We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food made with very fresh ingredients”
Review of Toscana

Toscana
Ranked #7 of 87 Restaurants in Swinoujscie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food made with very fresh ingredients”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not located on the promenade, but still in a convenient location. The food is extremely fresh and perfectly seasoned, deserts are delicious, and decor is beautiful. I go there each time I'm in Swinoujscie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    59
    28
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Summer in Toscana”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This year in July the owners of Toscana caught me by surprise with their new menu. Sadly, no rainbow trout, which I had been so much in favour of, was available this time, however, haddock with vegatable ragout proudly made up for it. The fish was fried, though, as always in Toscana, no excess of frying fat was perceivable. It was soft and juicy, and the aromatic vegetable ragout which was placed on it, seemed a perfect addition. What is more, the ragout itself was almost completely reduced to vegetables (soft, though by no means overcooked), which prevented the fish from „drowning” in the stock and getting unpleasantly step.
Apart from that beautiful fish I was lucky to be in the right time and the right place to taste the wonderful dourade with cidar sauce (as always only slightly splashed on the fish – the rest avialable in a little bowl served with the main plate). The dish proved that the absolutely magnifficent sauce goes as well with poultry as with fish of strong and definite taste.
Another thing one can`t miss – if they have the chance to call at Toscana - is an octopus gulash, served with sepia maccaroni…. If you are a seafood lover, you`ll be left speechless with the softness of the octopus and its delicate smell of the sea, which is balanced by the sweetness of tomato based sauce…. What is more, it`s worth trying the maccaroni, even if you are not a pasta fan… Sadly, the dish appears only as the speciality of the week, though, it is quite obvioous if they want to make it using fresh ingredients…
However, if you are not lucky enough to get the goulash, seabass on butter leeks might be avialable… The backed fish is separated and served once its bones have been removed. The pieces are placed on a trick layer of butter leek veloute, of which the texture is even and the taste more sweet than spicy but with a definite „leek feeling”.
Well, if not interested in fish, try some great game or just enjoy the beautiful beef sirloin stek, which is also avialable in the new menu – this time with mushroom and trufle sauce (of lighter texture than the green pepper sauce they used to serve the dish with).
As far as starters are concerned, in my view the new Bressaola and courgette carpaccio is definitely worth giving a go, and one mustn`t forget about the great soups opf the day, either. - The magnifficent pappa al pomodoro appears best for our sub – tropical Summer.
If interested, ask the waiter for their wine selection. - There`s plenty to talk about!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koneserka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“True Italia”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Real fresh italian food. Great carpaccio and penne with pork. During the weekend you definatly need to make reservations. Try the antipasti mix for sure!!! You wont regret it! Best restaurant in Swinoujscie and Miedzyzdroje.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New menu in Toscana”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This time while staying in Świnoujście I decided to give a go to to the new menu in Toscana.
The first dish I had was the absolutely great oven baked cod fillet with white wine and cherry tomatoes, served under a blankiet of chilli, pecorino cheese and parsley. – The moment the dish arrived on the table I was struck with the wonderful aroma of fresh parsley. The fish was great and I found the strong taste of pecorino and parsley „blankiet” especially well matching the delicate cod. – Anyway, contrary to the Polish name of the dish involving the word „spicy” – it was not spicy at all, though I could clearly feel the hint of chilli.
I also decided to try the speciality of the week – turbot stuffed with mushrooms, wrapped in Parma ham… – an absolute delicacy… - especially when served with grilled vegetables! – The mushroom filling was placed between two fillets of the fish and then wrapped in Parma ham in order to prevent drying out. Well, one might wonder how three tastes that are so different could ever make a tasty dish, but if you also do so - try it and you`ll be surprised with the fact that not only the taste of the dish could celearly be perceived, but also one might enjoy each of the three tastes separately.
However, the most surprising thingI tried in Toscana during my stay in March was pan fried trout fillet in red wine sauce, served with French beans – my absolute No. 1 as far as fish is concerned. – The rainbow trout was definitely fried, though Ino excess of frying fat coule be noticed. On the plate, it was delicately splashed with the red wine sauce, the rest of which was served in a little bowl. The sauce was just incredible (!!!) – a bit sweetish but still with perceivable tones of the wine: bread crust and fruit.
There seem to be many more dishes served with fresh mushrooms on the new menu than on the old one. As always, the food is prepared using only the freshest ingredients, most of which have been shipped from Italy. – If you are a fan of original Italian cheese, sausage or dried meats – ask the waiter for recommendations, since they make the ingredients of many dishes on offer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koneserka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinoujscie, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet, small restaurant with good food”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Toscana is a small Italian style restaurant. I've been there a few times and food was always very good. The place is not crowdy, and if you want reservation is accepted.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toscana also viewed

Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
 
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
 
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
Swinoujscie, Western Pomerania Province
 

Been to Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing