We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely villa and grounds. The views from the Villa of the surrounding countryside are truly outstanding. The room was well appointed with antiques but the bed was not too comfortable. Our room was on the south side so was warm in the evening. We were given two fans that helped with the heat. We enjoyed Ayurvedic massages in the bamboo grove. The breakfast buffet was adequate however scrambled eggs would have been nice. There is an egg cooker for boiling eggs to your own liking. The down side to the lovely setting is the distance to the train station in Vicchio if you do not have a car. Our taxi driver was always on time but the cost to the train station is 20 Euros. The staff were very friendly and responsive to all our needs. The desk is staffed 24/7. The villa and grounds are immaculate. With all this said I would definitely recommend Villa Campresti.

Room Tip: Must be able to climb stairs. May be helpful to ask for a room on the north or east side for coolnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
161
326
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I enjoyed our stay here but I have to confess there were a few issues. The rooms are historic and comfortable but the beds are too old and need total replacement, instead of insisting on using grandmother's headboards that only fit shorter people. They are unprepared for very tall guests. The property and gardens are very pretty. The food at the restaurant is very good and we ate there two nights and enjoyed the dishes. I did think the service in the dining room relied too heavily on the one waiter who was assisted by two young women. The two didn't have much authority to bring wine for example. The property is rather far to Florence, so is more of it's own destination. We did drive around but all the small villages make for very slow speed and incredible number of speed traps! The service at the hotel was very friendly. It is a very nice place to enjoy a Tuscan lifestyle.All in all is not luxurious and relies on old but not always comfortable furniture. So it is a nice get away for someone looking for that as long as they don't expect 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I travel all over the world for a living and have been fortunate to stay in some beautiful places.
Villa Campestri truly took my breath away. The food was amazing, the olive oil was fabulous and the service was wonderful. The owner and his lovely daughters over see the day to day operations, the front desk staff is incredibly helpful and all of them were very gracious. I also enjoyed a wonderful olive oil massage, by a very talented masseuse. The views from the swimming pool are magnificent and the surrounding forest is magical.The hotel is a short distance from Florence, and easy drive or a 45 minute train ride. A great escape from the crowds
in Florence. I can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We loved our week long stay at Villa Campestri! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by one of the many charming and helpful staff and we immediately felt relaxed. We ate in the restaurant the first night and my husband was not feeling well. Dario was so sympathetic and offered solutions such as keeping the food and reheating it later for us. By coincidence I had a heavy cold one of the other days and stayed in bed most of the day. Again the staff were so lovely offering to take up tea to the room if I would like some.
We ate there another night and had some more beautiful food and wine the Villa has to offer. I am still thinking about the beautiful salad I ate there!
Being light sleepers we did not expect to sleep so well! The bed, pillows and just sheer quietness of the hotel allowed us to sleep really well each night.
We loved that the pool was in a different area to the main Villa as it felt secluded with amazing views.
Even though we had seen many photos on tripadvisor before we went, its even more beautiful when you see it in person. We are already talking about going back next year! In the meantime we have great memories of Villa Campestri!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peadarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I took visiting friends to Villa Campestri for lunch recently and the place is truly a little piece of paradise. In the beautiful hills of Mugello, it overlooks the Vicchio/BorgoSan Lorenzo plain and the Appenines beyond. It is peaceful and relaxing, a perfect place to get away from the frenetic world. And the food is fabulous. From the olive oil tasting appetizer to homemade pasta profumed with orange and topped with a duck sauce to totrtelli muggelane (a specialty of the area, large tortelli stuffed with potato and topped with ameat sauce) to a lovely understated risotto di mare to a roast rabbit and rosemary flavored potato sformato, we made our way happily through it all, sharing our choices with each other. And we could not miss the chocolate torta made with olive oil and oozing warm chocolate from its center. Sisters Viola and Jemma and their wonderful staff take meticulous care of their guests. I highly recommend your finding the time to visit them.

Room Tip: I have not stayed with them as I live in the area but I have seen the rooms and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmapasquali, Owner at Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am certain that after reading your wonderful review of the Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort and the area we will have many interested visitors! It is always helpful to read someone else's experiences before going somewhere.

I am glad you enjoyed everything that the Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort and the local area had to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Pasquali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Villa Campestri last year and had such a relaxing time we had to go back again this year.
The hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility, a wonderful place to relax and unwind in the most beautiful setting.
The staff are exceptionally helpful, everyone seems to take such pride in their work, nothing is too much trouble.
We had a junior suite in the main building which was very spacious and comfortable with a fantastic beamed ceiling.
The pool is lovely, if a little chilly! Beautiful views and plenty of space around.
The restaurant is superb! lovely food and a great selection. We were offered the chef's special every night to add more choice. Dario was as charming as ever!
Thank you Villa Campestri, we will be back! xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I just stayed at this beautiful hotel. It represents Tuscany in its true sense. The hotel has been lovingly restored and the views across the valley were stunning. The staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. Especially the reception staff where nothing was too much trouble. A great retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgcrimlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing