We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a great view over the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a great view over the sea”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for two weeks and I have to say we really enjoyed it. It provided what one would expect from a 5* star hotel, i.e. friendly staff, rooms and furniture in good shape, nice gardens and the like.
There are a few things that really set this hotel apart from others:
- from the restaurant, bar and pool (all virtually in the same spot) you have a great view over the ocean
- over a couple of steps you have direct access to a beach which is not very crowded
- the hotel consists of multiple distributed buildings, so you don't feel like you stay in a big block of concrete
- there is a garden with huge outdoor beds from where you can enjoy the view (and the sound) of the ocean (we figured most guests didn't bother walking there even though it was clearly marked on the hotel map and definitely worth walking 2-3 minutes from the reception)

Room Tip: If you have issues with walking make sure to get a room close to the reception. The rooms with sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    116
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
127
312
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very nice park like property with friendly and attentive staff. We only found a few weak spots, but they were very limited and would not prevent us from granting the top rating. Guests come from various countries, including Portugal. We only had bed and breakfast and took only two evening meals which we found nice but somewhat overpriced. The area (if you have a car) offers lots of choices at different price levels and we found it fun to try many of them - would do it the same way next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreshMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent hotel. The amazingly friendly and professional staff made the stay even more enjoyable. Top level service at its best. Recommend and hope to return.

Only con would be the menu of the sole restaurant. Recommend walking cross the road to neighbour hotel's restaurants.

Do also agree that too many kids unsupervised.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As good as it gets. The scenary, the staff, the accomodations, the pools, the spa, etc etc etc were perfect. It's a small private resort with only 100 rooms, but it seems smaller. The private beach is spectacular.

Room Tip: the rooms were spectacular. I was in the 9000 section and that seemed a little more private with ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30th-try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed at the Vilalara hotel. It was a wonderful hotel and we had an incredibly relaxing 3 days there. The rooms are very nice (we had the basic room) with spacious bathrooms. The beach is gorgeous surrounded by cliffs. The hotel has its own lounge chairs and umbrellas for the beach. The chairs are very close to each other and half the beach is public. However, when researching the Algarve, there seemed to be very few hotels with their own beach and this setup was the best that I found. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the service was very good. A thank you to Fernando for his friendly service. We had a breakfast buffet each morning and a dinner barbecue which I would highly recommend. The pools were very nice and we enjoyed our spa treatments. I highly recommend this hotel and would love to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic room and it was very nice, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LItravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Let's get one thing straight - this is a good hotel to visit. Set in beautiful gardens with access to a great beach the hotel offers comfort and good service and very good food. The only blips we had were with a receptionist who had had a bad day and reacted a little strangely (he knows who he is) and the non appearance of an early room service breakfast, but that didn't put us off and we will return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Swith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and two sons spent 12 splendid days at Vilalara at the beginning of August. The flight was bang on time to Faro and MPV transit from Faro to Vilalara was around 45 minutes. So far so good and upon arriving, first impressions were really excellent.

It is really clean. Really clean, I don't think I saw a scrap of litter in our time there, and the very large gardens were all immaculate - Looked after by a squadron of charming and polite gardeners. At reception I was pleased to be greeted by Sandra Raposo, a delightful lady who had already helped me with my booking, and then assisted in making my wife's birthday a very happy one - I had flowers arranged for me with Sandra's help, and the hotel added a bottle of champagne and birthday cake too - On the house :)

We had two of the larger rooms, and they were fantastic - Clean, well maintained, and very very well equipped and spacious. I have never had such a large room at such a reasonable cost before.

I have no hesitation in saying how nice Vilalara is and how delightfully friendly and helpful all the staff were. Definitely would like to return someday. I am a B&G hotel lover anyway, as the whole organisation is dedicated to making you feel comfortable and happy.

The high points:

The staff - The rooms - The whole site - The beach - The view - The standard of food (Bit dear though!) - The evening entertainment - Sandra! - The whole attitude of nothing being too much trouble. You ask - It is there.

And Mojitos to die for...

Slight low points:

The mosquitoes - They were really rough this year, and apparently there was a reason, and it is unlikely to ever be as bad again. Something about the local contract for pest control not being administered properly? Anyway, it isn't the hotel's fault that there are mosquitoes, it's a hot country and it is near water - But it is worth taking some repellent, and anti-histamine treatments. I wish we had had one of those room repellents that you plug in. They were evil, greedy persistent little devils. Mosquitoes were a conversation theme with lots of people during our stay. You may like to be prepared! A river runs through the site and mozzies love water.

The shop is a bit of a mixed bag too - The stock is pretty erratic, and could cater a little bit better? Sounds a bit moany I suppose, but at least you could get a paper every day and the hotel could provide anything else I dare say (Chewing gum? Insect bite cream? Choccy would have been nice - I never asked, but I don't actually think the shop is part of the hotel)

Major plus - A bottle of water is delivered to your room free every day. A nice touch, and something every other hotel could make note of. I don't think water should ever be 'upsold'.

Some people suggested that the hotel was not child-friendly. This is total rubbish, the Portuguese people all love kids, and there were many families with kids and everyone was very happy and it had no miserable colonels smoking pipes and grumbling about the noise.

The hotel 'campus' is huge, it never feels crowded and everything felt relaxed and well run. I really can't recommend Vilalara highly enough.

Thank you again B&G hotels - sixth time lucky!

Room Tip: Well - 3320 was a very nice room. Shady and stayed very nice and cool. If overall standard of The La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
19.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
14.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort

Property: Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Address: Praia das Gaivotas | Alporchinhos, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#2 Spa Hotel in Porches
#2 Family Hotel in Porches
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 kilometres from Faro airport (FAO, ALgarve - Portugal), the Blue&Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort is a lakeside haven of style, comfort and exclusivity. As you gaze out and enjoy the setting you will realize the resort’s true essence and magic. This is a fascinating place where every detail has been designed for your wellbeing. Located on the Praia das Gaivotas cliff overlooking the sea, with a 12-hectare area consisting mainly of magnificent gardens, the Resort has 100 junior suites, 11 suites and 13 apartments. The low-rise architecture is marked by soft lines and colours and appears to have been inspired by Gaudi. It includes one restaurant of Portuguese cuisine and gourmet, low-calorie menus, and another with theme dinners and barbecues. It also features six outdoor pools of fresh and sea water and one of its main trademark images: the Thalassotherapy and Spa Center, the first in Portugal and one of the most respected in the world. soft lines and colours and appears to have been inspired by Gaudi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Hotel Porches
Blue And Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Vilalara Thalassa Hotel
Sofitel Armacao De Pera
Vilalara Thalassa Porches
Sofitel Thalassa Vilalara
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing