We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food, great wine list, lacks a bit in atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Covolo

Al Covolo
Price range: US$53 - US$65
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
188 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good quality food, great wine list, lacks a bit in atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This restaurant was advised to us by our B&B (Villa dei Pini). We had an excellent meal and good wines. We ate inside and were only guest in the restaurant. The restaurant is nicely decorated, though not very cosy. The owners are very helpfull, sometimes even a bit too much too our liking....

We had a full meaal: antipasta, primi secundi and desert. With it we drank a white Lugana form Fratelli Fraccaroli (quite cheap) and a red Giuseppe Campagnola Amarone (very reasonable priced) .

The antipastas were a tart of monte Veronese garnied and parma ham with cheesed polenta . Bothe very good.

For pasta , we had Bigoli with ragu and tagiatelle with home made pesto. Also excellent.

For mains we had dishes of deer, lamb, beef (brasato) . Good meat, nice rosé cooked (exept for the brasato of course) but not too special. Deserts were cakes , tiramisu and gelato. Also nice but not too special .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    47
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
240 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Quality and tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have been here several times, while staying in different places in the region. It was a pleasure to come back to Al Covolo for a well prepared dinner in a traditional ambience. The owner, Adelino Molinaroli, was so kind to pick us up again and to drive us so San'Ambrogio. This time, our menu comprised bresaola della valtellina and sformatino di formaggio as starters, tortelli ripieni di agnello brasato as primo, and controfiletto di manzo as secundo piatto - all very well prepared by son, chef Andrea. Adelino being a recognized AIS sommelier, his advice on the wines can be fully trusted. We enjoyed a beautiful ripasso and finished with a glass of amazon, served with peccorino cheese. The quality of the food, the atmosphere, and the personal service made this into another very pleasant experience. Al Covolo also has a wine cellar where excellent wines from the region can be tasted and purchased - something to keep in mind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kista, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
464 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch out in the garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Excellent lunch after the wine testing at Villa Monteleone. Try their pasta with pesto and why not a bottle of Montelleone classic or ripasso. Don't say no to the grappa if offered. Very friendly atmosphere and calm and quite place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

This restaurant was recommended to us by the owner of Villa San Giorgio. We were not disappointed. I ordered the balsamic steak and it was cooked to perfection and the balsamic was reduced and sweet. Great wines and generous pours.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnetn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

We ate here on a slow Sunday afternoon for lunch at the recommendation of Lucia from our wonderful B & B Villa Monteleone. The father and daughter took excellent care of us despite our lack of Italian language skills. The food was marvelous. The wines were of course, superb. We ate rabbit pasta and duck. the tiramisu dessert was the best I've ever had. everything was very fresh, wonderfully prepared, and I thought the environment was charming and welcoming, especially given the rain storm outside. Lucia said that they offer to pick up guests at her B & B so they can enjoy the wine.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Covolo also viewed

Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Province of Verona
Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Province of Verona
 
Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Province of Verona
Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Province of Verona
 
Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Province of Verona
Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Covolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing