We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing "Babymoon"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Thank you to all of the staff at VCOOR for making our "Babymoon" so special. We booked the "love and a drop of olive oil" package, upgraded to gorgeous suite; had relaxing massages, enjoyed the delicious cuisine and were very happy with the service.

Room Tip: Suite 59 was beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Villa Campestri was the highlight of our Italian vacation. We only had 2 nights there but it was wonderful. The room was big and comfortable. It was like living briefly in a Rennaissance Villa. The staff were great and the dinner was fabulous. Off the neaten path but worth the trip. We would love to go back and spend a longer time there.

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs make sure you state that. Some rooms have lots of stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Absolutely top class accomodations. Third time staying there. Luxurious furnishings, very attentive staff, delicious gourmet restaurant on-site. Travelled this time with my in-laws and they too were very impressed! Every attention to detail that you could imagine. Located just a short, convenient train ride to Florence and the other surrounding attractions/towns in Tuscany. Want to be treated like royalty? Stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

It's not difficult to give this resort a top rating. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The room we stayed in was large comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was my favorite, the tub was HUGE. The landscape and view was breathtaking.
We were at Campestre for a week for cooking lessons with Chef Jerry. What a wonderful experience it was. Jerry was a delight to learn from, and has a wonderful sense of humor which made cooking so much fun. Dario, our waiter was professional and helpful too. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

When traveling through Tuscany, we found this Villa and had an amazing stay. We stayed in the small apartment which was charming; two bathrooms; two bedrooms; large eat-in kitchen; balcony; washer; dryer. It has all the amenities you could imagine including slippers for the tile floors. Price was very reasonable compared to what we paid in Rome and Venice. We loved the restaurant and especially the Salad for Catherine Medici. The walking trails were so private and the view just amazing! The owners and staff were so friendly; it felt like home. If you want to take cooking classes, you need to book them in advance as everything was full when we arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Four of us stayed at Villa Campestri last week, the end of September, and had a lovely time. Tatiana upgraded us to a two-bedroom suite in the annex building. It was very accommodating and spacious. It was a bit chilly at night and the beds could use some updating, but everything else made up for it.
My favorite things about the Villa:
-the quiet at night. Its so far off the beaten path, and totally quiet at night. Loved it.
-the view. It sits upon a hill and has amazing views of the town below
-the restaurant. Wow, the meal was so amazing. We ordered some of the best wine we had in Italy, upon the recommendation of our fabulous server Dario. We also ordered the aubergine ravioli, and filet of beef. You have to try the flight of olive oil as well.
-the service. everyone went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My Fiance and I recently spent 4 nights at Villa Campestri. The views were fantastic. Luckily, we booked plenty of things to do there, because there is only so much grazing around the property you can do before getting a bit bored. The food at the restaurant was great. We also did go out to eat at some restaurants in town, which were also fantastic. The staff recommended a local chianti winery to check out, which was a little hard to find, but was a great experience. We did the massage, olive oil tasting, tuscan sauce cooking class, and planted 10 olive trees. The pool was lovely and relaxing, and the woman who did the olive oil tasting was very knowledgeable. We relaxed, drove into town, and decompressed for 4 days. It was exactly what we needed.

We booked a junior suite, which was spacious enough and very clean. There was a musty odor in the room, which up on arrival was masked by a glade plug-in turned all the way up. It was too floral smelling for us, so we unplugged it and opened the windows. When the windows were open, we had no problems. Being there in September helped, because the weather was perfect and you can get a nice breeze.

The only thing that turned me off was that on the website it said if you plant 10 or more olive trees, the cost goes down to 20 euro per tree, from the original 25 euro. We planted 10 trees and were charged full price for the trees because it was stated that 1-10 trees was 25 euro, and 10-20 trees was 20 euro. A bit confusing, they need to revise this. I still feel I was charged 50 euro too much.

Overall, I would recommend it for its fantastic views, beautiful property, and good food.

Room Tip: if you have your windows open (which you will, because there is no air conditioning), rooms facing t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmapasquali, Proprietario at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear M.G.,

I am Gemma Pasquali, the knowledgeable woman who did the olive oil tasting. Thank you for your e-mail and for the very good review you posted on Tripadvisor. I have to admit I was surprised when I read you feel you was charged 50 euro too much. Why didn't you say that at the check-out? However when you come back to Villa Campestri, which I hope will be soon, we would like to make it up to you: a gift card for a complimentary relaxing massage is waiting for you!
Following are the ingredients and recipes of the cookery course on sauces you took.
I am really looking forward to welcoming you again to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort!
My Best Regards,
Gemma Pasquali

The Meat Sauce
Ingredients:
1 kilo of mixed milled meat (pork, beef) - 5 onions - 1 carrot - 1 celery - salt and pepper - 1 liter of tomato
Directions
1. In a large skillet, warm olive oil over medium heat and sauté milled onions, carrot, celery until tender; mix well.
2. Add mixed milled meat of pork and beef to skillet; sauté until tender.
3. Add tomato sauce to mixture; simmer for 1 hour.
4. Stir well and simmer sauce on low for 2 to 3 hours, stirring occasionally; serve.

Fresh Tomato Sauce
Ingredients:
10 tomatoes - 3 cloves of garlic - 5 spoons of extravirgin olive oil - salt and pepper - some leaves of basil
Directions
1. In a large pot, put the chopped tomatoes, cover and cook over moderate heat until the tomatoes are softened and soupy, about 15 minutes.
2. Set a food mill over a very large bowl. Add the tomatoes and puree them into the bowl.
3. Heat the olive oil in a pot, add the garlic and cook over very low heat until softened, about 5 minutes.
4. Add the tomato puree, basil, seasonal and salt.
5. Simmer over low heat until the sauce is thickened and reduced, about 2 hours. Discard the basil.
6. Let the sauce cool, then pour into containers and you may freeze for up to 4 months!

Pesto
Ingredients:
50 grams of basil leaves - ½ glass of extravirgin olive oil – 6 spoons of grated parmesan cheese – 2 spoons of ewe's cheese – 2 garlic gloves – 1 spoon pine nuts - salt
Directions
1. Combine basil, garlic, grated parmesan cheese, spoons of ewe's cheese, olive oil, the pine nuts and the salt in the bowl of a food processor or blender. Blend to a smooth paste.

The Mushrooms Sauce
Ingredients:
600 grams dried Porcini mushrooms – chives – marjoram – parsley - 50 grams butter – 2 spoons of extravirgin olive oil - 1 garlic - 1 onion - tomato paste or fresh tomatoes (1 cup) - 100 grams of bacon - 1 sausage
Directions
1. Heat olive oil and butter with garlic in a pot and add the following ingredients: bacon, sausage, chopped onion. Sauté until tender;
2. Add mushrooms and simmer for 1 hour;
3. Add all the mixed herbs in the ingredients and the cup of tomato;
4. Simmer until thickened;
5. Serve on top of crunchy bread.

The Walnut Sauce
Ingredients:
250 grams of shelled walnuts (if fresh, peeled) - 2 spoons fresh ricotta – 50 grams pine nuts - 4 spoons extravirgin olive oil - crumbs 2 slices of bread (soaked in milk) - 1 garlic clove
Directions
1. Soak 2 slices of bread in milk.
2. Mix with a blender adding shelled walnuts, pine nuts, fresh ricotta, and garlic;
3. Store in fridge for several days and use it to serve on top of crunchy bread or as a pasta sauce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
21.6 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,320 reviews
5.8 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
97 reviews
8.2 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,119 reviews
10.9 mi away
Il Salviatino
Il Salviatino
#90 of 411 in Florence
758 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range: £84 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing