We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for school trips!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bussolengo
1 review
“Perfect for school trips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Having just returned from the hotel gardesano with 36 children, I would highly recommend this location for school parties. The children loved the pool which was clean and very large... Plenty of room considering there were at least 4 other schools staying at the same time.
The food was good, plenty of choice for everyone.
Rooms were all allocated in one block so was safe and easy to manage.
There were some rooms which needed a little tlc, bits of wallpaper hanging off, broken taps etc but we weren't there to stay in our rooms so they were adequate for our needs.
Only one negative was there was a massive party one night for locals which went on till 2:30 am where lots of young people were worse for wear which was unnerving for the staff with regards to the safety of our pupils whose balconies were along the path out of the disco.
Overall I would return to this hotel with a school group, as long as the disco night was not on the same week!!! The pool really made it, plus it's in a good location to get to the lake, Verona, waterpark etc.
I definitely wouldn't recommend this place for couples or families in the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123danno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    209
    282
    246
    392
See reviews for
385
322
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Brought a school party here. Overall a great venue for them. Fantastic pool and other good amenities. Almost a separate wing for them to stay in which was really useful for keeping tabs on them and keeping our own noise to ourselves. There were many school parties from all over Europe here (although mainly British) and so wouldn't recommend it as a quiet family destination.

Food was on the whole very good, breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was a buffet setup which offered quite a lot of variety but it never really changed over the 4 days we stayed there so became a little boring over the time.

Overall the place, rooms, dining room, pool was very clean. However, we had a number of problems in the room to start with such as broken electrical sockets and toilet cisterns. Problems were sorted quickly through the reception though.

Overall it was a great venue for our school tour and would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnimup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Went here on a school trip expecting the worst, actually it was very impressive.
1. The POOL IS NOT GREEN. It is a good size and clean.
2. The ROOMS are CLEAN. They may not be the most modern, and the key cards can have issues. Only other problems were one of the 20 odd rooms in our group had a leaking air conditioning unit. Some may find the shower units a bit small.
3. The buffet is similar everyday, but the FOOD IS VERY TASTY and there is A REASONABLE VAREITY. Still Italian food, pasta for starters and various cakes for breakfast. Panna cotta and tiramisu for pudding. Not loads of meat available but always large selection of vegetables and salads. Can be heavily seasoned though.
4. The staff seem friendly enough but aren't the most helpful.
5. If you want WIFI it works only really in the seating area inside by the stairs to the basement or the courtyard just outside from that.
6. The views were excellent.

Room 116c has the extra advantage of a bathroom window as it is an end room. We're staying in block C, I have heard other blocks we not so good.

Room Tip: Block C, 110- 125. 116c has a bathroom window, helped rid condensation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Sorry David have to disagree!!

Let's be as honest as possible here:

* Environment:
It is very dated, inside and out. Corridors have peeling walllpaper, smells etc. Basically they have 4 blocks A-D. Only B and some of A are for public, The rest are for 'students' - all ages in large buses. A and B face pool/ back. If facing pool very noisey. We were in B and at bottom of exit was dried vomit (delightful)! All around are fag ends (I appreciate Italians smoke more). From overhearing some conversations - it is clear that some younger people come to fall out of bed, drink, burn in sun, drink and fall into bed (hence vomit!)
*Pool:
Like many trippers - booked this for our 11 year old son between Lake Maggiore and Venice. The pool is big, clean but dated. can stand in all of it which is good. BUT be aware that at hot weekends all the locals visit and can be very busy!! If cloudy you'll be fine. The bar is owned separate to the hotel so they have no idea what is happening. But Vincent who owns bar is great and bar is good. When there are lots of people in they will run events eg a disco in the pool area with bright lights that shine all night in your room, and goes til 1am (as my man said it was a little like being in guantanomo bay!
* Room(s):
We had booked a room for Saturday night through WOTIF but got dates wrong so asked if we could get one for Friday night. I believe we therefore got worse room left! Room number 237B - BEWARE! Shower broken, air con broken (very old noisey big unit above door), facing disco and lights, peeling wall paper, parts of wall missing, bash in door - you get the picture! Then son threw up all night - oh Bliss!! Had to have door open or would have died of heat!

I went to complain to reception - asked to see a Manager on Sat morning. Basically no Manager - maybe in pm (Saturday). She tried very hard, bless her - and gave us a reduced fee! I got the sense she had many complaints generally and that the owners did sweet F.A. Had to stay second night as Wi-Fi too bad to locate another place. Saw this room before accepting it -.225B. It is the same decor, they're very small, old but at least shower/ air con working and faces back.

Food:
We came to Italy to enjoy pucker italian cuisine and yes good food is important to us. If it's not important to you don't bother reading rest! The first night included evening meal. This is a starter of 3 pastas. We each tried one - they taste like a packet ones - least italian pasta I've ever had. Then there is a buffet. this was disgusting! No other words. Tough, cold when should be hot, tasteless, greasy and not authentic eg slimey artificial mozzorella. My son tried each of the desserts for us - tiramisu - tasteless, chocolate blancmagne and creme caramel - as if made with powder and all served in large metal containers cut up like school dinners! He had one mouthful of each and he likes sugar/ sweet! Then threw up all night - could be bug or not.......... I ended up on a liquid diet of a large bottle of Prosecco to drown sorrows - now that was good! My man said he was sure the chef was from an old eastern european prison.

So I suspect if you time it right and either avoid evening meal or don't mind 1970's english bad food, it could be OK! And to be fair it is cheap!

Personally I would like to tell everyone NOT to come here so they will have to start doing something to improve it......... And they have the nerve to ask everyone to promote them on social media on their leaflets! Seriously, on driving round the area (which is beautiful) there are some lovely hotels that may not be on websites.

Phew! Glad I got that off my chest!!

Room Tip: Avoid 237B. Otherwise take a room at your own risk!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyHAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bussolengo hotels

Bushey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I read other reviews of this place before we went there with a party of sixth-formers on a tour with the college choir. It was not as bad as I expected.

Good points.

- The restaurant was fair. The food was all quite acceptable and, while not first-class, was all edible. The breakfasts include 'continental', German (käse und schinken) or a sort of English breakfast, i.e. scrambled egg. Also cereals and breads and cakes; the coffee is OK. Lunch and dinner consist of a first course of pasta and then self-service main course and dessert, all reasonable quality.

- The staff are quite helpful. The hotel were quite good about us rehearsing.

- There is a bar next to the swimming pool. The teenagers had a good time in the pool.

Less good points:

- The whole place seems to be in need of refurbishment. The air-conditioning all seems to drip condensation. In the restaurant we thought there was a leak from a room above us as there was water pouring out of the ceiling but we were told it was condensation from the air-con.

- In our room there was only one power source. I need mains electricity for my breathing machine next to the bed, plus we had two telephones to charge. There was piece of flex coming out of a hole in the wall with a single socket on the end, which seemed to be the TV power source. Years of experience have taught me to take an extension lead.

- The air-conditioning unit in our room was not very energetic, though others in our party said theirs was OK

- The bathroom looked as though it was past its best. There was a radiator which was leaking. The shower head was leaking so if you turned it up to full pressure it sprayed out above the shower cabinet sides. Also the shower cabinet was so tiny that every time I breathed my stomach switched the water flow off. There was not enough room to bend down to wash legs properly - slightly like trying to take a shower in a coffin.

- Hotel is not in the town, but about a mile outside, so don't go there if you were expecting to pop into the town for a drink. Also don't depend on the local taxi drivers for timing. We ordered a taxi for 9:45 to go to 10am mass in the parish church in Bussolengo, and it turned up at about 10:10.

Altogether, I have stayed in worse places

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_S_Bushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

hotel complex is located basically far away from everything. although it is recently renovated, hotel is best to avoid.
hotel rooms are unequipped, furniture is IKEA style, TV is 11 inch, most of hotel smells like kindergarten food, wallpapers are already messy, bathrooms are small and well damaged, towels are basically kitchen rags, mostly school kids stay in this hotel, so level of noise is beyond imagination. breakfast is buffet style, and to be honest, better than expected.
it would be for the best to avoid this hotel, and find better solution

Room Tip: take a moment, make a silent pray before entering reception, maybe God will have mercy and give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I was hoping the reviews were exaggerated but NO THEY ARE TRUE! Dirty, aged, unsanitary, loud mobbish school parties, disco under the bedrooms until late hours run by the bar staff. Completely unsympathetic and disinterested staff. Food passable, but cheap.

In beautiful surroundings but let down by lack of cleaning, poor hygiene and terrible customer service!

Room Tip: They are all terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bussolengo
2.1 mi away
Montresor Hotel Tower
Montresor Hotel Tower
#1 of 5 in Bussolengo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Krystal
Hotel Krystal
#2 of 5 in Bussolengo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo ai Monti
Albergo ai Monti
#3 of 5 in Bussolengo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
8.2 mi away
Antares Hotel
Antares Hotel
#7 of 7 in Villafranca di Verona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Danieli la Castellana
Hotel Danieli la Castellana
#6 of 6 in Castelletto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano

Property: Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano
Address: Via Pastrengo 69, 37012 Bussolengo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bussolengo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bussolengo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Turistico Gardesano Bussolengo
Centro Turistico Gardesano Hotel
Hotel Centro Turistico Gardesano Bussolengo, Italy - Province Of Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing