We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vila Vicosa
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A great hotel, with nice stuff and an amazing spa. It's the perfect hotel to have some rest, romance and good food. The decor is amazing, as well. Nice breakfast and a good location, in the centre of Vila Vicosa. We will repeat the stay, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    93
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
159
239
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra
Level Contributor
456 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

And now for something completely different! This hotel is all furnished with marble, each room and salon made with different kind of stone. It's quite original and the final effect is very good.
My family occupied the whole 40+ rooms so the place was fully booked which was an adicional stress on the service, since we ate all at the same time.
Food was just average and it was the main disappointment since we were expecting a young chef who´s been described has a future top kitchen guy. Unfortunately he left the place before we stayed there! Service was slow but taking into account that we were more than 80 people I can understand the problem.
As for the rooms they're pretty comfortable and spacious enough. I didn't like the toilet with a glass to the room, since you are forced to watch your partner having a shower even if you don't want too.
The swimming pool is nice but not too deep and the spa is the best part if you want to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
262 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I went for a weekend with my wife in Alentejo and I looked for a comfortable and not over expensive Hotel. All the 5 stars hotels were charging around 100€ a night, but I found the Marmoris for a much better deal.

The Hotel is very modern (6 months), with large and comfortable rooms, a fantastic outdoor pool, and a Spa including two small indoor pools.

I was impressed with the decoration, and with the amount of fantastic marble they used in the hotel, although it was not my style, it was impressive.

The rooms are fantastic, very spacious and well decorated.

The outdoor pool is fantastic, it was at 25 degrees, and I could swim everyday, even being in october. The indoor pools are very small and they are basically to relax and not to swim. My wife also used the Spa and she enjoyed very much the massage (they have constantly promotions in the Spa).

The one thing I enjoyed the least was the breakfast, it's not bad, the food is good, but the variety is small for a 5 stars hotel.

FInally I must say that the staff is very friendly and always ready to serve you in the best way possible.

Room Tip: Try a room in the first floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedritocalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The Marmoris Hotel and Spa IAFL a 5-star hotel in Vila Viçosa, in the amazing Alentejo. The hotel is really worth the five stars. The facilities are extraordinary, with a surprising amount of marble everywhere, the service is excellent and the staff is extremely friendly. We enjoyed the spa a lot, especially the whirlpool. Everything was always very clean and pleasant. I really recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rucapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This new hotel is all made with marble stone, what makes its special character.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable, nice swimming pool.
However decoration is sometimes kitsch, like the painted lifts or the uniforms of the staff (looking more like a mediaeval Carnival). The TV always on in the lobby is a distortion to a five star stylish hotel. On the contrary the TV in the room is not visible being hidden in a mirror, well done!
Lightening was forgotten in the decoration, the lobby in the evening looks like a waiting room, with no atmosphere, despite the nice life piano music.
The restaurant: nice food, an effort to do something special based on traditional food.
The town of Vila Viçosa is one of those well kept places in Alentejo, so beautiful and peaceful.
In summary: a comfortable and pleasant place to stay that with some little touches could be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Vicosa
0.3 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
20.5 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
22.4 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
23.7 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
10.1 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alentejo Marmoris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alentejo Marmoris Hotel

Property: Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Address: Largo Gago Coutinho 11, Vila Vicosa 7160-214, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Vila Vicosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vila Vicosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alentejo Marmoris Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alentejo Marmòris is a hotel like no other, a one of a kind museum of marble, owned by a family that has worked in the marble business for generations. Located in Vila Viçosa (Alentejo), a historic village that is one of the world centers of marble, the hotel occupies an old palatial house. Designed by architect Miguel Cancio Martins (Buddha Bar, Pacha Marrakech, Hotel da Estrela), the hotel offers an atmosphere of comfort and tranquility, genuine hospitality and a range of services designed to provide memorable experiences to guests. It is an ideal retreat for a family or to be your "home" for a few days during a visit to this beautiful region of Portugal.The Alentejo Marmòris 39 rooms and 5 suites are spacious and elegant, inviting to a relaxing stay. Many rooms have outdoor terrace and all have individually designed marble bathrooms, one more element that makes this hotel a place of worship of the noblest of all stones.The restaurant offers the best of Alentejo's cuisine with the contemporary interpretation of Chef Alexandre Silva, one of the leading chefs of the new generation, which in Marmòris creates dishes with authentic flavors using produce from the fields surrounding Vila Viçosa. The dishes are accompanied by an excellent wine list, with special emphasis on wines from Alentejo. The ex-libris of the restaurant is a large marble table made from a single block of stone that was discovered in the owners quarry. The Stone Spa is excavated in a marble quarry with 900 m2. The beauty and the strength of its original walls dripping water and authentic initial formation of small stalactites make its atmosphere absolutely unique. It has 4 treatment rooms, an indoor and outdoor heated swimming pool with hydrotherapy circuit, including massage beds, hammam and a small gym.The rituals have the signature of the Switzerland worldwide leader brand in cosmetics with active oxygen - Karin Herzog - the brand chosen by princess Kate Middleton, Madonna, among others, for their effectiveness and revolutionary technology. The Marmòris is the perfect venue for business and social events. The hotel has rooms for between 10 and 250 people, in addition to outdoor spaces ideal for cocktails or coffee breaks. For the breaks we can organize wine and olive oil tastings, cooking lessons and outdoor activities such as visits to the marble quarries, the wineries, or even meals in the countryside.Vila Viçosa is one of the most monumental cities of Portugal, with architectural gems like the Royal Palace, the Castle, 6 museums, numerous palaces, churches and convents. Close by guests can visit Évora, Estremoz, Badajoz (Spain) and Elvas, in addition to a number of traditional villages and breathtaking natural landscapes of the Alentejo. Vila Viçosa is also an ideal base to discover the rich existing tourist routes in the Alentejo: Wine, Olive Oil, Marble, Castles, Megalithic, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alentejo Marmoris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing