We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I took visiting friends to Villa Campestri for lunch recently and the place is truly a little piece of paradise. In the beautiful hills of Mugello, it overlooks the Vicchio/BorgoSan Lorenzo plain and the Appenines beyond. It is peaceful and relaxing, a perfect place to get away from the frenetic world. And the food is fabulous. From the olive oil tasting appetizer to homemade pasta profumed with orange and topped with a duck sauce to totrtelli muggelane (a specialty of the area, large tortelli stuffed with potato and topped with ameat sauce) to a lovely understated risotto di mare to a roast rabbit and rosemary flavored potato sformato, we made our way happily through it all, sharing our choices with each other. And we could not miss the chocolate torta made with olive oil and oozing warm chocolate from its center. Sisters Viola and Jemma and their wonderful staff take meticulous care of their guests. I highly recommend your finding the time to visit them.

Room Tip: I have not stayed with them as I live in the area but I have seen the rooms and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am certain that after reading your wonderful review of the Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort and the area we will have many interested visitors! It is always helpful to read someone else's experiences before going somewhere.

I am glad you enjoyed everything that the Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort and the local area had to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
162
327
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Villa Campestri last year and had such a relaxing time we had to go back again this year.
The hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility, a wonderful place to relax and unwind in the most beautiful setting.
The staff are exceptionally helpful, everyone seems to take such pride in their work, nothing is too much trouble.
We had a junior suite in the main building which was very spacious and comfortable with a fantastic beamed ceiling.
The pool is lovely, if a little chilly! Beautiful views and plenty of space around.
The restaurant is superb! lovely food and a great selection. We were offered the chef's special every night to add more choice. Dario was as charming as ever!
Thank you Villa Campestri, we will be back! xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I just stayed at this beautiful hotel. It represents Tuscany in its true sense. The hotel has been lovingly restored and the views across the valley were stunning. The staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. Especially the reception staff where nothing was too much trouble. A great retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgcrimlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for four nights with our 20-moth-old son and had a fabulous time. As others have lamented, the scenery is ridiculously beautiful, the staff are exceptional, the grounds are spectacular, the wine is delicious and the food is glorious. Easy drive from Florence airport with sat nav and easy drive into vicchio for a wander round and to stock up on water, etc. Wifi in the rooms would have been handy but it wasn't a problem. Lack of air con wasn't a problem either as our room was very cool, largely due to it being so dark! That was the only issue we had - that the room was so dark and pokey. Would love to return one day but would opt for a higher grade of room. Everyone from the cleaners to the owner to the other guests were friendly and made a fuss of our son which is always nice :-) We will always have fond memories of this special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff at Villa Campestri were exceptionally helpful, hospitable, gracious hosts. The building was full of character and the room opulent and extremely comfortable. The view over the Mugello valley was stunning and the walks around the property and up the road were pleasant...but it was really the people that made it special. They have a knowledgable sommelier on staff which made dining in quite fun.

There is no wifi in the rooms which may be an issue for some but we were fine with it. The other small issue with the rooms (at least the one we had) was that because of the age of the building the windows were very small and the large rooms relatively dark.

Florence is about 35 minutes away- and we were great instructions from the front on where to park and the best route in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Birdingfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very imposing villa, clean, comfortable, and helpful staff. Set high on a hillside, the very old Villa retaiing a lot of 'old' but charismatic features, affords lovely views, particulalrly from the swimming pool, down into the valley and beyond. We stayed for four days having been in Florence for the previous 3, and it was a lovely contrast. However, it is a short drive, and is accessible by train, so it could be used as a base to travel into Florence if required. We did travel to Bologna, and Pisa to fly home, which are about 90 mins, and 2 hours by car respectively. Generous self service buffet breakfast, and very good food available at lunch and dinner.
Only minor complaint is that you have to ask at reception every time for drinks during the day and the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A gorgeous resort with exceptional hospitality! The villa combines old word luxury and charm with a feel-at-home welcome, in a beautiful setting.

The trip to the villa, through beautiful countryside, is an added bonus. We used the NavFree app, which provides offline free GPS for navigation, and found Villa Campestri with ease.

Dinner was delicious, and served outside. The kitchen was accommodating to our vegetarian needs.

A note about air conditioning: A few reviewers complained about the lack of air conditioning. We visited on very warm August days, and not only was the villa always comfortable, most people were wearing a sweater during dinner, and went indoors for coffee and dessert because it got chilly outside.

Thanks again, Viola, Sandra, and everyone at the beautiful Villa Campestri. Hope to see you again, soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerFr0mPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing