We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta da Cebola Vermelha
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flor da Laranja(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vale de Carros(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$50
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras(Quarteira)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpinus Hotel(Albufeira)
US$78
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Hotel(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
139
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barthree nightsvery special placeday tripboutique hoteldutch hostswine cellarmoroccan mint tealovely terracefreshly squeezed orange juiceeye for detailwonderful hostsidyllic retreatspacious roomcar is essentialrooms are lovelyfeel instantly welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just so much more then we had anticipated. What a unique place, the family have created. With only 7 rooms, you feel at home and as if you in fact are just a visitor in a private home. The house and rooms are fantastic.
Dinning in is a also a great experience when sitting on the terrace enjoying the wonderful food.
Would absolutely go again, if I come to the area.
As the place is in the rural area, you do need a car to go to restaurants etc. Alternatively expect to use taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndersW_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just returned after spending 7 nights at this outstanding hotel. The QDCV is a beautifully refurbished Quinta, owned and managed by a Dutch family, Ard, Noor, Sebastian and Charlie. The overall atmosphere is welcoming, relaxed, and informal. We dined at the hotel on two nights and enjoyed the experience on both occasions. We took breakfast on the terrace each morning looking out over the attractive gardens. All the food served at the hotel was fresh, locally sourced and well presented. Our room, (number 1) was spacious, comfortable and spotless. We particularly liked Noor's paintings which added to the individuality of our room. The QDCV is located just outside of Boliqueime with easy access to the excellent restaurants in the area. In particular we enjoyed Casavostra and Pequeno Mundo in Almancil. Ard also recommend a very good Portuguese fish restaurant in Villamoura which is well worth the visit.

This was our first visit back to the Algarve for 18 years so we took the opportunity to revisit a number of towns and beaches that held special memories for us. Although there has been a significant amount of development in some areas, it was possible to easily find the empty and unspoilt beaches, excellent local restaurants and quaint villages that we remembered.

Overall we have no hesitation in recommending the Quinta da Cebola Vermelha. We will certainly make the QDCV our preferred hotel when we next visit the Algarve.

Room Tip: We avoided any restaurant where the menu was a set of photographs. If in doubt go into the kitchen to make your selection.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gefrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Second time round and wishing to go back again! Simple rooms but unique at same time.
The whole setting, with pool, gardens, living room and bar makes me want to re do my own house! The decor is Fab with a real touch of class without the tacky bling bling! Well worth a visit whether its one night or one week... go!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinGirl1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse for a week, excellent place. Run by a Dutch couple + their 2 sons, they have built a true paradise; only 7 rooms, very quiet area, only 15 minutes from Faro Airport and exceptionally well located for as well daytrips within the Algarve or fi to the Atlantic Ocean.
The service is outstanding, the rooms are spacious, food is good ( breakfast only, however the owner cooks 3 times a week what he feels like that day and you can join if you want; he then gets it from the local market and cooks awesome meals; used to be a chef in the Netherlands....) and a great salt water swimming pool.
The good thing is also that they can give you excellent advice for trips to make and/or restaurants to go to; we had excellent food and wines for cheap prices !
Definitely worthwhile to go !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frits_Kuipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We found this place by accident doing an "agri-tourismo" search on the internet... They don't really have this concept in Portugal we discovered... Our review of the quinta is based on dinner only although it is a beautiful boutique hotel too

The situation is stunning, the [Dutch] family, are very friendly and welcoming even offering to pick us up from the local church if we could not find it... (Navigon GPS was unable to pinpoint the location). Walking around the grounds, we notice a modest pool and some fitness instruments of torture (especialy in that heat), and there are some horse belonging to the owners (not sure it they let guests ride them though)

Dinner is only server 3 nights a week, and you need to book on the day before noon (this is so the team know what to buy from the local market for that evening)... The mean is set, however we were asked if there was anything we didn't like to eat to ensure there was an alternative.

The food itself uses local ingredients, however the cooking style is not Potugese (hence the food was not swimming in oil as it does in these parts)... Flavours were very nice and the staff more than accommodating

Although I would highly recommend this place (I'd go again if in the vacinity), it is quite expensive for the region, but then you have to expect to pay for quality... So value for money was still acceptable although more than you would expect to pay locally.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimB1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews