We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Wisla”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Japonica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Japonica
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wisla
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“A gem in Wisla”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed one week in this fantastic villa. Andrej and Joanna were wonderful hosts. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The area is beautiful and quiet. There is a lot to see just short drives from the hotel. Some nice restaurants with authentic mountain food. It was one of our best holidays, mainly thanks to Andrej and Joanna.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shaygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in Villa Japonica for 6 days during our trip to Wisla and we were highly satisfied. The house itself was built in 1936 and retains the feel of a high-class establishment. It is located at some distance from the centre of Wisla, which shouldn't be any problem if the aim of your visit is to walk in the mountains. In fact you have an all-year chair-lift located within walking distance from the house and several well prepared walking paths with various levels of difficulty (and skiing facilities and mountain bike tracks as well).

Villa Japonica contains several rooms all with different decorations the common denominator being various Japanese accents (some rooms are more "Japanese" than others). All of them however are very nice and clean. We stayed in the 'Shiobara' room which offers beautiful views across the surrounding forests and mountains. There is a basic daily housekeeping service which takes care of the trash and vacuums your room as well as providing complimentary water bottles (please note that this is not strictly speaking a hotel so you should not expect hotel like amenities/services such as having your bed made every day). The complimentary breakfast is excellent, with a wide variety of mainly cold dishes.

What makes Villa Japonica stand out far above the rest are the hosts. They make your stay in Wisla as easy and pleasant as humanly possible offering advice and practical help. The atmosphere is so great that you really do feel as if you were visting your family (in the most positive sense possible).

With regard to dining opportunities there are two restaurant located about 1km from the property which makes for a pleasant walk. A 10% discount is offered in both restaurants for clients from Villa Japonica.

In a nutshell, Villa Japonica is the place to stay at during your trip to Wisla.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Here, everything is genuine: Japanese artefacts such as 700 fancy dolls, each with its own story, or any other Japanese items spread all over the villa. Everything is done with love, starting with their exquisite breakfasts (matched only by those served in Israeli´s luxurous "zimmers", which is a world class in breakfasts). The house is located in the outskirts of the small town of Wisla (the river of the same name starts near here), surrounded by lush, green forest as well as some gardens. Just over the road (there is virtually no traffic as the road ends not far from here), there is beautiful creek. Marked trails start right from the villa. On a scale scale, it is a good base for exploring this little known part of Central Europe. Within an easy reach, there is the Czech Republic´s Nothern Moravia with its romantic castle of Starý Jičín, then Helfstyn - the largest medieval castle in Moravia, Hukvaldy - another medieval castle and the birth place of Leos Janacek (famous Czech composer), heritage Moravian towns (Stramberk, Pribor, Novy Jicin). There is also the Czech part of the Beskidy mountains with a skansen in Roznov pod Radhostem. Slovakia´s Kysuca and Orava amazing mountainous areas with beautiful landscapes and the narrow-gauge "Kysuca-Orava forest railway" and a museum of Kysuca village are all within easy reach too. It comes as a matter of course that there are lots of things to do and see in Poland proper. The local Polish kitchen boasts of mushroom soups (grzybula) among other tasty dishes.
But the main reason to come here are the owners - Mr. Andrzej and Mrs. Joanna with their lovely dog Ina. These people are really exceptional - they run this place to enjoy talking to their guests. And they do have things to share with even most experienced travellers, having spent 22 years in Japan, and previously some time in Arabic countries, playing fortepiano and violin. They always go the extra mile to make their guests feel at home. They love kids as well.
In a nutshell, this is a really extraordinary place, second to none. It is very tranquil, peaceful and friendly place to forget about day-to-day hassle. Don´t miss it!
We are here for a second time and plan to come back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Shiobara room, with four windows and excellent views into the surrounding forest an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solofanua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

During our trip along the polish/czech border we stayed in 8 hotels, selected according to their reputation on “booking.com”. This one certainly was the best! Four-window room facing the forest, stylish furniture, extra comfort in cosy mansion, great breakfast, hiking trails right from the gate and so on and so forth…
Plus a true museum “on board ”: almost 700 charming Japanese doll! You’ll find them at the entrance, dining room, corridor – together with a large collection of kimonos, belts, china, objects of interior decorations in Japan. The proud owner pan Andjey will describe willingly the symbolic meanings of these dolls - most of them hand-made and by no means toys. All together it creates an unforgettable atmosphere of Japanese cosyness… surprisingly at the heart of Polish Beskids!
And now the main bonus of this superb place: getting to know its owners. Never in all our travels we’ve met such a brilliant hospitality. Trully the kindest and most pleasant hosts, staing with whom felt like visiting good old friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moshe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisla hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Golebiewski
Hotel Golebiewski
#1 of 16 in Wisla
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wisla Premium
Hotel Wisla Premium
#2 of 16 in Wisla
125 reviews
2.8 mi away
New Wave Hotel & Spa
New Wave Hotel & Spa
#4 of 16 in Wisla
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Podium
Hotel Podium
#5 of 16 in Wisla
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Stok
Hotel Stok
#3 of 16 in Wisla
162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pod Jedlami
Hotel Pod Jedlami
#6 of 16 in Wisla
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Japonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Japonica

Property: Villa Japonica
Address: ul. Turystyczna 32, Wisla 43-460, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Silesia Province > Wisla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wisla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Japonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing