We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Private Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Private Beach”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is sandwiched between big cliffs. This creates an outstanding private beach for guests. The hotel is very relaxing filled with lush gardens. The rooms are WAY nicer in person than they are in the photos, and the bathrooms have been recently redone. The resort is very comfortable, and relaxing. My husband felt there were lots of stairs, but I never noticed them. They are making an effort to make healthier food options, but the food is really bland. The breakfast is outstanding, but the lunch and dinner leave a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachelLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    116
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
127
312
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spent 2 weeks in this very comfortable hotel which is located in a large park, almost a botanical garden. There are 3 pools of which one overlooking the sea. There is access to a clean, private beach located at a 4 minutes’ walk from the pool terrace. The food is good, served on a terrace overlooking the cliffs and the sea. Our room with balcony was large, well equipped with some sea view.

The Algarve is not the most exciting region in Portugal to visit except for places like Faro, Travisa, Albufeira, Ferrugado and Cabo di Sao Vicente. The coast is full of building ruins and real estate speculation has done much harm to a lovely region. However, if you play golf there are many courses to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spissen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Away from all the hotel bunkers in a very private setting.... Perfect to relax for couple of days. If possible look you get an ocean view room, however I had a garden view room and the garden is lovely maintained and smells wonderful...

Staff is increadible attentive and the SPA treatments are a dream. I did not book Halfboard. The restaurant is quite pricey. There are lovely little restaurants also outside the resort. However, at least one time you should have dinner in the hotel too as the setting and the view are magic and again this lovely staff.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped however I missed a radio or CD player or a docking station for my Ipod to listen relaxed to some music. Only a TV in the room. Also the rooms are a bit noisy. If you have a connecting door in the room you could basically hear every sound from the bathroom next door.... The rooms are tastefully decorated and super comfortable. Loved the little sofa corner on my balcony.... Would come here always and again and already reccomended the hotel to my friends.

In Tripadvisor I have seen some people complaing about the distances from the room to the reception and restaurants... Personally I think that exactly this is so special about this place, because of the setting... No hotel bunker but very individual. And if you do not wish to walk, just one call away they come and pick you up with a golfcart. If you like it small, cosey, stylish, personal with a touch of luxury this is the place...

Room Tip: Try to get a room which has no connecting door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crococat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed from 20 May for 4 days and we liked it very much.
Beautiful rooms; very pleasant service minded staff; fantastic location ;excellent food.
For sure we are returning!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven4Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is certainly not the cheapest resort we stayed in, but it is worth the extra. Friendly and very helpfull staff are there to ensure you have a good time. The treatments are good and very professional. The place is clean and rooms are cleaned multiple times per day. The resort has its own beach.
If you want to do something outside the resort, you need a car.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny_Lava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Beautiful garden & scenery, lovely staff, great spa treatments; totally relaxing! Would love to go back anytime!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sietze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

This is a sprawling resort, rather beautifully laid out in expansive luscious grounds. It could be great, but is not quite... The service is adequate, nothing to write home about... The food also is just ok, but really a pleasure.. the hotel has a goos spa - but again, to us it felt impersonal and somewhat indifferently designed.

The hotel has a good beach, surrounded by really beautiful red cliffs - this is certainly impressive. However, the waves vary from big to huge and this is certainly not a beach for very relaxing swimming...

The room was quite large, well appointed and comfortable, but unfortunately very bland and nothing delightful about it..

Just across the road is the Villa Vita hotel, which is also a large resort, fun to go for cocktails and coffee on it's rather lovely terrace (a 4 minute walk) and which has beautiful grounds and one very good restaurant.

I personally found the distances getting round the Vilalara to be a drawback, for that the grounds would have to be very special indeed..

Probably a good hotel for families, I can imagine.

All in all - ok, but dissapointingly indifferent..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonartist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
19.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
14.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort

Property: Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Address: Praia das Gaivotas | Alporchinhos, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#2 Family Hotel in Porches
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porches
#2 Spa Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 kilometres from Faro airport (FAO, ALgarve - Portugal), the Blue&Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort is a lakeside haven of style, comfort and exclusivity. As you gaze out and enjoy the setting you will realize the resort’s true essence and magic. This is a fascinating place where every detail has been designed for your wellbeing. Located on the Praia das Gaivotas cliff overlooking the sea, with a 12-hectare area consisting mainly of magnificent gardens, the Resort has 100 junior suites, 11 suites and 13 apartments. The low-rise architecture is marked by soft lines and colours and appears to have been inspired by Gaudi. It includes one restaurant of Portuguese cuisine and gourmet, low-calorie menus, and another with theme dinners and barbecues. It also features six outdoor pools of fresh and sea water and one of its main trademark images: the Thalassotherapy and Spa Center, the first in Portugal and one of the most respected in the world. soft lines and colours and appears to have been inspired by Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Hotel Porches
Blue And Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Vilalara Thalassa Hotel
Sofitel Armacao De Pera
Vilalara Thalassa Porches
Sofitel Thalassa Vilalara
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing