the house of ham). IF you appreciate eating where the locals eat, what they eat and how they eat it . . . this is your place. You enter through the deli. The restaurant space is very simple with plank tables and wood stools. The butter yellow plaster walls are accented with hanging plates, pictures and copper cookware. Go there knowing some basic restaurant Italian (or bring a dictionary) and don’t expect your server to speak English. What you should expect is to eat some of the best Italian country cooking you’ve ever experiences. They serve what’s in season and truffles were in season when we were there. I had some of the best homemade pasta with a truffle sauce that I still dream about today. While staying in a nearby villa in Tuscany for a week with friends, we ate here twice. I dream about going back there again someday.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsgibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    214
    30
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Typical from Tuscany!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Really nice place if you are on the road. I mean,if you are around and you don't know where to eat it's a nice place. It's a bit a rustic place, the staff is kind but not turistic, so don't expect to receive advices about food or explanation on what you are eating. You can expect to eat the real typical food.
We tasted chicken, salami, ham and crostini, a vegetable mix on some pieces of typical bread.
Really nice also the wine but the atmosphere is really confusing and caothic!Typically italian!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessia_Camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duras, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“it was OK!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Went here today with the family......an hour each way!! i was impressed by the reviews and felt it would be worth the journey.......it was not.....the food was average. we eat in italy a lot and this was an average, tasty meal.....nothing special. I was very disappointed when we left. the best thing i think i tasted was the prosciutto ham in the antipasti....that was sweet and moist and the pasta is home made and fresh.
Sorry, just giving my honest opinion.....if i was passing i would go again but wouldnt make a special effort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonkatilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“On the scooter to La Casa del Prosciutto”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I am a lucky girl as my Mum lives not far away from La Casa del Prosciutto.
We love to come here. Good food, good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The cold cuts and cheese were very nice and delicious, but what was mind blowing was the pasta. Hand made and beautiful :)

Helpful?
Thank Tammam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa del Prosciutto also viewed

Vicchio, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Vicchio, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Casa del Prosciutto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing