We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boliqueime
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta da Cebola Vermelha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boliqueime
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“heaven”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

whilst the algarve has good beaches and some great food, the rest can be a bit difficult in terms of standing out; but this place changes that. go ... relax, enjoy the quiet, tranquil and splendidly decorated old farmhouse that has been meticulously updated by its gracious dutch hosts. and they know what they are talking about in terms of recommendations about the area. one of those gems you find sometimes amongst the stones.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fridgemagnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

In earlier years we had our doubts about the Algarve since it's known for its mass tourism and mass tasteless holiday bunkers, but we are so happy we were advised to go to this Quinta to adjust our prejudice. It is an oasis and we never found a more relaxing place to stay. This is the merit of Ard, Noor and Bas. They built this place with it's beautiful rooms, green gardens and refreshing pool and they are the best hosts you can imagine. It gives everything this special atmosphere of pure personal taste (every room is different), kindness and calmness. Enjoy the rich breakfast and be sure to join the 3 course diner when Ard takes on cooking. Let them advise you on the beautiful area's, sights, beaches, places of interest and hidden gem restaurants and you will discover the real and beautiful Algarve.

Room Tip: every room is a joy to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank floorams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The perfect place to enjoy the Algarve. Away from the masses and still only a few minutes drive from the the best beaches and restaurants. A very nice house, beautifully recuperated with class and good taste. For those who prefer to stay in and relax the hole day it has it all: heated pool, beautiful garden, terrace, cosy living room etc. The owners are genuine professionals and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuisSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in Quinta da Cebola Vermelha and have nothing but positive things to say about the place and the people who run it. It a word it is Perfection.

We arrived early but that was no problem, Ard was on hand to welcome us (there was always someone around to tend to your every need) - he showed us around the house and then we were lead to the pool to relax with a coffee while they got our room ready. We stayed in room 5 which was stylish & cool. Relaxation is the name of the game here and they make sure that your time here is stress free - although they never seem to relax themselves but the genuinely seem to love what they do. We were also lucky to be spending our time there with other very pleasant guests which I must say added to our time here. As this was going to be our last holiday of freedom (babymoon) before the birth of our first child in July we really did want it to be something special and it was.

I would also highly recommend eating the nights that Ard cooks - fantastic 4 course meals that again we couldn't fault in anyway. Finally a fantastic music playlist going all the time, cold drinks and a swap-a-book system which was great and allowed me to get through 5 books in 5 days!!!

The only fault it that it was so hard to leave it

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual so any one would do
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed for five nights as part of a 10 day trip to the Algarge and fell in love with the place. The welcome you receive from Ard and Nord was second to none - we instantly felt at home and after a cold beer from the bar and a dip in the pool we never wanted to leave! The buiding has been done up beautifully and everywhere you look there are more exciting paintings, pictures, flowers to keep you entertained. Ard is an amazing chef and has a few stories to tell too! ...We will be back without a doubt - it really is a slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We can only echo the comments of previous reviewers. Ard, Noor and Bas were great hosts for what was meant to be a week of rest and relaxation. We didn't bother with a hire car as we had no plans to go too far afield, but Bas was quick to find me details of the local bicycle hire shop for when I got itchy feet (some lovely hills to the north-east with fantastic views to the sea). Ard's three evening meals (we needed no hesitation to sign up to these) were fantastic - loved the breakfasts and the two impromptu lunches we had were also great. Our room (No 4) was just inside the front door - nice and airy and plenty of space to spread our things around. Loved the bathroom and the copious flow of water that comes out of the fixed-head shower.

24 hours before we were due to fly back to England I managed to part company with my hired pushbike at speed and I wasn't looking forward to taking my battered, bruised and bloody body out to the patio for Saturday dinner - no problem; Noor set the table in our room and we had our own private dining facilities - so glad we didn't miss the steak and our first bottle of red wine in the week.

Final comment relates to a review we read somewhere else, referring to noise from the motorway and planes coming out of Faro. We find it hard to believe anyone could find these disturbing - only on one day could we make out any noise from the motorway (at least a kilometre away) and you really had to strain to hear it, and we could never really hear any noise from the aircraft flying high overhead. If you crave peace and tranquility then this is going to be perfectly good enought for most of us.

I'm sure we will be back.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AndySDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Ard Noor and Bas all work so hard to make this place idyllic, and make it look so easy. You must stay for the food, including the salads for lunch, afternoon tea and the amazing dinners. Best Seabass I have ever eaten. We stayed for two weeks due to the volcanic ash and flet like family when we left. They washed all our clothes for free. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boliqueime
19.5 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
490 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vila Joya
Vila Joya
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
225 reviews
4.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
4.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Cebola Vermelha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Cebola Vermelha

Property: Quinta da Cebola Vermelha
Address: Po Box 2141, Boliqueime 8101-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Boliqueime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boliqueime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUINTA DA CEBOLA VERMELHATake a deep breath and enjoy the sweet scent of the surrounding orange orchard. This is Portugal, the Algarve at its best. Ard, Noor and Bas welcome you at "Quinta da Cebola Vermelha" (farmhouse "The Red Onion"). This is a place to recharge your batteries and feel at home. Enjoy the culinary, have a light lunch by the swimming pool or be pampered by specialities and delicious home cooking by the fireplace. This is also the ideal base from which to discover the southern portugal. We welcome you. Prices Double 125 € Single 105 € Extra bed 30 € Baby bed 15 € ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Cebola Vermelha Hotel Boliqueime
Quinta Da Cebola Vermelha Boliqueime, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing