We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit as good as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

A few years ago we stayed at the Villa Campestri. We decided to try it again for one night. The good news is we enjoyed it as much the second time as our first stay. The location is way up on a hill with a superb view of the surrounding area. Try to arrive in daylight you may not wish to drive up the mountain at night. The room & bathroom was very clean.

It is a very old house and noise does travel. During the day we could hear our neighbours walking. At night guests seem to be respectful and noise was not an issue. There is also no elevator or A/C. Nights were cool so this was not an issue.

We had dinner in the restaurant. While it is expensive, it was wonderful. Breakfast was also very good and you can enjoy it on a terrace. A cold buffet with hard boiled eggs. WIFI worked in the main part of the house and was slow and weak in our room.
Summary a great base to tour Tuscany or for a one night stay. The only word of caution, due to its location you will likely need to eat dinner at the hotel which can be costly. The good news is the food and service was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
160
325
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We enjoyed four nights in this magical venue. The meals were fantastic. The ladies at the front desk all helped keep our days organized. The highlight of our visit was cooking class with Chef Christian who was as patient and thoughtful as ever. We enjoyed Romano's attention and service at two dinners. We enjoyed a few runs on the trails and even ran up/down the road to the Villa since we were really overdoing the carbs. We liked seeing the chickens in the field and missed using the mountain bikes due to weather. We would stay again and would recommend a visit without hesitation.

The worst thing about our visit was the massage. The room and the table were not just cool, it was freezing. There was only one small towel to cover up with. Her hands were freezing the whole time. She spoke so little English it was ridiculous. She did not seem to even understand hand gestures for "more pressure" from myself 60" treatment and my husbands 90" treatment. The music was from South America and it was fast, upbeat, and way too loud.

It was the hugest waste of 250 euros ever and was definitely the most relaxing and worst massage ever. These are not excessive complaints as I would have appreciated reading such a review prior to booking.

Even when I checked out I voiced these concerns to the owner who did not blink, apologize, and certainly did not take one euro off the massage bill. I have had massages at types of spas all over the world, from the four handed massage on a beach chair in Vietnam, Ritz spas in the Caribbean, ancient caves in Greece. Do yourself a favor and go someplace where they know service and value your time and money.

The only other deterrent was an incessantly barking dog which sometimes went on til very late, past midnight. We can stay in our own home in our own neighborhood if we want to hear the dog chorus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieDR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent three days here at this fabulous resort while visiting Italy. Nestled in the idyllic countryside of Tuscany, this resort has it all. When i first saw pictures of this resort online i decided it had to be this place and i must say it totally lived up to its expectations.
We stayed here in early April 2014 and this was our anniversary moon, we realized that we should have booked this at the end of our journey in Italy (we stayed here at the beginning of the journey) because this is the spot for ultimate relaxation and peace.
The food was amazing, there were so many things to do around the resort especially the walks around and over the hills. They make their own honey and grow their own produce, at night the entire place has a olive-oil aroma that has a calming effect on the nerves.
Since we live in Dubai, for us this was like out of the movies or rather like poetry, lush green hills making up the horizon and it's remote location makes it the perfect place for a quiet and relaxing family vacation.
The staff at the reception was so pleasing, my toddler was a huge fan of them instantly. Our room had a rustic feel to it and it was very cozy and was a typical tuscan villa.
I would definitely try to come back to this place, its out-of-this world so picturesque.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BatoolBahroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from three nights at the beautiful and unique Villa Campestri. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome byTatiana, who took us up to our suite with a fabulous tile and beamed ceiling. The ancient walls and tile floors created a Tuscan ambiance, but with all the modern conveniences. During the olive oil tasting with Jemma, we learned so much about olive oil production and what to look for in a good olive oil. Many cooking classes are offered, and I took one on Italian sauces with Chef Cristian. It was a great learning experience combined with fun and a great tasting afterward. The villa offers an abundant complimentary breakfast and an elegant dining room. We ate in the restaurant two of our three nights and enjoyed each meal and the suggested wine. Viola helped us with directions and suggestions for an afternoon day trip. The family who owns the villa has created a wonderful retreat in the beautiful countryside of the Mugello region of Tuscany. What sets this resort apart is the active role the family plays in all aspects of the Villa Campestri experience. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The rooms are large with private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I spent three wonderful, relaxing nights at Villa Campestri. The resort is beautiful, with sweeping views of Tuscany and just remote enough to make you feel like you are the only two around. The restaurant was quite good, and the breakfast was delicious! Also the front desk service was wonderful! They were all very helpful. We got massages during a rainy afternoon and it was the most relaxing massage I've ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Tuscany - 45 mins away from Florence, but also a world away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

a week's peace and quite in the most lovely resort. This family owned hotel is the best place I have stayed for many years. The family welcome you as if you are entering their own home, the rooms are well-appointed and food is excellent. The chef experiments with the home grown olive oil and makes some exceptional dishes. The ambiance and grounds are lovely - although too cold to swim yet, the pool looked inviting and the gardens and grounds are lovely for a peaceful walk or a rest in a deckchair with a book. a haven away from the stresses and strains of work and the city and somewhere to visit again and again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely, but those in the annexe across the courtyard offer a separate ahven if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

When you have enjoyed a holiday previously so much, it is often with slight nervousness that a second visit might disappoint,but how could there have been any doubt! From the moment you drive through the magnificent entrance you breath the calm and pace that the location dictates.The warm welcome from the family and staff can only confirm that your choice to return was the right one.
The rooms were elegant and spacious and the attention to detail much appreciated
The wonderful walks around the house give fantastic and spectacular views of the area, you completely understand how this area inspired so many artists over the centuries.Campestri makes a welcome rest from nearby cultural centres as here after a day perhaps sightseeing you have a sense of coming home and are immersed into this living canvas.
Thank you Paolo and his family and attentive staff for making once again a special trip to remember and one we have no hesitation in reccomending to others.
Liz

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vicchio
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort

Property: Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Address: Via Campestri 19/22, 50039 Vicchio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vicchio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vicchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort, a splendid Renaissance residence dating back to the 13th century, overlooks the Mugello Valley, north of Florence. Situated on a hilltop, the estate is immersed in a hug lush park with secular olive trees, providing a superb organic extra-virgin olive oil. A loving restoration has been carried out with full respect for the structural form and original materials of the buildings. The rooms and suites preserves the ancient fascination of the residence, thanks also to the period furnishings. Traditional Tuscan cuisine and a special Olive Oil Menu are served at the L'Olivaia Restaurant featuring stylish inner rooms and a striking outdoor panoramic terrace. The relaxing swimming pool boasts a stunning view of the Valley. An extensive choice of memorable activities is available: Oleoteca® to enjoy extra-virgin olive oil sensory experiences, Tuscan cooking classes, Ayurvedic massages with self-produced extra-virgin olive oil and essential oils and plant your own olive tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Hotel Vicchio
Campestri Hotel Vicchio
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort Vicchio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing